We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a super Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Antrim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a super Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this marvellous hotel strategically located at the edge of the downtown and the trendy upmarket districts of Georgetown and Dupont circle. It was our first visit to Washington and hopefully it will not be our last as we really loved this city. We could not say enough about the service and comfort and attention laid on by this hotel and its marvellous staff. Our room was very spacious on the 6th floor and had a very comfortable king bed with desk workstation and plenty of wardrobe space. It was cleaned and fresh linen left everyday. We had buffet breakfast most mornings and the quality was excellent with a good variety. We didnt have lunch or evening meal so can't comment about that. We were too busy sight seeing and eating up at some of the many restaurants up the street in the Georgetown area. Its worth visiting Washington harbour when you're in this part of town as it has some very nice restaurants and trendy bars along the riverfront just of the main Georgetown strip. But what sets the Fairmont out above all, is its staff. Nothing is too much bother and you are always greeted with a helpful smile from the doormen to the cleaners there is a genuine welcoming feeling from them all. They make you feel important and genuinely welcome in the hotel no matter who you are. Other guests we spoke to agreed We were particularly grateful to Kitt, Ron and Andy on the concierge desk and Eric the bellboy who did his best to sort out our internet problems. The bar staff were always friendly courteous and efficient particularly Awet who nothing was too much trouble for. We would highly recommend this hotel particularly if you want to sightsee in the city. The hop-on hop off buses have a stop just up the street from it so thats a good starting point. The taxis are always easy to get and not that expensive and the Whitehouse is only 15mins walk. If you intend to visit this beautiful city there is no better place than the Fairmont for comfort, luxury and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Gerryirishman! We appreciate you taking the time to review. We are especially glad that our staff made an impression on you! We will pass along your compliments to Kitt, Ron, Andy, Eric and Awet.

Your closing sentence says it all: “If you intend to visit this beautiful city there is no better place than the Fairmont for comfort, luxury and service.” Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,268
    441
    106
    46
    16
See reviews for
481
534
98
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 4 nights in April. We are 2 adults, a 17 year old and an 11 year old. I'm not quite sure why a couple of reviewers with families did not recommend this hotel. I thought it was a perfect hotel for families and I'll tell you why. The rooms were very spacious for a family of 4. As the last reviewer commented, the courtyard rooms have balconies that lets the beautiful fresh air in and opens up the room to the outside. The Foggy Bottom Metro station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you can get to most of the attractions without even changing trains. A bonus is a Whole Foods across the street from the station that has everything you need for a picnic on the mall for takeaway before getting on the metro.You can also easily walk 10 minutes to the heart of Georgetown that has many shops and great family restaurants to explore. The front desk, housekeeping and the concierge were wonderful. We asked for a mini fridge in our room and it was there free of charge within 5 minutes. Hats off to Kitt at the concierge desk for printing out some needed info for us.We will definitely return to the Fairmont D.C. for our next visit. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you AMBLF! We appreciate this kind review. We aim to be the top family-friendly hotel in D.C. and are glad your experience was so positive.

We will pass along the compliments to Kitt. She is our Senior Concierge and beyond amazing.

See you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just got back from a short trip to Washington to celebrate my husband's birthday. The rooms are a good size and the ones overlooking the courtyard garden have patio doors opening onto a small balcony. This was great for getting some fresh air although the air conditioning was very efficient. The public areas are spacious and all the staff very helpful. The concierge provided a list of restaurants for all budgets and indicated those within walking distance.
The hotel restaurant offers a buffet breakfast which is not cheap but caters for all tastes. We ate dinner there one night and the food was very good.
The hotel is a short walk from two Metro stations which is a quick and relatively cheap way of getting around. The area around the hotel does have a few people sleeping rough but did not find this intimidating.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Fairmont as a great place to stay for both business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the courtyard garden to be able to open the doors for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Yvonnefrom12! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your tip about choosing a room that faces the courtyard garden is a good one. Fresh air and beautiful views add to any stay!

We will pass your compliments on to the staff and the concierge team. Thank you again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at The Fairmont for a family event. The room was perfect. The location is good, within walking distance of Georgetown, and easy access to museums. The staff was wonderful. We needed to eat mid afternoon and were able to order delicious food in the lounge. The room where the bar mitzvah was celebrated was lovely, with a center gazebo-like area for the dancing and "show." Just perfect.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you DonnaS71! It sounds like you got to celebrate in The Colonnade, one of our hotel’s best features with beautiful views of the courtyard garden. We’re glad you enjoyed--come back and visit us again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just back from a trip to DC and the Fairmont was a great place to stay. The hotel has an elegance that is no longer incorporated into new hotel properties. The lobby, central atrium, and public spaces are more of what you'd expect in London or Paris and give the property an international charm that really works.
A real highlight of the stay was the room. Great size and design with two huge windows. The bed is absolutely incredible! Best hotel sleep I've had in months, and I travel about once a week. Can't say enough about the quality of the beds.
The service throughout the hotel was wonderful, with the minor exception of the breakfast restaurant which seemed to have a painfully slow pace relative to the rest of the place and the demanding clients.
The location is another outstanding feature. Perfectly located to get to the business district and National Mall, but also only a few blocks from Georgetown and the Rock Creek trails.
The price was too high, but they can pull it off in DC, and they have great benefits for President's Club members. If you've got the funds or a corporate card, I'd recommend the Fairmont without hesitation.

Room Tip: No property in DC has much for views but upper floors, facing 24th Street are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you SearchingUsa! We appreciate the comparison to elegant London and Paris properties. Coming from DC, we’re certainly big advocates of international charm!

We’re glad you found the room (especially the bed!) so comfortable. And good point about President’s Club. The benefits just keep getting better.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The bed was sensational, the room was clean, immaculate , AND SO DELICIOUS TO SLEEP ON...I loved the warm receptive people and great food as well. A treasure in dc right near georgetown...I will be back....sandra camhi

Room Tip: they were happy to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Sandra C! What a great way to describe the bedding! It is quite “delicious,” if we do say so ourselves. We can’t wait to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

All the staff at the Fairmont were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable . Georgetown is a nice area with shops and restaurants. Would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore Georgetown. We hope to have you back again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 136 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.