We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK EARLY & SAVE 15%
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The Churchill is a lovely boutique hotel in charming Dupont Circle. Rooms are very nice and the only thing holding this back from a 5 rating were the construction in the front of the hotel which made arriving by car very difficult. Retrieving your car was also slow and backing out of the property was a bit dangerous. We had room 714 and while charming and perfectly sized, the bathroom was really tiny. We also had room 716 which had an ideal size bathroom. Room service was perfect. The Churchill is worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Val D, Thank you for your four star review and for calling The Churchill a "lovely boutique hotel". I'm so sorry the beautification project and construction in front of the hotel inconvenienced you; it will be completed by the last week of August. Despite the inconvenience, we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite and feel it was worth every penny. Please come back and stay with us whenever you're in the Washington, DC area, it will be our pleasure to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    315
    70
    37
    36
See reviews for
105
228
81
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at the Churchill for two nights. The hotel was good value for money and the front desk service was great. Close to Dupont Circle and Embassy Row but a distance from Capitol Hill, but public transport is relatively easy. Overall all a pleasant stay in wonderful Washington. Rooms were spacious but slightly dated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Tom M, Thank you for your four star review. You're absolutely correct, The Churchill provides excellent customer service, spacious rooms, and an ideal location that definitely provides good value for your dollar. Once again, thank you for your review and please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The fromt desk were so friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and clean. I have a elevator fobia but usually am fine. The elevator is very small so I took the stairs with no problems. I will absolutely stay here again. GREAT LOCATION! !!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
HI Makahainn, Thank you for your five star review, it was very kind of you. We are always happy to hear when guest's state that they had a "wonderful trip" and will definitely return. We appreciate your business and look forward to providing you another very enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed at the Churchill for two nights. Front desk service was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating, and the rooms were just lovely. Keep in mind though that this hotel is far from all the landmarks such as the White House, Capitol Building, etc. It is quite a trek to get there, you would have to either take a taxi, or public transportation to get to the spots. Or, if you prefer to walk like us, we were able to reach the White House (for example) in about 45 minutes. All in all, I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi RStarD, Thank you for your four star review and for calling The Churchill a "lovely boutique hotel". Although we are about a mile or so from Capitol Hill and the White House, we hope you were able to enjoy all of the nearby restaurants and shops. We're glad you had enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite and the friendliness of our team; thank you in advance for staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeerpoort South Africa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very well treated. The rooms have the colonial style, are spacious, well furnished, with lots of space plus neat clean and tidy. The staff are helpful especially the night staff and Andrew. Will stay there again when we are in Washington.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi Scott E, Thank you for your five star review. We're glad you had a wonderful stay at The Churchill and we thank you for mentioning Andrew's name and his customer service; he's exceptional. We appreciate the fact that you plan to stay here on your next visit to Washington, DC; we can't wait to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you enjoy a slower pace and appreciate the charm of historic boutique hotels, this is the place for you. The junior suite was large and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Each meal that I had at the restaurant was prepared to my satisfaction. I stayed here a few years ago and I was happy to experience the same type of service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi LAreviewer, Thank you for your five star review. Your title "Charming boutique hotel with an accommodating staff" is well appreciated and paints an accurate picture for potential future guests on the ambiance of The Churchill and what type of service they can expect to receive. Many previous guests feel exactly the way you do and always choose The Churchill whenever they're in the area; we are truly grateful for guests like you and we hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Front desk ... very helpful..patient & kind...Kaceam went the extra mile in suggesting the Big Bus tour since it was our first time to Washington...Helped us many times...Much easier for us than trying to figure out the Metro Bus routes! Room was large, beautifully decorated with coffee pot and small fridge, but the greatest was the wonderful location on Connecticut Ave. and the Helpfullness of the Hotel front desk!

Room Tip: higher floors near front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1914, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear southerngirlo, Thank you for your five star review; we definitely appreciate it. Also, thank you for posting your stay was amazing and how Kacem gave you stellar customer service; all of our guests rave about him. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Churchill and we can't wait for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Churchill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.