We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stay here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Never seen such service!! Everyone smiles and cannot wait to help. We were there for a wedding at the hotel and the staff was superb in setting up and ensuring that it ran smoothly.
What a terrific place!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Loved your comment everyone was smiling and try to help. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    839
    302
    78
    37
    11
See reviews for
289
363
84
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here for a wedding in October with our German Shepard. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was excellent, from the cleaning staff, who had her photo taken with our dog, and the concierge, who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The highlight was their new Pinkies and Paws High Tea, with amazing treats for us and our dog. Washington is a great place to travel with your dog, and the Fairmont is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are delighted that you and your dog were able to raise your pinkies and paws at our afternoon tea. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed three great nights here. Staff was exceeding friendly especially the bar staff. Don't miss Happy Hour 4-7 pm week nights. Great food and drink at reasonable prices. Nothing to do with hotel but Fairmont is getting too restrictive with their President's Club rewards.

Room Tip: Courtyard is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I work near the hotel and was a member of the Health Club. I am writing to say that they are renovating the gym, pool, jacuzzi area through February at least. They may have a small area with some machines to use temporarily. If having a good exercise or swim facility is important, then look elsewhere for the next few months. Otherwise it's a nice business hotel, much too pricey for families. The lobby is nice and in warm months the courtyard is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A bit expensive, but the hotel has a nice lobby, good comfortable well equipped rooms, and helpful respectful staff. The breakfast though needs some improvement in quality and variety. All business hotels should have free wifi, no one should pay for wifi at thus day and age. Wifi and breakfast were included in my room rate. I was happy with my stay. I give the hotel a 9 out of 10 overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for a wedding. The room was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was also lovely and spacious. Comfy bed. It is an older facility but beautifully maintained. We joined their President's club to get complimentary internet and fitness center. The food served at the wedding and brunch was delicious. Staff was very helpful - especially the bellhops and valet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very proud of our smiling staff, and we are so glad you noticed. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great hotel to stay in, superb conference facilities and good food too. The staff is ever smiling and helpful. And its literally 2 blocks away from the famous and lively Georgetown and the shopping street. So thats a bonus on top of all that. Been going there for past 3 years - always a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.