We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, Excelent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, Excelent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Nov for 1 night and really enjoyed the hotel. Very nice and clean room, Not the largest but plenty big for 2 adults and 2 kids. Front desk gave us a welcome kit for the kids and could not have been better. Hotel restaurant is nice but casual enough to dine with kids. Food was very good and kids under 5 eat free. Hotel bar was nice too, Parking is a bit odd as it is expensive and vallet only. If you need anything from your car the bring you the car. Street park is by meter and we thoght is was easier to leave it there and take a cab to museums. Cab cost 10 and metro cost 8? Ill take the cab next time... One thing that is really nice with the fairmonts is the tech center in the room, Free wifi, USB charger and all cables are in the room. I forgot my phone charger and there was one in the mini bar!
We will stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room overlooking the court yard. A little quiter but really all the rooms are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to D.C. with your children. We hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    418
    105
    46
    16
See reviews for
437
517
97
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Fairmont at the end of Oct 2012. On arrival we were offered a discounted upgrade to their Gold Floor which we thoroughly recommend (ask for Maggie or Jamil) as its like a small private hotel with lots of inclusive extras which make your stay that bit more special. We were holed up there for a day and half during hurricane Sandy and they provided free ipads, DVD's, half price drinks, etc. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful location, about 5-7 mins walk to the nearest Metro at Foggy Bottom, and about a 20 min walk to Georgetown shops Restaurant bit pricey but probably what you would expect at similar standard hotels in the area and you eat out anyway. All the staff we came into contact with were most professional, friendly and helpful. Rooms very quiet and beds very comfy - could not fault this hotel and we stay in alot. Well done Fairmont, we shall be back!

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are facing the central courtyard. Ask if any offers on for their 'Gold Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during Hurricane Sandy. Sorry it had to be under those circumstances. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently spent several nights on the Gold Level of this venue and feel it was well worth the surcharge. Service was outstanding - easy to see why the staff was awarded top place among competing Gold Level Fairmonts.

The dining, lounge, and food/beverage area was quiet and relaxing, stocked with newspapers and magazines. Again, service was superior. Gold Level includes a full breakfast with many options. Small plate hors d'oeuvres, which can easily constitute dinner, are available 5 -7 pm, followed by dessert at 9 pm. The self-service bar is operated on an honor system.

Our room was spacious, spotless, and faced an beautiful interior courtyard. Bath products, gym, technology, bed and linens were top-of-the line. Robe and slippers were provided - no need to pack them! With superb attention to detail, the "New York Times" was delivered daily to the door in a monogrammed linen sac - which absorbs most of the ink.

Georgetown shopping was only steps away and the subway was a short walk.

Staff, beautifully trained and professional, remain the single most memorable component of our lovely stay. Many thanks, once again, to everyone there.

Room Tip: The Gold Level on the 9th floor is quiet, without street noice. An interior courtyard room gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was my fourth stay at the Fairmont. Service is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, spacious and quiet, bed is very comfortable, and the restaurant is excellent. The fitness center is a full blown health club with a wide array of equipment, many exercise spaces, dry and wet sauna, pool, and jacuzzi. Join the President's Club online (at no charge) and the fitness center and internet are free. The hotel is conveniently located to several nearby great running courses (fifteen minute run along the Potomac to the Lincoln Memorial), an easy walk into Georgetown or up to Dupont Circle, and a quick Metro ride to the National Mall. I have never been disappointed by this hotel; I'm pretty picky and I would rate the Fairmont a five-star property. I paid in advance and got a great rate directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I (60yo) stayed for 3 nights, we were booked in amongst wedding reception guests and it was noisy, we complained, the manager and bellboy were up within 5 mins and helped us shift to a new double ensuited room, we were given complimentary breakfast the next morning. I became sick from catching the flu. Our next hotel was Fairmont Dallas and all our dilemma and my poor health was passed on to that hotel, with which we had an incredible experience. We will always stay with Fairmont Hotels, they're the best. See my review for Fairmont Dallas

Room Tip: Ask for outside of building, not courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are glad that you were happy with the relocation of your room. We try to anticipate the needs of all of our guests. We are delighted that Fairmont Dallas took great care of you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
316 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a bed and breakfast package, and were pleasantly surprised.It is located in Foggy Bottom/West End, near Georgetown--an easy stroll... The hotel is traditional, with beautiful public rooms, an atrium feeling in the bar/lounge, where they also serve high tea, and an incredible glass-enclosed party space that looks like a jumbo-sized greenhouse from a botanical garden where a wedding was held while we were there. The breakfast restaurant has the most comfortable chairs ever, and their buffet breakfast each morning had very tempting pastries, muffins, bread pudding, croissants, and sticky buns to die for, as well as real food, such as eggs, breakfast meats, bagels, cheeses, fruits, granola, yogurt, etc. The room's furnishings were traditional with a modern accent. The rooms were sound-proof--yay! The bed was cozy, with both foam and feather pillows, so you have your favorite no matter which you choose, and the other furnishings in the room were also comfortable and versatile. The only negative for me (due to allergies) were the boutique toiletries, that all had a rose scent and made me uncomfortable. The sizes of the toiletries were small, so doubles should really be provided, at least of shampoo and conditioner when there are 2 guests in a room. There were 2 comfy robes provided. Another negative was that there was a charge for wi-fi--are you kidding me? The best part of the experience was the service from the nicest, most personable, helpful and pleasant people, from the front desk, to the concierge, to the restaurant hostess and waitstaff, and even the doormen and valet attendants--all were interested in making our stay the best that it could be, and they succeeded at making it memorable and wonderful!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Fairmont near Georgetown was a perfect location to get around Washington on foot or by Metro. The hotel has a lovely courtyard where we enjoyed a night cap surrounded by beautiful flowers. Our room was comfortable, clean and a generous size and we were lucky enough to have a balcony. The staff were extremely helpful and even volunteered to call the restaurant we were going to the night we checked in to let them know we were running late. Friendly smiles and impeccable service were the order of the day for this beautiful hotel. The later checkout made a huge difference for our travel plans.

Room Tip: The Gold floor is worth it for the extra attention and the breakfast, afternoon snacks and even dess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWDC, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and feel as though Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is like a home a way from home for you. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.