We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix my bathtub!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fix my bathtub!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel arriving on 11/8/12 and departing on 11/10/12. We noticed our shower was draining very slowly we notified the front desk. Someone tried to fix it once and the water drained even slower. Once again we told the front desk and we were told they would fix the problem. I told them if the problem could not be fixed we would like to be moved to another room. When we woke on 11/10/12 to shower before our flight departure, my wife took a shower and not only was the water not draining but the water level was actually starting to rise. When i informed the desk of the problem AGAIN, i was informed the people in the room next to me were also having problems with their shower----go figure!! Needless to say, i was very disgusted with this hotel and the way we were treated. Stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    342
    82
    44
    12
See reviews for
334
406
89
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Th Fairmont is amazingly easy to reach from Reagan Airport. Just a quick 20 minute cab ride (not at rush hour) and you're just outside the heart of the Foggy Bottom and University district. For a big city, I found the area to be nice and peaceful - yet right where you'd like to be. The interior and public amenities are first rate. Very attractive and cozy for a large hotel. My room was very nice, also quiet, and I found the memory foam topped bed to be extra comfy. There were a few areas in my room that were surprisingly below grade. For example, the wall plug by the sink had been repaired at some point, re-installed at a severe angle, and with a replacement part that looked beat and was a different color. A small point, I'll grant you - but when a hotel bills itself as "top shelf"...I expect EVERYTHING to be thus. The Fairmont doesn't quite measure up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights (during Presidential election) and enjoyed the hotel, staff and location greatly.

Booked a Fairmont Signature room - very spacious, clean, well decorated and tastefully furnished. The room only had a bath (small) with overhead shower, but was perfectly usable.

The Concierge staff and waiters were extremely helpful and polite - front desk a little frosty but nothing too disappointing.

Food was good, but not exceptional.

One observation, was the corridor leading to room (well certainly on 4th Floor) was worn and toed, with many scuffs, scrapes and marks - not a massive issue but a small disappointment.

Overall a good hotel with a helpful team, quality rooms and a good location. Certainly would come back when back in DC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We have recently checked the corridors on all of the guest room floor to repair any scuff marks. We appreciate you sharing your observations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The only reason we were able to stay in this hotel is because we say got a code from this website. We only paid $180/night which appears to be a great deal for DC. Look for the special offer link when booking. Saved up a lot of $$.

This hotel in in a great location. 5 minute walk to Georgetown and Foggy Bottom, about a 10 minute walk to DuPont Circle. Cheap cab ride to most sites. Also not to far from the Metro. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

The hotel was nice, but the rooms are nothing special. We requested a room with a king size bed with a view at least a month before our visit. When we checked in we were told a room with a king size bed was not available at the time. We were given a room with 2 'queen' beds. We had the option to wait for a room to be cleaned, but we just wanted to be checked in.

That night we realized that the beds were smaller then your average queen and not comfortable for the my girlfriend and I share. We had to sleep in different beds both nights.
We've stayed in rooms with 2 queens before and never had this problem. A bit of a downer when you're trying to enjoy a romantic vacation. Instead of having a room with a view we were facing a parking lot and what appeared to be an office building. I'm sure if we brought these issues to the staff they would have done everything in their power to satisfy our needs.

The only reason I'm giving this hotel a 3 star instead of 4 is because I expect more out of a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the queen beds are not as bid as your average queen. If you requested a king mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here with my 17yo daughter for a week at the end of October including 2 days hunkered down during Hurricane Sandy
Excellent hotel which handled the Hurricane superbly
Tip-join the Presidents Club on checking in which is free and gives you free internet in the room,free gym and other benefits
Superb Breakfasts-we did bed and breakfast
Price good-far cheaper than nearby Four Seasons
Excellent Concierge Desk very helpful with restraunys etc
Tip-get metro plastic travel card to save moeny and use on metro and all buses

Room Tip: Join free Presidents Club on checking in-free internet,gym and other benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Nov for 1 night and really enjoyed the hotel. Very nice and clean room, Not the largest but plenty big for 2 adults and 2 kids. Front desk gave us a welcome kit for the kids and could not have been better. Hotel restaurant is nice but casual enough to dine with kids. Food was very good and kids under 5 eat free. Hotel bar was nice too, Parking is a bit odd as it is expensive and vallet only. If you need anything from your car the bring you the car. Street park is by meter and we thoght is was easier to leave it there and take a cab to museums. Cab cost 10 and metro cost 8? Ill take the cab next time... One thing that is really nice with the fairmonts is the tech center in the room, Free wifi, USB charger and all cables are in the room. I forgot my phone charger and there was one in the mini bar!
We will stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room overlooking the court yard. A little quiter but really all the rooms are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to D.C. with your children. We hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Fairmont at the end of Oct 2012. On arrival we were offered a discounted upgrade to their Gold Floor which we thoroughly recommend (ask for Maggie or Jamil) as its like a small private hotel with lots of inclusive extras which make your stay that bit more special. We were holed up there for a day and half during hurricane Sandy and they provided free ipads, DVD's, half price drinks, etc. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful location, about 5-7 mins walk to the nearest Metro at Foggy Bottom, and about a 20 min walk to Georgetown shops Restaurant bit pricey but probably what you would expect at similar standard hotels in the area and you eat out anyway. All the staff we came into contact with were most professional, friendly and helpful. Rooms very quiet and beds very comfy - could not fault this hotel and we stay in alot. Well done Fairmont, we shall be back!

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are facing the central courtyard. Ask if any offers on for their 'Gold Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during Hurricane Sandy. Sorry it had to be under those circumstances. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.