We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stirling, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I go to DC quite a bit for business and I love staying at the Fairmont. The location is perfect for both my business requirements and for its proximity to Georgetown, great restaurants and fun nightlife. The rooms are nice and clean, but fairly standard. My only suggestion would be to avoid Room 424 (which is actually quite beautiful) unless you want to hear deliveries being made at 3 am!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the review Michelle B! And for your Fairmont loyalty – we’re glad the location is perfect for you for both business and pleasure. Sorry about the noise in room 424! We greatly appreciate hearing guest feedback like this so that we can resolve the situation and improve our guests’ experience. We’ll look into this and get it taken care of. See you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    390
    92
    45
    14
See reviews for
394
465
94
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arranged a family union here for first cousins. Many are 70+ and accustomed to very good accommodations. No one was disappointed. This is a well appointed and well run hotel. The staff is there to serve and please. They hepled us arrange a dinner for the group and gave us a group rate. The rooms are well designed and decorated. The location is in a great walking area convenient to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade andgot a larger room, it was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you BAHG! We are always delighted to host families and are pleased that you brought the family here for a reunion. It sounds like you made the right choice!

We appreciate your compliments toward our staff—and love the comment that “the staff is there to serve and please.” Our colleagues were born with the hospitality bone and truly love what they do. We’re glad you got to experience that and hope to host you and your family again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was my first time in a Farmont hotel, so I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The
building, entrance, lobby, all look great. But there was nothing particularly memorable about the room. It was nice, had a pleasant view. There are a number of other high end hotels in that area, The Four Season, The Park Hyatt, Ritz Carlson. I have stayed at the Park Hyatt, the rooms were tiny, and, like the Fairmont, had a beautiful lobby area, but, the rooms were nothing special.
Like all DC hotels, unless you have a burning desire to give your money away, avoid driving,there. Parking in DC is very expensive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bruc3urock, thank you for trying the Fairmont and for posting a review about your experience. We’re glad you gave us a chance! It sounds like next time you visit you will have to get a room that overlooks the courtyard garden. As other reviews have mentioned, it certainly makes the room memorable.

We hope to have you back and have the opportunity to make you a Fairmont loyalist. Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I do like to stay in Fairmont hotels, and I have to say this was one of my favourites. Having a room that faces the lovely courtyard is a beautiful thing. I suppose it helped that the flowers were in bloom...but regardless, it's so peaceful having that as your room backdrop!

I loved the Fairmont "Loyalty Member" check in - being met upon entry by a staff member with an iPad, who had me checked in and in my room within 5 minutes!!! Throughout our stay the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much to ask.

Drinks and munchies in the lounge (loved the Bee-tini!) were super. We enjoyed a meal in Jupiter as well.

The hotel is very well situated for walking around this amazing city (Georgetown is fun!), or hopping on the Metro.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or repeat visit this lodging. Thank you.

Room Tip: Definitely face the courtyard! And as an aside, one block away from the hotel is a marvellous place...
See more room tips
Green Features: Fairmonts are always environmentally friendly, which is a necessary and good thing. But it requires the cooperation of the client. Re-use your towels people.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the review! We’re glad you are such a Fairmont loyalist—and that we were one of your favorites. Always exciting to hear!

The courtyard view is delightful any time of the year, but there is no arguing that having the flowers in bloom helps. You picked a wonderful time to come to DC. We appreciate your kind words toward our staff and are pleased that you liked the iPad check-in. Thank you again and we can’t wait to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great place to stay, fantastic customer service,I would definitley stay again when in Washington D.C. The rooms were Luxurious and the beds were very comfortable with many pillows. The attention to detail at this hotel is fabulous and monuments are a healthy walk or cab ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you Maxine777! What more could we ask for in a review? We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and all of the positive remarks. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for two nights comped as part of a conference (rate would have been $249). The room was luxurious, as my title would suggest, but look closely and you can start to see the wear and tear that likely needs updating soon. The furniture (mostly wood, for the dresser/desk/night tables) had many small nicks; the bed wasn't quite as comfortable as I would expect. The bathroom was gorgeous; what was odd was that the shower water pressure was fantastic, but the sink water pressure was mediocre at best. The business center, if you need it, was typically expensive for a hotel like this, but had every service you would need - which was great, as I needed print/scan/fax capabilities on the fly. You can see the same older luxury in the lobby lounge - everything is very comfortable, but you can easily see the wear on furniture/tables/etc. As for the conference, the conference facilities are actually nicer/more up to date than the rooms. Food was above average for hotel/conference fare and the staff was always willing to help. Random tidbit but the AV setup in every room worked flawlessly and easily. Overall, it was a solid stay, but not so excellent that I wouldn't consider other luxury properties in the area when returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Doug H. We appreciate the details and feedback!

You are absolutely on point about the conference facilities. We completed major renovations last year and they are top of the line. We are pleased you noticed! As with any property, continuous renewal is key. The lobby is getting updated starting next month. We hope you will be able to come back and see the results!

Thanks again for reviewing and we hope to see you again soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I just stayed at the Fairmont for a conference. This hotel is great! Beautiful atrium, rooms and superb customer service. Shops in Georgetown are 7 blocks away, tons of CVS and local restaurants. The attention to detail @ this hotel is fabulous and monuments are a healthy walk or cab ride. I would definitely stay @ this chain of hotels again. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you alfredo91480! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. You make excellent points about the location—there is certainly plenty to do as soon as you walk out the front door!

Looking forward to having you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.