We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property, good rooms, excellent Fairmont service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful property, good rooms, excellent Fairmont service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We traveled here with our kids so this review is geared for that experience. Suffice it to say, if you are travelling as a couple or for business then you already know that overall Fairmont can be counted on to provide a comfortable trip. The DC Fairmont is everything you would expect from Fairmont, clean, luxurious, and great service. We stayed in a corner suite that was huge, perfect for our family travel needs.

The property is in upper edge of the NW DC business district, bordering a Georgetown neighborhood. You can walk to the Foggy Bottom metro(blue-orange lines) on 23rd, after crossing Pennsy Ave near GWU. Its about 4 city blocks, safe and easy for adults, harder for little tikes, stroller necessary. About the same walking distance to cafe/quick serve outlets too. You will do a bit more walking to get to the mall, museums, other tourist spots, and subway transit when compared to other hotels in NW DC.

The hotel lobby is spacious with plenty of seating, grab a beverage or appetizer to relax outside your room in comfort. There is a courtyard area also, good for warmer nights. The restaurant is gourmet, 4-stars maybe. It had a great breakfast for families, dinner was well prepared if not small portioned. Not great spot for dinner with kids, but it will do in a tight schedule if you do not prefer room service. We did have an excellent experience with room service that beat the experience at dinner. There are many excellent choices on the room service menu.

The indoor pool area, with a hot-tub and 3-lane swimming pool, is just ok. But its attached to the work out room and day spa, so not everyone was excited to see my 3 young kids giggling and acting like kids in there. We enjoyed a short swim nonetheless.

In sum, this luxury property has everything you need for a family or business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
BLRfromVF, what a perfect review! We are very glad that you had such a pleasant experience and that you took the time to give insider knowledge to other families who stay with us. The value of guest reviews cannot be overstated.

Thank you for your Fairmont loyalty. We cannot wait to have you back!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    348
    85
    44
    12
See reviews for
338
420
90
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am a repeat customer at the Fairmont Washington and I am always very pleased with the accommodations and the service. The lobby bar, with its comfortable seating area, is always a nice place to enjoy a cocktail in the evening. It is especially lovely to look out on the courtyard withe the Christmas lights lit. I don't recommend the bee-tini mind you, it just seemed unpleasant, despite the local honey addition. The bedrooms are well-appointed, peaceful and comfortable. This time the Fairmont bed seemed just a little less comfortable than usual - but still great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
SarahW, thank you for being a regular guest! One of the greatest aspects of working in the hospitality industry is getting to see familiar faces and developing relationships with our guests. We meet all sorts of interesting people!

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the Bee-tini—but are very happy that the local honey inspired you to give it a try! Next time you are in town, we will whip up the cocktail of your choice. We will make sure you get your fill of local honey another way; maybe through our delicious desserts!

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

it was our fourth time at this fantastic hotel, and if anything, the service and ambience was even better. The staff are very friendly, incredibly helpful, especially Jawad at the bar, and the rooms are very comfortable.

The hotel is located in georgetown and is very easy to get around on foot to see all the sites.

We also renewed our wedding vows at the hotel, and found it an excellent locaion and place to conduct such a personal and meaningful ceremony.

All in all, we would strongly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: i recommend booking a room over looking the atrium especially at christmas when its all lit up and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Vickimacpherson, thank you so much for sharing this experience with us. Having the honor of hosting your wedding vow renewal is a great treat. Thank you for putting it in our hands!

We appreciated your compliments towards Jawad (he's great!) and can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We were in DC for a wedding and stayed at the Fairmont. Very nice. We had a beautiful room overlooking the street. The staff was great. The food was great, though a bit pricey. We love DC and visit every summer. We would probably stay at the Fairmont again. Would definitely recommend this hotel. My only complaint is that we had to pay to get into the gym.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was very spacious and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Valerie E, thank you for your visit and review! We're happy to announce that we now have a 24-hour fitness center that is complimentary for all hotel guests.

We hope to see you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of our tour around the states. It was one of the best hotels that we had stayed the location was superb and could walk into George Town where the famous cupcake shop is that is often on the tv. The service was good and the room were lovely, spacious clean and well equipped the gardens are very pretty. There was valet service but parking was expensive and I do miss the breakfast being included.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Swanseanurse, thank you for the kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to try some of Georgetown's favorite cupcakes. They're a must have!

Keep an eye out for some of our packages, especially over the summer, for options that include parking and breakfast. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time during a weekend in June 2012 stayed at The Fairmont for a local wedding. The hotel is beautiful and classic - not super modernized like some of the surrounding options. The lobby is great to relax and have a drink with all of the afternoon light from the adjacent courtyard. The brunch is pricey but delicious and worth the splurge for the endless buffet of treats. The rooms are lovely and well designed. My one complaint is that the toilet in our suite's bathroom was not clean when we arrived. Guest services responded right away and sent up complimentary snacks and wine as an apology. Definitely a top choice for a stay in DC! (Side note - we wanted to get our nails done at the spa but it is in the gym, very small and not in line with a luxury hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
kr_333, thank you for the review! We love getting feedback from locals.

Thank you for the compliments towards our classically beautiful property. It's one of the things we love most and like to share with our guests. Sorry about the bathroom mishap -- we're glad guest services was able to quickly take care of it. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and it is a lovely hotel. The main thing for me is that its not too busy so you have a relaxed check in and a chilled out passage to your room. We stayed in the Capitol Corner suite....lots of space and though its just the one room, the bedroom and lounge are separated by a large cabinet that houses the tv, minibar, dvd etc...so feels like a different room. The corner suite gives views of both sides of the hotel so you get a massive amoount of light into the room. One main bathroom followed by one guest w/c as you enter. A great minibar, good selection of movies(on demand) and decent 24hrs room service menu. Located in a quieter part of DC but within walking of Georgetown and a short ride to the main tourist areas though you can walk this if needed. The breakfast is excellent as is the service and the dining room is beautiful. The piano bar just off the lobby is also a great place to chill out either before or after a night out.

Room Tip: get a suite if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
BobKJi, thank you for the kind review and the recommendations you offer future guests. We appreciate it and are certain they do too!

You're certainly right that the atmosphere is more relaxed and calming than other DC locations--we like to call it an Urban Oasis. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.