We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will miss the service staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We will miss the service staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

For the past 8 years, we have stayed at this hotel to visit our children in college. Over the years, the service staff became like family to us. They were always so welcoming and caring. We will mis them. I can't remember all of the names but Deenny was one of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mary G.,

What a great story. Thank you for staying with us after all these years. If you should ever come back to this area to visit the school or just for fun, please reach out to us. We would love to have you back. Best to you and your Family.

Be well,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    366
    101
    28
    9
See reviews for
257
284
96
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location is nice but our room was nothing special. The sink faucet handle leaked. The shower faucet was loose and leaked. Some fixtures were broken off the walls. I've stayed at numerous hotels for $99 that were nicer just not in Georgetown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLANDOME
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Well located near Georgetown shopping and GWU campus, situated among other high end hotels. As SPG preferred, room on higher floor was clean and spacious, wifi was free, and bed is indeed heavenly. Valet parking price is not noted on website but cost $45, so we street parked on Saturday night which was easy enough to do. Very easy and quick to get a taxi over to the mall, museums, White House, etc. Nothing fancy here, but we came to DC for the sights, not to spend time in our hotel room, and the price is very reasonable for DC. PS - extra outlets are tucked into the desk unit, not obvious less you search for it.

Room Tip: Helps to be SPG member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
880 reviews 880 reviews
255 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I spent a few harrowing days at the renaissance hotel and was glad for a change, hopefully a positive one

Checked-in and was relieaved the front desk was more caring and gave me a decent room. The hotel only has 8 floors and i had a nice corner room. It was large, but the long corridor that made it large doesn't do much. It's still old and unimaginative like 95% of most US hotels, but it's ok. There's a large deep almost walk-in closet, plus a very large bathroom. Thankfully they have a shower instead of just the safety hazard bathtub.Wifi is good

The location is not great, in that you can't really really find a good breakfast place within a 1-2 block radius. But it's next to the Park Hyatt's Blue Duck restaurant, and you can try their meals and service there. The food is good, the service is incredible

It's a 15min walk to the metro (Foggy bottom) and ok if the weather permits

Overall, much cheaper and much better than the awful renaissance

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear bcheong,

Thank you for giving us a try after your other Hotel experience. As a Westin, we try hard to stay true to what makes us a "Westin". Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and please give us your feedback on how we can improve. Thanks again and Be Well.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you want high quality service, amazing rooms and great location visit The Westin. I have been traveling with my boyfriend around US and it was our first time staying at this hotel WE LOVED IT! 4 thumbs up!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Millie G.,

Traveling around the US....you must have stayed at your fair share of Hotels. For you to give us a "4 - thumbs up" is a honor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our Hotel and to DC. If your travels brings you back our way, we would love to have you back.

Be Well,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I love this hotel. This hotel is very nice and close to everything in the DC metro area. I walked everywhere. I arrived in DC very early and they let me check in. I'm a member of StarWood Preferred Guest and its help. The rooms are comfortable but a little plain. I loved the heaven bed and the pillows. I loved the bathroom the most. It is huge and the soaking tub was so relaxing. The grounds are gorgeous. The swimming pool is small but you still can use it. It is a great place to relax after so much walking. I didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel due to an emergency I left the next day but I highly recommended. There is a real good place for breakfast just one block away. Go there for brunch. The food is so yummy. The name is Bread and Chocolate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Liliana C.,

Thank you for your detailed feedback! I have been to Bread and Chocolate many times and have enjoyed it. Sorry to hear that you had to leave early due to an emergency. We hope you can make it back to finish your Visit. Be well.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
955 reviews 955 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

In terms of the facilities, this Westin is one of the better Westin brand hotels I have been to. The staff is great as well and I enjoyed my time here. The in-house bistro style restaurant is also very good. There's a small outdoor courtyard area, I enjoyed smoking my cigars there. Pro tip - when leaving the hotel via car, do not go through Georgetown to get back to the freeways, it's a really bad bottleneck. Instead, head south from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.