We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just completed an excellent weekend stay at the Westin Georgetown. My wife and I were in town for a wedding and had our 18-month son with us. The hotel is a busy one, but the service level was consistently good. In addition, our room was very nice and spacious (the 1-bedroom King suites are worth a splurge).

Most impressive was Lana Kim, the Stay Ambassador. She reached out in advance of our stay to ask how she could help and then followed through with getting us a quiet and spacious room, per my request. Lana went above and beyond to make sure that we were well taken care of. In addition, the front desk was able to hold our room and accommodate a late check-in when we were delayed in traffic.

All in all, a wonderful stay. The hotel is also great for work travel (I had stayed a few times before as well).

Room Tip: 1-bedroom/King suites are worth the splurge
See more room tips
Green Features: Green hotel, made it easy to make the right choice about lights/towels, etc without skimping on service
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear BizTraveller98,

Thank you for your "gift" of feedback. We are please that you had a great stay with your Family. Lana Kim is our Stay Ambassador and she does a great job. We will pass your comments alone her. Be Well and we hope to see you again for the next wedding or what ever brings you back to the DC area.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    388
    104
    29
    9
See reviews for
274
295
99
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice, modern, well-appointed rooms. Quiet rooms can be found on the interior of the hotel facing the courtyard overlooking the pool (not sure if it's the hotel's or another entity's). Efficient, friendly service. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a nice hotel but for the price I wouldn't suggest it since you have several other options surrounding it. We stayed for two nights in October for a wedding since it was part of the wedding blocks and transportation was going to be provided to/from wedding events from this area. Check-in was easy and they were able to accommodate us at 9:30 am when we arrived. The room was what you would expect from a Westin, clean, nice bed. We just had a couple of issues like finding a bug in the robe they have for you in the room, one of the phones was broken and their night concierge person was clueless regarding their restaurant information. The manager was super helpful when I complained which was very nice and helpful. But if you like Westin hotels and their brand and like to know what to expect then I would suggest it but there isn't anything amazing or stand out about this particular hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear SuzKim,

Thank you for your feedback. I must agree with you that staying at a Hotel in Wsashington DC can be pricey depending on when you stay. We are sensitive to value and try to stay competitive with our pricing. We will also pass your other comments to our team and to our Linen cleaning company. We strive to deliver a great Hotel Experience for all our Guest and your feedback has helped. Take care and we hope to see you again in the future.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City / Metro NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was back in DC for fall leadership weekend up at Georgetown earlier this month. I try and stay at Westin Georgetown because it's convenient to the Hilltop and to Dupont Circle on foot or by taxi and I prefer Starwood Properties for non-business travel. I arrived early and since my room wasn't available, Vikram at the front desk suggested I have some breakfast and he would see what he could do. Turns out that half-way through breakfast, he came down to my table, told me he found a room with an upgrade, and gave me my room keys. The room was spacious and comfortable. Great service, check-in, room, and check-out experiences.

The only negative that I can point to is that the front door experience was choppy. Taxis were always readily available, but some of the doormen were quite snobby. I only say "some" because the doormen in the morning were lovely and helpful ...d opening the door as I approached. The doormen in the afternoon, especially those in the grey would take one look at me and not make a move to help me with the door. I'm a big boy and can open a door for myself, but if they're waiting for me to wave a tip at them before they decide to help me, then they can get lost.

Vikram and his efforts at check-in made this stay a great one.

All in all, solid repeat stay at the Westin Georgetown. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear dcinjc,

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments and the ones about our evening Bellman were very helpful. We definitely do not want to send the wrong body language to any of our Guests and we will review your Comments with the whole Front Desk Team. Thank you for be a loyal guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Be Well,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I booked the hotel for 3 nights [during the Govt shutdown :( ] in a convenient location on the east edge of Georgetown. Within a couple days, there was an email from the hotel offering to arrange anything for the visit. I arranged for a bottle of wine the first night and it all went smoothly. Great service throughout.

The room was spacious (Deluxe King room) and everything in good order. Doorman/concierge were great. I didn't partake of the workout room but it looked sufficient, and unfortunately the pool was closed for the season (which I was ok with). Room viewed the inner courtyard but there's not a lot to see from the room in the area so it doesn't matter.

Great pre-communication, good service throughout, and then a follow up email. They did a great job.

Room Tip: This is a quiet area, no issue with where the rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Weekend with our daughter while she's a student at Georgetown U. Travel to DC often. Only the second time at this Westin. Was an unusually miserable experience so far. Arrived late. Tried their restaurant. It was 8:40PM in a Friday night and there were no other guests. Not a good sign. In attentive service even with only two tables of dinners. The scallops smelled fishy and the steak was thin and well done although end requested as medium rare. Just paid and left the restaurant. Have an amazingly small room. No towels or amenities. Staff said that must have been a late checkout and they had not had a chance to clean and restock. Front desk and management are not responsive or helpful. None of our subsequent experience was any better. I guess the management does not appear to feel any need to compete. Have stayed in dozens of hotels in DC. None have remotely been as bad as this one.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear RonTomp,

Thank you for your feedback. The Restaurants in the Hotel are operated by a independent Restaurant Company. They do work close with the Hotel to create a great meal experience for all our guests. I will pass your comments to them. In addition, we appreciate your feedback about our Housekeeping services and we will review your comments with our Team. Thank you again for your Feedback.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came to & NY celebrate our 25th anniversary. The 3 unforgettable nights in this hotel made our celebration even better.
The hotel did everything to let us fill special – they upgraded us to a superb suite – a huge one with a very nice decoration and an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was very big and convenient. The room was very quiet.
We liked the hotel location – very close to Georgetown and DuPont circle and in a walking distance of all key places such as the Mall.
The Check-in staff was very friendly and gave us good hints about the city.
Our package didn't include breakfast so we went to Bread and Chocolate at the corner.
We hope to return to this hotel to celebrate more anniversaries good as this one

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.