We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the world of politics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Luxury in the world of politics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Fairmont, in Foggy Bottom, Washington DC, is the Platonic form of the business hotel. I stayed in an immense room with a comfortable king size bed, fluffy towels and bathrobes, fine soaps and shampoos, a Kerig coffee maker, a huge flatscreen TV, lots of outlets and electrical sockets, wifi and ethernet. Because I was going to the Hill I left my razor home (the last time I had gone there with my luggage I lost a Gillette Fusion Razor to the scanner). I called the concierge and a bellperson brought up razor in a little box (with a tube of shaving cream) within a minute or so (and this was close to midnight). A good 24 hour exercise room, a great lobby bar, a very good restaurant open for breakfast early. Everything was esthetic, sparkling clean. The Foggy Bottom Metro station was a short walk away down Pennsylvania Ave, lots of near restaurants, M street in Georgetown a short walk away for fun. For location, service, comfort this is about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you Playaneuron! It sounds like you know your hotels and we are flattered to have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience with future guests!

We love that you think “for location, service, comfort this is about as good as it gets.” What more can a hotel ask for? Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    326
    81
    41
    11
See reviews for
321
385
85
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were married here in 1999. Went back for anniversary stay. Still most beautiful lobby in DC. Could use some renovating - heard that will take place this summer. Very spotty service. Great bartender in lobby bar. Bellman took over an hour to bring up 2 small bags we could have brought up ourselves. We were waiting so long we had to call down to see what happened! Upgraded to corner suite which was ok. TV at end of bed on swivel is nice. Room was clean & bathrrom was clean but hate shower curtain even though not visibly dirty. Prefer shower doors in hotels. Walls are paper-thin! Could hear neighbor singing in his room all morning. So annoying while trying to sleep. Sunday brunch was very $$ for very below par service. Hostess told us it was reservations only - but sat us in nearly empty restaurant that stayed that way thru our meal. Buffet was filled w shrimp, crab, etc but was pretty skimpy on fresh breads - none. Can order eggs but no one told us until we asked. Menu was confusing - list of things on buffet but no mention of eggs or omlettes. Still had lovely time in all. Just trying to write factual review!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Michelle B! How great that you were married here and came back for an anniversary stay. We love it!

We will check into the areas of improvement you mentioned to ensure that we are exceeding our guests’ expectations each and every time they visit. Thank you again and we hope to host you for another anniversary!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is located close to Georgetown. About 10 minutes Metro to the Pentagon City mall and close enough to the convention center where the Exhibition I came to took place. The hotel is luxurious. The service is extremely friendly and efficient. The (free) Gym was better last year than it is now. The room is very high standard, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good and very expensive too. To summarize - great experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Yoav B! It looks like you traveled a long way to stay in our hotel and we are glad that you had a great experience! We appreciate your compliments towards our staff and facilities and hope to have you back again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been traveling to DC for business and family for 20 years. Have never found one nice hotel that we felt very comfortable with, until we stayed at the Fairmont. The property is attractive and well kept, the rooms comfortable and the staff very very friendly and accomodating. The location in Foggy Bottom may not be ideal for everybody, but we love the neighborhood as well. The prices seem fair, particularly on weekends. Only minor complaints:

- Very high charge for internet (which you can get around it seems by joining their loyalty club).
- Towels not the highest thread count.
- I've stayed 3 times and each time my room has been about 1/4 mile walk from the elevator.

I'll be back. It's a great, comfortable place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much GLBrown! We are flattered to have become your hotel of choice in DC. And we’re especially pleased that you like us for both business and leisure!

You are correct that Internet is complimentary for Fairmont President’s Club members. We encourage everyone to sign up prior to arrival to enjoy a variety of perks. Joining also allows us to record your preferences—like preferences for room locations. We invite you to email Washington@fairmont.com and tell us that you would like to be closer to the elevators. No more ¼ mile walk!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was there for a conference and the rate was very competitive. The location is perfect, quite close to Georgetown and close enough to the mall to be able to walk to the museums. In addition it was close to many fantastic high end restaurants, but also close enough to DuPont Circle or Georgetown to eat for a lower cost in the many ethnic and interesting restaurants there. The hotel was very kind in upgrading me to the club floor which was fantastic and I did not ask for it, thanks!

The room was quite nice but had some quirks. The lights did not always work and the mixing valve in the bathroom occasionally needed to be opened and closed several times to get any hot water. In addition I asked for extra regular coffee in the room which they did for only one night not for each night. None of these things really detracted from the room much. I would stay there again!

The only thing that I found really a little irksome was that the lobby bar had not nearly enough seats. For a hotel that does a lot of groups I found this something that really needs to be addressed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the review MichaelB88! We agree that the location of the hotel is perfect and are glad that you had the opportunity to experience some of the best of DC.

We are sorry about the quirks in the room, but are glad that you had a positive experience overall. We will look into the things you mentioned—we’re always looking for feedback. And we certainly don’t want any bar guests without a seat!

Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed four nights for business and truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful property, great location, incredible room and the staff and service were excellent. The area was so nice and great restaurants in the area a walk away. The convention center was a 10 minute cab ride. Did I say the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was quiet. The suite was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you Rball! We love that – “lives up to the Fairmont name.” Sounds like we have a loyalist on our hands!

We hope that you get the chance to return and enjoy another stay with us!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautiful traditional decor and a friendly outgoing staff. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Frequent guest program gets you free Internet access and the courtyard bar is very inviting.

Only minor complaint is that it seems that the service is a bit chaotic. The bar seemed understaffed and the waiters hustled while people waited and the normally world class gym (seriously) is under renovation and barely equipped but no mention on the website (should be done by 4/13, so a short term issue. Nits, I know, but I have been spoiled by wonderful experiences here and know that with some minor tweaks, this place can rank among DC's best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review StevefromAtlanta! We love hearing feedback from frequent visitors. And we appreciate all of your compliments!

We will look into the bar service to ensure that no guest has a long wait. We want our courtyard area to be a place of relaxation, not frustration! We hope to have you back again soon and show you our dedication to being DC’s best.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.