We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed as a family at this wonderful property and I have to say that it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The doorman, receptionist and all those whom we had interacted were just very helpful.

We sill surely return to this property for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen S, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind reply! It is very exciting for us to hear about your stay with us & that our team provided memorable Westin service. Please let us know when you plan to return. We will be waiting for your arrival.
Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    357
    94
    26
    9
See reviews for
250
273
93
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great location - couple blocks from main Georgetown/M street area. The staff was very friendly - provided some good suggestions for things to do. Gabrielle, the stay ambassador, was very helpful and provided great suggestions as well.

Green Features: Some rooms have been setup so you need to leave the key for power to be turned on.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Sagrawal85,

Thank you for your feed back on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you had a nice stay. Gabrielle does a great job and we will pass your note to the team. Be well and we hope to see you again soon.

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Arrived at the Georgetown Washington Westin . At check in we were told that our reservation was at the other Washington Westin. They booked us into the Georgetown Westin after my wife consulted with the manager on duty at the original Westin that even though our reservation was non refundable that they wouldn't charge us because we were checking into their sister hotel.

NOT. Visa bill showed we were charged at both hotels. My complaint ended up at someone's desk in Ireland (with no toll free number) and they said unless my wife could tell them the name of the manager she spoke to they would not redund our money.

I'm a SPG MEMBER and can't believe the run around I got for the price of two nights stay. Sold my Starwood stock the next day. Stock has since traded down 15%. Thanks Westin for the tip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Jim M.,

We are pleased that we were able to get you into our Hotel and fell bad that the other Westin had not refunded your reservation. We are both Westin Hotels but not managed by the same company. We hope you will be able to resolve the situation with the Westin DC City Center and please reach out to me if you need some help.

Be well.

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband and I stay at Westin and Sheraton properties everywhere we go. This is by far one of my favorites. The staff at the Westin Georgetown make you feel like royalty! Rooms are large for a city hotel. You can walk to lots of sites.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear mmCentralPA, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are elated that you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again. I will share your review with our entire staff.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Westin Georgetown sits right at 24th and M, convenient to both downtown and Georgetown. The hotel is updated with well appointed rooms that are clean and neat, and the staff is especially helpful. Currently they are renovating the lobby but it's not an issue with your stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I checked in not too long ago for a quick business meeting. Great customer service can really just change the trajectory of your day. I met Gabrielle at the front desk and she could write the book on hospitality. She went out of her way to make sure all my concerns were addressed and that I would have the resources (computer, internet, etc.) to complete my work by morning. I travel for 6 months out of the year and I was so impressed I created this account just to thank her for being AWESOME!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! Gabrielle is one of our top associates, and was recently promoted in her new role as a Stay Ambassador. It is amazing to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, including the service demonstrated by our team. I have already shared your comments with our team, who are most appreciative. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Be well,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

In the past I have stayed at nearby hotels and enjoy the area outside of Georgetown. Needing a weekend away, I noticed the Westin through SPG Hot Escapes was offering weekend nights for $111/night and went ahead and booked 2 nights. We rode the metro to the Foggy Bottom station and it was a short walk from there, not a problem at all with rolling luggage even when you are rolling 2 so the other can take pictures ;-). Despite getting there before noon, we were able to receive our room which was a big help to get ready before heading out to explore DC. The Westin Georgetown is a Make a Green Choice hotel through SPG so you get 500 points a night you decline housekeeping excluding check out days (so minimum 2 night stay needed).

Our room was on the 7th floor - the SPG floor - and was facing the interior courtyard / pool area. The first thing you have to do (and probably the room's biggest flaw) is you have to insert your room key to activate lights / AC controls. This would not be so bad had our room had separate doorway / bathroom lights. This may not be the same for all rooms but for ours if you wanted to use the bathroom at night, it had to include the lights outside the bathroom by the door which would then light up the entire bedroom area. Other than that, the room itself was clean and large as the design runs wide like an L instead of your traditional straight back rooms which allowed more window space looking out. Loved the Heavenly beds, one of my favorite beds in the industry. Bathroom was clean with separate bathtub and shower options.

The gym offering was good with different cardio machines, weights up to 50lbs, and a couple of different strength machines and pull up bar. The pool area is very small and probably only looks inviting if you want to cool down after a hot day walking around DC. Since the walkway area around the pool is VERY narrow, a couple of families is all it takes to keep you from wanting to go down. Take a chilled towel from the gym instead.

Now for Georgetown itself - it's a short walk from the hotel to get to where the shops and restaurants begin. However, if you walk the entire Georgetown area up and down and head back to the hotel it is a lot of walking so plan your footwear accordingly. We never had any concerns walking to and from the hotel at different hours of night either to Georgetown or to the metro station area as there is an active nightlife and lots of people are out on the weekend.

For the price we enjoyed our stay although I don't think anything really stood out that would make us race to the hotel again if prices were the normal $200+. The hotel has a top notch staff and our floor was eerily quiet the entire time despite wedding festivities going on in the hotel that weekend which were pluses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.