We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row to your Saves list
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save Big
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Churchill Hotel for four days of site seeing in Washington. It is a beautiful older hotel in great condition. It was an easy walk to many restaurants, the Metro and Dupont Cir. We had an incredible suite that was wonderful and huge. I'd give our room a 10. The only reason that I am giving the hotel a 4 out of 5, is because the staff, who were very friendly and who tried to be helpful, lacked true knowledge of the area. They don't have a concierge, so finding good restaurants was up to us. Luckily, we did, Bistro du Coin!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
usa
Level Contributor
291 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel represents good value for businesspeople or tourists wgo wish to be based near Dupont Circle.

The lobby and public areas are not extravagantly decorated. The elevators are slow and antiquated. But, as is often the case with "historic" properties, the room corridors are wide and the bedroom ceilings high.

My bedroom was surprisingly large, though the bathroom unfortunately didn't match in size. Furnishings are traditional in style, the decor somewhat old-fashioned but the room was neat and clean and everything worked, Wi-di was good with no blind spots and no need to log in for each session as is often the case.

Service levels are adequate but minimal. There is no functioning mini bar in the bedroom. There are beverage and snack vending machines on selected floors which slightly downgrade the feel of the hotel but represent better value.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked my room online and got a very good rate of USD85.00 nett. Checked in early at about 11 immediately upon arriving from Atlanta. The counter staff seemed rather snobbish, i think it was because i was Asian. They seemed to greet the occidentals differently, from what i noticed.
The rooms furnishings were somewhat outdated, however they were well maintained. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were too soft. The bathroom was small and the bathtub was probably designed for hobbits. There was no double lock for the doors, only a latch. The walls were pretty thin and a door being opened across the hall would seem like your door was being opened. The floors creaked, adding to the authenticity of an old hotel. The was no view from my room and looking out the windows i could see pigeon poo all over the window sills. Location was pretty good with access to a vast variety of outlets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Let me start out by saying that there are so many great things about this hotel. The common spaces are bright and well appointed. The hotel itself is charming - it maintains many of the details of the building - particularly in the hallways.

The room my friends and I stayed in was an oversized corner king room. The bedroom was huge, there was a semi-private study, and a decent sized bathroom. Decor was traditional and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. There was a larger mini fridge in the study area. The bathroom layout was a bit tricky - it was very narrow, the bath and toilet were in a separate room beyond the sink area. The fan - which was very loud - would turn on when you turned on the light the the first room where the sinks were. Not a big deal, especially considering the rate I got on the room was very reasonable.

Another odd thing was that there was only 1 set of towels in the bathroom. Again, not a big deal, but I had to call down to housekeeping for more.

But - the reason for the "Poor" review... After checking in and unpacking, my friends and I went back downstairs to explore the city. When we exited the elevator we were greeted by a giant cockroach. That image stayed with us the rest of our stay.

Unfortunate, because this otherwise would have been a "Very Good" review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very comfortable clean room which was also very quiet. Great free Wifi. A nice selection of restaurants close by even though it is a bit of a walk uphill coming home.Not close to the Metro but being tourists, it was great to be able to catch the hop on, hop off bus across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel is indeed a classic in Washington DC. Unlike other international hotels, this one has personality and style. Rooms are spacious, and provide you all the necessary equipment for business travellers. The place is conveniently located close to Dupont Circle (albeit if you are carrying bags is not walking distance) and also it has amenities and a 24 supermarket close by. The bar is very good, and the breakfast is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are appreciative of classic charms, this one is for you.
We stayed in DC area for 3 nights, but decided to rotate around just to get a feel for more things. The suite we stayed at was marvelous. We would have enjoyed this hotel still had we decided to stay for more nights.

Everything was very well maintained and absolutely clean.
Since we have our rental car, we were concerned about parking cost. It turned out we had no problem parking on the nearby streets overnight, just another saving.

There was absolutely not a single issue.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: After evening activities, you can save some money by just parking on the streets in the neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdn1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#28 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
U Street Corridor
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#30 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,743 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
One Washington Circle Hotel
#25 of 138 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#19 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing