We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BLOOMING SAVINGS | 20% OF
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vaughan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at the Churchill for 5 nights.
The place is a bit old but the room was clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I had a safety box in the room that didn't work and as soon as I mentioned it at the reception they sent someone to fix it. The location is great for many good restaurants and easy to get to the city's main attractions (although the main purpose of my stay was for a conference nearby). The hotel's restaurant is also nice- a good choice if you don't want to get out and for breakfasts.
The cost is very reasonable- great value for the money. This was my second time at the Churchill and I'd definitely go back if I have business in DC again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the street level. Last time I got one of those and asked to change it right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Greetings Aviv S, Thank you for posting such a nice review about The Churchill. It's very nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations while in D.C. for business. Thank you for also pointing out how comfortable you thought the bedding was and how friendly our staff is. Please come back and stay with us on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    293
    69
    37
    36
See reviews for
95
212
77
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel combines an oldy worldy feel with up-to-date comforts. The first surprise came with a complimentary upgrade to a suite, which had a sweeping view of Connecticut Avenue (and the 'Reagan' Hilton). Its location is ideal, with both Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan being a mere stone's throw away. As a result, there are plenty of wining and dining opportunities in the close vicinity. Even the monuments are within (a brisk) walking distance; if you're not up for a hike, the Dupont metrostop is only a few minutes away from the hotel. A few minor points: (1) mineral water isn't provided unless asked (?); (2) the gym is very small and doesn't seem to be maintained as it should be with both the water dispenser (!) and tv being broken; (3) no parking facility. On the whole, however, an excellent experience and will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Bertie33, Thank you for staying at The Churchill and posting you had an excellent experience. We love to surprise our guest with complimentary upgrades when available and the view of Connecticut Avenue is simply breathtaking. You definitely chose the right hotel if you’re seeking value, a great location, and many dining opportunities. Please note we do offer valet parking for our guest when available, and I'm sorry if the TV in our fitness room wasn't functioning at the time of your visit. Please email me directly at michael. truesdelle@thechurchillhotel.com and I'll personally make sure you have complimentary water in your suite on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Washington and the Churchill is among the nicest. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful. The hotel is clean, bright and very appealing. The service in the bar area was just what you would expect in a very fine hotel. The location of The Churchill is great for visitors to DC. It is near Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle and close to the downtown area. We also found the value for what we paid to be excellent. I would strongly recommend The Churchill to couples and families who want to break out of the "chain" hotel experience. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Upper floors are a good idea in any Washington DC hotel; they help eliminate the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear DeacSteve, Thank you very much for your five star review. As you mentioned, Churchill is not a chain hotel and we work hard on making it our advantage. It’s our pleasure to indulge and spoil our guests! That’s great that you had a chance to explore the area! Kindly note that Georgetown is also in a walkable proximity to the hotel. This neighborhood is well-known by it’s Riverfront, restaurants, park areas such as Dumbarton Oaks and of course shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Please feel free to call us directly to make any pre-arrival arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I've never stayed at a hotel in which the staff was so friendly, fast, and accommodating. I stayed three nights for my birthday weekend and everything was great. The staff was the nicest I had ever experienced. Each person wished me a happy birthday, greeted my friends and myself every time we walked through the lobby. They happily gave suggestions for restaurant options and sites to see and also were eager to help with any requests we had. One more we called down to the front desk to see if there was a place to heat up our leftovers and they went above and beyond and actually brought a microwave to the room for us! The staff alone is why I will always stay at the Churchill when I travel to DC. Thanks Michael, Steven, Wanda and everyone else for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Greetings Dahra J, Your kind words mean a lot to the staff at The Churchill and we definitely want you to return! Thank you for choosing us for your birthday accommodations and for letting thousands of people know your interaction with our staff was the best experience you ever had at a hotel. We always want our guests to feel the way you do and we thank you again for sharing. Please come back and stay with us on your next birthday if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed in many hotels in DC area. This one is clean, comfortable, and very conveniently located. Convenient to have complimentary WIFI in rooms as well as lobby. Excellent rate. This is the best. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I took the room they gave me. It was great: clean, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi SDNYC2013, Thank you for your five star review! Your title “Excellent: clean, comfortable, and convenient” is definitely an accurate description of The Churchill Hotel. We're so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return to our hotel on your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything additional we can do to make your next stay even better. Once again, thank you for taking time to post your review; we greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We attended a bar mitzvah and received an excellent group rate for a very nice, spacious and well appointed king bed room. The bed was extremely comfortable. While the bathroom was quite small, it was very functional. The staff was very efficient. They promptly responded to a heating problem in one of our group's rooms. Breakfast was very nice and not too expensive for a restaurant.. the public areas are quite nice. It's in a very good location. We would definitely stay at The Churchill again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi taries, Thank you for posting your review; we definitely appreciate you! You're absolutely correct, the rooms are very spacious, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the public areas are very appealing, and the breakfast is delicious. It's nice to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Churchill and that you received great value for your money. Thank you in advance for choosing us the next time you need accommodations in D.C.! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got lost getting to the property because of construction, a manager stayed on the line and talked us through our arrival.

The rooms were clean and attractive and most importantly didn't have the hotel smell.

When I needed my car from valet parking, it arrived very quickly, even on the morning I needed it at 4:00 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTruesdelle, Front Office Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Greeting Marie S, Thank you for your five star review. I was so happy I was able to give you accurate directions and I'm glad we stayed on the phone together until you were comfortable enough to make it to The Churchill. Thank you for complimenting the staff and for all the positive things you said about The Churchill; it means a lot to us. Please come see us again when you're in the Washington, D.C. area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Churchill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.