We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I found the hotel perfectly comfortable, providing a high level of service as would be expected at this price point. My room was spacious, though I did not care for the view into the office building across a narrow alley, and I didn't hear any noise from within the hotel when I was in my room, which is important to me. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was spotless. The bathroom felt a bit dated and the shower curtain blew in on me unless the bathroom door was fully closed. I spent a fair amount of time working in my room and found plenty of electrical outlets to support all of my many devices. Room service was prompt and friendly, and they have a nice way of leaving the bill so you can decide whether or not to add an extra tip in private. The wifi was fast, but I must note that there is a daily charge for wifi - unreasonable in this day and age. It was easily avoided by joining the hotel's free loyalty program. The front desk staffer told me that while it might take a few days to process my membership and I should go ahead and select the "charge it to my room option" when accessing wireless, the charges would not show up on the bill. In my experience, this sort of assurance usually guarantees that the amount will show up on the bill and it will take a request to have them removed. But the Fairmont came through - the charges did not appear and I did not have to make an extra trip to the front desk upon checkout. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    335
    81
    43
    11
See reviews for
326
399
88
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stay overnight in DC at least 8 - 12 times per year for work and of all the hotels I have stayed in this one is probably one of the best! The rooms are spacious, services is excellent, good location, and without a doubt one of the cleanest properties in the area.

For the same money the Fairmont wins every time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was here for two nights, for a meeting. I was unexpectedly upgraded to a corner room with a nice sitting area. Modern, well appointed and maintained room. Excellent service from the front desk, and a very good location.

Stays like this are why Fairmont is becoming one of my preferred hotel brands now. Good for business, fair price, not too flashy for an expense report.

My only concern were a bunch of minibar charges (that I hadn't incurred) added to the bill after departure. I would have called to complain, but honestly the time on the phone, explaining, etc. wasn't worth the time or money. But I wonder if this is a pattern that the manager should look into

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A standard 5+ star hotel that have tried to add some local touches with their own honey, local produce, honey Martini etc. competing at this level I would like to see even more uniqueness. Nice breakfast, however I preferred the menu over the buffet as it (the buffet) was a little limited. Great restaurant and concierge staff, mixed experiences with the front desk. Note it takes special arrangement to get a limo service, and the BMW 7 series they brag about does not provide service to the airport (don't understand why not)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing to back building as there noise from deliveries at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was a great location for my stay! We could easily walk to Georgetown and once the car was parked (CAUTION: $45 parking fee), we never got in it again.
Our room was clean and comfortable and also a decent size. The bathroom was also clean and nicely appointed.
We elected for a "Bed and Breakfast" rate which seemed a pretty good deal. Our thought was to take advantage of the buffet breakfast, but when we got downstairs, the staff was shutting down the buffet in preparation for the Sunday Brunch. No worries - we were allowed to order off the menu. Decent food that as basically included in our rate.
Now about that parking charge...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Though the facility is attractive and the staff helpful, our stay was a big disappointment.

1) We'd selected The Fairmont in part for location but particularly for its terrific exercise facilities and pool. I even made sure to call the hotel before booking to make sure what I saw in the photos was what we'd find but on check-in were told that the whole facility was closing for renovations. We pressed for use of another facility which was available only from 11am-4pm, when we'd be working and unavailable. They should have told me when I called so we had an opportunity to find another facility. For what it's worth, the facilities really are terrific, just unavailable to us.

2) The second morning of our stay we requested privacy but returned to our room to discover the "Privacy Please" tag back on the inside of the door, a light left on and the room cleaned. Everything we had carefully left laid out on surfaces had been touched and moved. To his credit, the concierge was mortified and offered profuse apologies, yet told me that the housekeeper insisted there was no privacy notice. Bad enough a mistake was made, but lying made it worse.

I hope this was just a bad couple of days in the life of a good hotel, but I surely wouldn't risk another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Never seen such service!! Everyone smiles and cannot wait to help. We were there for a wedding at the hotel and the staff was superb in setting up and ensuring that it ran smoothly.
What a terrific place!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Loved your comment everyone was smiling and try to help. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.