We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Churchill Hotel to your Saves list
The Churchill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BLOOMING SAVINGS | 20% OF
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sumgait
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in late September 2012. Though it need renovation, I was satisfied with the hotel. However there were some flaws in the operation of the hotel. For example I arrived on Saturday and had a meeting on Monday, I asked the staff for ironing my suit and dress shirt, but they told me that they do not provide the service on weekends. Of course I did not like the answer. But the location is good and safe, I was walking around the blocks near the hotel in the night, but never had a trouble. In the night there was not so much noise outside and I could have a good sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    293
    68
    37
    36
See reviews for
95
212
77
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Large and lovely room with comfortable beds. Situated in the lively Dupond neighborhood within walking distance of the metro.
The only downside was the expensive internet access and difficult to hear desk clerk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel itself is in a great area, within walking distance to several restaurants. I thought the service within the bar area for drinks and dinner was pretty good, though didn't appreciate the server standing with his back to the bar, watching the tv until I cleared my throat.

We had problems with the valet service. Each day, it was an adventure to see if they could find the car, and it often took 10 minutes. On the last day, my colleague thought he'd "beat the system", and called down 15 minutes before we ready to leave and asked for the car to be brought down. They called back and alerted him it was ready (which was great). When he arrived downstairs, it was the WRONG car. So, more waiting and waiting.

Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom layout was a bit wonky with the doors to the sink/vanity part of the bathroom opening into the doors to the toilet/shower part of the bathroom. I did appreciate the extra nook in my room that gave me a full desk to work at, but wish the mini-fridge had power (I didn't call about it, as I just wanted to keep my Diet Coke cold).

Lastly, I stayed on the 2nd floor, and wished the heavier drapes weren't just vanity drapes, and could completely cover the sheers over the whole window. I faced a street, and could see pedestrians walking by. I'd like a little more privacy.

Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in room 922 for 3 nights , 7th, 8th, 9th of Oct. A nice hotel, quiet, clean rooms with comfortable beds. The monuments are "walkable", cabs are cheap. Friendly staff in a value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked 2 rooms in this hotel on booking.com. I had only one request from the hotel that we be on the highest floor possible. This helps to block out the street sounds. We were put on the second floor. Ok I can deal with that but starting at check in we were treated as if we were an inconvenience. We parked our car with the hotel valet service which was actually the only option we found at the hotel. When we came back out later they had lost our keys and it took 30 minutes to find them. We returned and parked with them again. We spent a sleepless night in the hotel due to sirens all night outside the window. The next morning we went out and had a very full day and returned exhausted only to find 2 dirty rooms. We called and asked why the rooms weren't clean and clean towels left and we were told they don't clean rooms every day. What the heck???? No clean room and no clean towels? They did send someone to clean the room and she said they do clean the rooms every day and she didn't know why they didn't clean ours.
To further demonstrate the lack of regular cleaning 2 doors down dirty trays set in the hall for our intire stay. Finally we checked out and asked for the car. This time they didn't lose the keys they had lost the car. I kid you not it took them forever to figure out where they parked our car. During all of the above we were being taken care of by kids who tried to run and do what needed to be done but obviously didn't have the experience or knowledge. Meanwhile some older and obviously more experienced staff stood around and chatted and yelled at the younger staff to do this and do that. These more experienced staff also talked down to us and behaved as if we were an anoyance and did the same to other clients we saw. I will never go back.
I have to say the waiter in the restraunt each morning was lovely and couldn't have been more attentive. I also have to say when we checked in the room appeared to be clean.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Room and location were good but service was bad. The receptionist Steven was unpleasant and rude. No complimentary water was placed in the ref. it took an hour and 3 follow ups before it arrived. Because of this type of service, we probably won't come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was my first visit to Washington, DC and found a nice deal on this hotel. The staff were all friendly although not necessarily helpful when it came to tourist questions, they handed me one brochure from a sightseeing company. I was in a king suite which was very spacious and very clean. My only complaint on the room was the size of the bathroom. The Metro station is a half mile downhill from the hotel which is great in the morning; however the walk is a bit much after a long day of sightseeing and standing on your feet all day long. There are many dining establishments between the Metro Station and the hotel that you can stop in. The doorman will help you with a taxi but the one morning I needed one, it was raining and the taxi's were few and far between. I ended up running into a private car driver who helped me out at a significantly increased price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 1914 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Churchill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, the Churchill Hotel, situated on Connecticut Avenue near the Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods, has been home to a long list of diplomats, dignitaries, politicians, business travelers, and prominent families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Hotel Washington Dc
Churchill Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.