We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Spacious Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Spacious Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just stayed here on business last month. The hotel is lovely with a very open, airy feeling. The rooms are spacious and appointed beautifully. No issues with internet connection. Gym was closed for renovation. Staff was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you CorpPlanner_11! If your name is any indication, we suspect you get to travel frequently and see hotels the world over. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We appreciate your kind words and compliments to our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    376
    87
    45
    13
See reviews for
378
454
94
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were well treated by the staff, the concierges were helpful, the room was good and there was a good piano player in the foyer at night. We were on vacation with our 17-year-old son, while many of the other guests appeared to be on business ... but that was in no way a detraction and we certainly were well cared for. The location was perfect for us. It is an easy westward walk to Georgetown with its fabulous choice of restaurants to suit anyone's taste and budget. A 20-minute walk to the East are all the government and museum attractions that Washington is famous for. We like walking and the sun was out, so that's what we usually did. But the Foggy Bottom Metro is pretty close, so we used that a few times. In a nutshell, we were pleased and we would be happy to stay at the Fairmont again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you edojidai for the kind review. We are flattered to be your hotel of choice while traveling with your family.

You certainly got to experience the major perks of our location! We hope you found some new family favorites and will return again and again.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I arrived at the Fairmont on Christmas Day with my wife and daughter. Our room was quite spacious, clean, comfortable, and had a beautiful view of the atrium. The front desk personnel are incredible! For example, eventhough there was an umbrella in our room's closet for us to use, we were in need of another since there were 3 of us. When we inquired at the front desk, the young man let us borrow his personal umbrella which he brought to work that day. Historic Georgetown is nearby. We would walk there every night for dinner since the hotel's restaurant was a bit pricey. There are numerous places to shop in Georgetown too. It is also a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station. There is a CVS a block away from the hotel and another in Georgetown to stock up on any needed supplies, snacks, water, etc... The hotel was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and our stay was truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review fny007! We appreciate all of your compliments, especially towards our staff. Our staff is truly extraordinary and we love when guests are able to experience that. We will have to ask around to find out who lent you his personal umbrella to thank him!

Your final sentence sums up everything we hope to offer our guests: “The hotel was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and our stay was truly memorable.” We hope to have you back again soon and to continue to exceed your expectations.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for a couple of nights while attending a conference. The staff was extremely courteous. The property was very clean and well maintained. The lounge/ bar area was spacious and comfortable. Throughout the weekend, I had several meals and everything was delicious. I do wish that sandwhiches didn't already come dressed (with sauces). I like that the rooms were spacious and quiet. The big bathroom was also a bonus. One hightlight was the signature martini featuring honeycomb made by bees kept on the rooftop! The signature martini is delicious! Overall, the experience was great and I'm looking forward to staying for another conference soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you wubbylu7! What a fantastic title for your review – “Bliss in the Fast Lane.” So fitting!

We are very glad that you had the opportunity to try our BeeTini. Any chance that we have to make use of our rooftop honey is a treat for us! Let us know the next time you are coming so we can have one waiting for you. The beauty of reviews is the chance to better delight our guests. And certainly let us know next time if you would prefer an un-dressed sandwich. At the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown, we aim to please and no request goes unanswered!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for 5 nights for a conference. Couldn't have asked for more given that we got the convention rate (259) and it is reimbursed. I loved going down to the restaurant for meals, though it is pricey (but there is a Starbucks across the street). The restaurant is great for breakfast and lunch, good for dinner. Across the street is the Blue Duck Tavern, superb for dinner but pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you William S! We are so pleased that we had the opportunity to host you for 5 nights. We certainly enjoy having the opportunity to show guests all that we and our location have to offer. We hope that the conference is a regular event and we’ll get to see you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

At first we were disappointed that it appeared we were some distance from the areas we wanted to visit, but instead found it a great location with a doable walk to the Metro at Foggy Bottom, and perfect for a stroll into Georgetown and the shopping there. The lobby bar has a happy hour each night with small plates, decent wine by the glass and several tap beers. Cozy, beautiful area that is comfortable for groups or singles. Great service there by a wonderful, friendly staff. Our room was updated...great appointments, but the view on one side of the hotel is just across an alley from an office building so it felt a bit like those people at their desks were just outside the window. Other rooms do have spectacular views of the atrium. Will definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an atrium view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you SJM17! How great that your initial concerns about the location turned into an asset. That makes the discovery even sweeter!

We are grateful for your kind words toward our “wonderful, friendly staff.” They are an amazing team that we like to celebrate every day. Good tip about the atrium view! At this very moment, gardeners are planting fresh flowers and herbs in the Courtyard Garden to welcome the spring. We hope to see you again soon!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed only one night for a business conference. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, small terraces, marble baths, nice linens, towels, Rose 31 toiletries, plenty of drawwers and closet space, keurig coffee machine, 3 phones, nice robe. Fairmont does think about details as even the extra roll of toilet paper is placed inside an attractive artistic container. It lacks some of the Ritz/Four Seasons amenities like nightly turn down service, slippers, etc. but otherwise is a top hotel, very well maintained, good staff, clean

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you PhilSommelier! We appreciate you taking the time to review and share your Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown experience with others. It’s a gift we cannot say thank you for enough.

Thank you too for the level of detail. We appreciate the kind words. For amenities such as a nightly turn down service, complimentary breakfast, and a lounge, we encourage you to stay on Fairmont Gold. If you’d like to learn more, please contact Maggie Baum, our Fairmont Gold Manager, at Maggie.baum@fairmont.com.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.