We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better in person than on the internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
westport ct
1 review
“much better in person than on the internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

i was positively surprised at how nice this hotel was and how much better it looked than on its website. the rooms were very modern and nice, and the location was great. by far the best part was the bell staff supervisor, amadou. my son actually cried when we left the hotel bc he "missed his new friend." amadou was great at entertaining them with wild stories about his home country and was just a very warm person who my kids instantly gravitated towards. the hotel is a great option in georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest Screenname 4623,

Your story and feedback about Amadou made me laugh out loud. This sounds like Amadou to a "T". We are very lucky to have such a loyal and personable Associate work at our Hotel. No surprise, but we get lots of positive feedback about our Bell Staff and they make our Hotel special. We are please that you and your family stayed with us and was able to bond with our Team. We hope your travels brings you back.

Take Care,

Peter Yeung,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    338
    87
    25
    9
See reviews for
238
251
90
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a whole week in this hotel. The location on M Street is great, Facilities are great. Service was superb. We had 3 rooms of varying sizes though so make sure to check the room. Mine, The smallest room wasn't so bad. Cabinet sizes supplied is acceptable too.

Room Tip: Typical heavy charge for Valet parking, use a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Westin Georgetown was a splendid hotel and location for a recent work-related conference I attended. I brought along my wife and 2 children. The hotel staff was attentive and accommodating. I would agree with other reviews that the hotel is actually not in Georgetown but was within walking distance to some great Georgetown shopping and eating. The metro is also within walking distance which allowed us to access many different DC sites. The meeting rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Georgetown Westin and would recommend it to others. Our room was clean, modern, spacious, quiet and comfortable. The locations was great, making for easy trips to the Mall tourist attractions, Georgetown or Dupont Circle. The subway was about 2 blocks away. The double decker tourist bus stop was about a block away. Cabs were always readily available at the hotel. The hotel has plenty of restaurants around, mostly hotel restaurants, but independent ones up toward Washington Square. We especially enjoyed Juniper, Blue Duck Tavern and District Commons. The hotel has two restaurants - Boveda (Spanish Tapas) and the Caucus Room (American). The margaritas in Boveda were awesome and they have happy hour with drink and App specials every afternoon - a great way to unwind after walking the city all day. Special recognition to Jeffrey, the concierge, who was always pleasant and had great tourist and dining recommendations. He was kind enough to facilitate difficult dinner reservations for us and it worked out perfectly! Only two disappointments - the pool does not open until after Memorial Day. When we were there it was about 80 degrees and we would have loved to gone for a swim after walking the hot city. I would encourage management to consider opening sooner. Secondly, the hotel charges for internet access and it isn't cheap. In this day and age, internet access should be part of the basic room services. You wouldn't charge me extra to watch TV or use the bathroom. People need access to the internet for business and communication and sometimes using a smart phone for access just doesn't cut it. Otherwise, an enjoyable stay!

Green Features: Very green - key must be inserted for power and A/C. We both liked and disliked this as we would like to come back to a cool room after walking around a hot city, but the A/C would turn off (or reset by housekeeping). Guests have option of a dining coupons if they opt out of room services.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. the rooms were wonderful, the staff very attentive, the banquet food was far above expectations and conference rooms were comfortable.
Personally I would not consider this in Georgetown but you could walk to Georgetown. There were always cabs available, which is a huge plus for DC hotels. i am not sure if this is regular or because the conference organizers made some special requests - I know that was the case one day when all attendees were heading to Capitol Hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for attending your conference at our Hotel. We are elated that you enjoyed the meetings and the Food served during them. We do have a designated cab stand and getting a cab never is an issue for our guests. We also offer pre-arranged Towncar and limo services if ever needed. Thank you for your feedback and hopefully you can come back for just fun.

Take Care,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a conference. The location was excellent not too far from the national mall and close to great shops. The hotel was great the staff was excellent. The room was great nice and clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear DanPedraza,

We are so pleased that you had a nice Conference at our Hotel. We hope it was not all work and that you had some time to see the City. Hope to see you again in the future.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is GREAT! Near DuPont Circle, near the Foggy Bottom Metro, near Georgetown per se, near Trader Joe's, near a 24-hour CVS, and I could go on and on and on.

We will be staying at the Westin Georgetown anytime we're in DC in the future.

That said, there were a couple of kinks. When we arrived in our room, I found a lovely view of the courtyard below - however, there was a greasy forehead print in the middle of the window, which completely grossed me out as we'd JUST arrived in the room for the first time - obviously, the print did not come from our foreheads! Yuck. And unfortunately, the forehead print stayed there for the entirety of our stay - five nights. The greasy print completely turned me off of looking out the window. Just, yuck. The other housekeeping item that we discovered upon checking in were three stowaways. Three large pubic hairs, in fact, in the commode room. Granted, they weren't visible unless you entered the room to use the toilet (and thus, shut the door), but they, also, remained with us through our entire stay. I know that the housekeeping staff most likely doesn't bother to close the commode door to check for "strays" much, but seeing the trio of pubic hairs there each time one used the commode was a bit disconcerting.

Next, a personal diatribe on behalf of women with long, thick hair everywhere: the huge (large, at least 8" square shower head) "rain-forest" shower head was horrible. There isn't a softer word for it: it stunk. Not enough pressure to penetrate thick hair, which means that my hair doesn't get completely wet and thus makes it hard to shampoo. Even harder to get the shampoo OUT. And forget about trying to condition, as the confounded thing is dripping water all over the top of your head (you can't really control the direction much) and thus washed away the conditioner. I declare, that shower took a verbal beating my first morning showering at the Westin. There is a little attachment that one could use, but honestly; that just added an additional five minutes to my shower time. All in all, a nice idea in theory but a ROYAL PAIN IN THE [--] in practice. Get RID of those stupid, useless shower heads. NOW. Rain shower? great, if it is the secondary shower head. As the only one available, it started all my mornings there off on a bad note. And forget about trying to shave in the shower underneath the darn thing. ARGH. Can you feel my frustration?

Back to the great: the staff, bar none, was exceptional. Every single staff member we encountered was above-and-beyond friendly and helpful. Great job!

We'll be back - and in the meantime, put normal shower heads in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Georgetown's shops and restaurants, Kennedy Center, Dupont Circle, and the White House, The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. is a refreshing choice for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.