We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be 5 Stars if Better Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would be 5 Stars if Better Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Typical 5-star Fairmont experiece. From the minute you are greeted by the outdoor staff you know that you are at a world-class property. The front desk staff makes you feel welcome and are truly interested in making your stay a great experience. Very clean and well appointed rooms, also very quiet and excellent places to accomplish some work and sleep peacefully. Great restaurant, bar area, and meeting space. One thing you cannot miss is that they keep bees on their rooftop, make their own honeycomb, and feature it in a signature beverage. Only downside is that there isn't much around the hotel but office buildings and other hotels. If you want to find an off-hour meal, good luck, you have to hike about 6 blocks. However, if you are just staying in the hotel, it is as good as a city hotel can be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review Saiklo! We appreciate the excellent things you had to say about our staff, rooms, restaurant, bar and rooftop bees. They really are great. We hope you were able to try the BeeTini to get the full experience!

We’re sorry that your quest to find an off-hour meal was a less than ideal experience. One of the perks of being a Fairmont President’s Club member is complimentary rides in the hotel BMW to areas throughout the city. If you are not already a member, we recommend signing up. Next time we’ll be able to drop you off right in front of the restaurant of your choice. Our concierges are also founts of information and can usually point guests in the direction of a nearby restaurant, even during off-hours. We’ll ask them to put together a list for easy access!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    418
    105
    46
    16
See reviews for
438
518
97
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I recently stayed for a couple of nights again at the Fairmont. The service was even better than on my previous stays which is hard to imagine because it was already first-class. The food has also improved and I liked the local sourcing and organic options. But a big black mark because of what happened to the gym. It used to be one of the best hotel gyms ever and one of the reasons I stay there whenever I can. Now the free gym is a windowless, tiny black box. I am not joking- three of the walls are actually painted black! There is a new paying (!) gym but the service is poor and inattentive. Come on guys you can do better than this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here on our second visit to Washington. First time round we stayed in the Omni which we rated excellent Fairmont I rate very good - so what is the difference? Location to the Metro was a big difference - at the Omni it is a five minute walk at the Fairmont a good 15 to Dupont Circle.
Secondly the gym at the Omni was free and very well equipped. The Fairmont has a very small gym that is free and a larger one that you have to pay for - steep when you consider you are paying for a five star hotel. Other than that it is hard to fault the Fairmont. The staff were excellent especially the concierge - we asked 3 different members of staff for help and all 3 could not have been more helpful. Excellent coffee making facilities were available in the room and the room was as you would expect for this grade of hotel.
We did not eat in the hotel as Dupont Circle and Georgetown are within reasonable walking distance with a wide choice of different types of Cuisine.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't mind a bit of a walk to the Metro.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Courtyard would be quieter than the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for a wedding in February. It was a lovely place, everyone was nice, location was great, though the Starbucks across the street is not one of the best managed that I've visited. It's walking distance both to Georgetown and Dupont Circle, which was particularly pleasant--I enjoyed wandering over to Bridge Street Books. Only issue was a serious cracked sink in the bathroom, which should have been replaced. I should also note that there was a promotion in the elevator that expired in November, three months before we visited. It really didn't affect our visit, but I'm a stickler for that sort of thing. For some reason, that elevator signage is often left un-updated by staffin hotels. Anyone else notice that?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Mkedan, thank you for the review! We agree—being within walking distance to both Georgetown and Dupont Circle is particularly pleasant. It sounds like you know the area!

We appreciate your attention to detail and bringing areas of improvement to our attention. We will look into the sinks and update the elevator signage. Thank you!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the fairmont for 3 nights in March 2013 and have nothing but positive things to say about the hotel.

Check in was smooth, and we were soon relaxing in our room. We had a room with a view of the courtyard #604 and it was very spacious, comfortable and contained everything you would need.

On our first evening we ate at Junipers the hotel restaurant, and the staff there blew us away with there hospitality. The chef, chef Timms is an asset to the fairmont, he was warm, friendly and made us feel totally valued as a customer. I would like to personally pass on my thanks and kindest regards to Chef Timms and to thank him for the kind gift he had sent to our room on our first night, I will never forget such kindness.

The staff at the lobby bar were also fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were also checking you we're ok and if we needed anything.

The food at the hotel was great, and we never felt hungry after out meals or snacks here.

The hotel is well centred, with the Foggy Bottom metro station being about a 5 minute walk away. Georgetown was also a 5-10 minute casual stroll away and well worth the visit, with its abundance of restaurants.

All in all we had a fantastic trip to Washington, and would highly recommend the Fairmont and DC for a city break.

Room Tip: Go for the option of the upgrade when booking, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much GFOSTFOS! We appreciate your compliments toward Chef Timms. He’s a new addition to the team and has been blowing us away since he got here. We’re glad to see he has the same effect with guests!

Your assessment of the staff is spot on. We do a “Star of the Month” as an internal recognition program and the staff at the lobby bar wins quite frequently. You are right that nothing is too much trouble for them!

Thank you for taking advantage of all that our location has to offer and sharing your experience. We love standing back and letting potential guests get the inside scoop from those who have already stayed here. Let us know if you plan to visit again so Chef Timms can plan something special!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutaisi, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have invitation from my partner organization Susan G. Komen on Breast Cancer Summit on February 4, on Fairmont Hotel, all organizational things was in high level, I have reservation of room in this wonderful hotel too and meal.
Everything was on high professional level !!!
I'm thankful to my partners to have opportunity to be on this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you mdavituliani! Such kindness. We are always honored to host organizations like the Susan G. Komen Summit on Breast Cancer. We are a hotel that believes in the power of passionate people to make a difference.

We’re thankful that your partners gave you this opportunity as well and hope to have you visit again!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed 3rd or 4th time at this hotel and obviously after some years it would require some intensive cleaning up, almost everywhere you go there.
The restaurant serves elegant dishes, but typically tasteless. The temperature at the hotel restaurant is cold and it does NOT help much even if they ask you several times during your dinner if it is not too cold- it does not warm up the place, but may boil your blood when sitting and waiting...too long for a soup that finally arrives and you do not know if it were supposed to be a gazpacho or a hot soup.
Just a grandiose mystification.

Room Tip: maybe go to a cleaner hotel or just ask to see the room first...unless you are OK with dirty carpets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Jaroslaw, thank you for your loyalty to our property. We are very sorry that this visit did not meet your expectations.

Cold dining is not a pleasant experience and certainly not the norm. We like to treat our guests as if they were staying in our home and do not want anyone to be uncomfortable. Caesar, our Director of Engineering, will look into the problem and get it resolved. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back and exceed your expectations.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.