We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Odyssey Cruises

Odyssey Cruises
600 Water Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
+1 866-306-2469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 157 Activities in Washington DC
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy live music, dining, exceptional service and monumental views. Cruising year-round from the Gangplank Marina, Odyssey offers brunch, lunch, dinner and holiday cruises like Father's Day, plus all sorts of specialty cruises.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I went with my family in the morning cruise, honestly I was expecting a lot more considering the price.

Food is bad, it tastes like those frozen food they sell in grocery stores, dessert the same.

The service is average. I would rather go to a nice restaurant in DC than come back.

Experience wise i ll say that there is nothing to see, you will be sble to see the was mon and thats it. The boat just goes up and down .

I honestly do not recomnend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    14
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent (brunch) Food, Poor Service, Poor Organization”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had no trouble parking although I intentionally arrived 30 minutes prior to boarding.

It seemed to me that all tables had a great view of the water - the interior space was occupied by the bar, food bar, and the band.

From the get-go, guests began annihilating the brunch line - despite being told by 2 crew members that the buffet line wasn't open yet. Part of the problem was that one crew member prematurely opened the lids to all of the food. Pretty soon there were 3 "lines" trying to get at the circular array of foods.

Also, the hostess had problems showing guests to their seats, as people kept streaming into the cabin area when she was busy with other guests.

I think part of the real problem was there was no organizational plan amongst the crew, and perhaps they were understaffed.

The 2nd half of the cruise turned around - narration of sights was good, music was good, boating staff on the outside deck was helpful. The food was pretty good.

The last 30-45 minutes the band played and the dance floor was full. That was pretty fun.


Would I book another cruise? Never for $80 - maybe if the price was under $50.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were hesitant to try the Odyssey dinner cruise because some reviewers indicated the food and service was mediocre. Nothing was further from the truth. We did this for our 38th wedding anniversary and know it will be long remembered. The food was very good. The service was friendly and efficient. The boat has all glass sides and ceilings so there is an open feel to the boat. The boat split into two different groups of people with separate bands for each. Our band was top rate and the dance floor was packed with people enjoying themselves. Also, the manager came around and gave diners the chance to order a cab and have it waiting upon departure. It's pricey, true, but we believe it's worth what we paid for. Wonderful night!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice cruise-just make sure you call your own cab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

In DC for a 2nd honeymoon after 37 years of wedded bliss. Chose this cruise because of the cruise past the monuments. Fortunately, it was low tide, so we were able to sail past the monuments.

The check-in process was smooth and the clerk even offered to have a cab waiting when the cruise was over. HE OFFERED this service with no prompting on our part. Unfortunately, this did not happen. And we then learned, this is a common occurrence for this cruise line.

Our waiter and his aide were attentive, but not intrusive. The food was outstanding, considering the venue. It's not a 5-star restaurant, but our dinners were still nicely prepared and tasty.

It was incredibly peaceful to sit out on the deck and just enjoy the scenery.

The folks at the adjacent table were delightful and added to our experience.

In summary, this was a wonderful evening and, in my opinion, well worth the money. I was thoroughly dismayed by the failure of the clerk to follow through on the cab. Dishonesty in any form is totally unacceptable in my book!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dinner Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took the dinner cruise for our anniversary. Pros: Very friendly staff, nice views from every table, great band and fun evening. Cons: We had a terrible waiter--not friendly or organized. Brought the wrong wine, brought soda water instead of Perrier, first course delivered to the people next to us who had not ordered, then brought the wrong main course. Took 45 minutes from the time we finished the first course until the next course arrived. The Manager brought me a complimentary 2nd glass of wine so I forgot about being annoyed. Food was average like you would get at a banquet dinner. Glass of wine 6-8 dollars seems reasonable. Price was 97 dollars per person but has 30 more attached for taxes etc. Drinks are extra. Could not get a taxi in the neighborhood afterwards (on a Sunday night). Captain was nice and helped us by chasing one down. Bring some cab phone numbers if you are going to need a taxi. Would not attempt walking in the area, even to metro stop. Recommend the cruise because we did enjoy it with great views from every seat and a fun party atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odyssey Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Odyssey Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odyssey Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.