We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK EARLY & SAVE 15%
Ranked #25 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cute, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 3 nights here recently as my boyfriend had a conference at the Hilton across the street. We were given large room - 932, which is at the very top. Tippy top, as in we took the elevator to the 9th floor and then walked about 10 steps to reach the room. Nice king bed, wonderful fluffy pillows and comforter. There is a separate desk area and couch to watch TV. Does have a fireplace, but non-working. Small bathroom, but nice thick towels. The first floor bar makes killer chicken wings. It's walkable to the Dupont Circle Metro - but it's about 3/4 mile. Word of caution, if you take the Metro from airport and get off at Dupont Circle, a good portion of the walk will be uphill. So you might want to hail cab at the exit of the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    308
    69
    37
    36
See reviews for
101
225
77
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at the Churchill Hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I also loved the achitecture.
would definitely stay there again and will soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location - close to Dupont Circle, close to metro, Adams Morgan area and downtown! I had some questions about my bill, I called and Accounting staff was very, very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Billario, Thank you for your five star review. As they say, "location, location, location" and The Churchill definitely has a wonderful location being so close to Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle, the metro, the zoo, not too far from the White House. Choosing The Churchill has its advantages and is an ideal location. We really want to thank you for taking time to post such a nice review regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location in a gorgeous area of D.C. with plenty of restaurants, lovely architecture, and convenient to the Metro. Quiet room with and unusual shape (boxes are no fun). Bathroom fixtures were slightly problematic, but nothing too bad. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TravelBug35, Thank you for your four star review. We definitely like to hear that you would return to The Churchill without hesitation and we appreciate your kind review. Once again we thank you for reviewing and choosing The Churchill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel made our stay a wonderful experience!! We were there to see our daughter compete at George Mason University and they set up a driver to get us there for the 2 days and made it so stress free!! The location of this hotel is great, walking distance to some really good places to eat, metro was nearby. We took the Big Bus Tour, which you could hop on and off and get everywhere in the city. The location of that was right across the street from the Churchill hotel at the Hilton. That was a good way to see things for the first time. Very historic hotel for a great price!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi jerilyn k, Thank you for your four star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at The Churchill are absolutely wonderful and are five star. The location near Dupont Circle and good restaurants gives the hotel four stars and makes it a winner. But the people who work there actually make The Churchill worth returning to in the future.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Joseph676, Thank you for your four star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you want to stay in a historic hotel and don't mind things a bit aged this is a great bargain. Close to everything you want to see. Friendly staff and clean but dated rooms.

You will pay about $80 mor a night a hotels close by this one and you will be close to everything in DC. This is our second time here and it's quit convenient!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Tom C, Thank you for taking time to post a five star review! We really appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Churchill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.