We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel - great conference facilities and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Save Saved
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #21 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel - great conference facilities and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. the rooms were wonderful, the staff very attentive, the banquet food was far above expectations and conference rooms were comfortable.
Personally I would not consider this in Georgetown but you could walk to Georgetown. There were always cabs available, which is a huge plus for DC hotels. i am not sure if this is regular or because the conference organizers made some special requests - I know that was the case one day when all attendees were heading to Capitol Hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for attending your conference at our Hotel. We are elated that you enjoyed the meetings and the Food served during them. We do have a designated cab stand and getting a cab never is an issue for our guests. We also offer pre-arranged Towncar and limo services if ever needed. Thank you for your feedback and hopefully you can come back for just fun.

Take Care,

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    495
    335
    99
    39
    27
See reviews for
225
255
93
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a conference. The location was excellent not too far from the national mall and close to great shops. The hotel was great the staff was excellent. The room was great nice and clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear DanPedraza,

We are so pleased that you had a nice Conference at our Hotel. We hope it was not all work and that you had some time to see the City. Hope to see you again in the future.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is GREAT! Near DuPont Circle, near the Foggy Bottom Metro, near Georgetown per se, near Trader Joe's, near a 24-hour CVS, and I could go on and on and on.

We will be staying at the Westin Georgetown anytime we're in DC in the future.

That said, there were a couple of kinks. When we arrived in our room, I found a lovely view of the courtyard below - however, there was a greasy forehead print in the middle of the window, which completely grossed me out as we'd JUST arrived in the room for the first time - obviously, the print did not come from our foreheads! Yuck. And unfortunately, the forehead print stayed there for the entirety of our stay - five nights. The greasy print completely turned me off of looking out the window. Just, yuck. The other housekeeping item that we discovered upon checking in were three stowaways. Three large pubic hairs, in fact, in the commode room. Granted, they weren't visible unless you entered the room to use the toilet (and thus, shut the door), but they, also, remained with us through our entire stay. I know that the housekeeping staff most likely doesn't bother to close the commode door to check for "strays" much, but seeing the trio of pubic hairs there each time one used the commode was a bit disconcerting.

Next, a personal diatribe on behalf of women with long, thick hair everywhere: the huge (large, at least 8" square shower head) "rain-forest" shower head was horrible. There isn't a softer word for it: it stunk. Not enough pressure to penetrate thick hair, which means that my hair doesn't get completely wet and thus makes it hard to shampoo. Even harder to get the shampoo OUT. And forget about trying to condition, as the confounded thing is dripping water all over the top of your head (you can't really control the direction much) and thus washed away the conditioner. I declare, that shower took a verbal beating my first morning showering at the Westin. There is a little attachment that one could use, but honestly; that just added an additional five minutes to my shower time. All in all, a nice idea in theory but a ROYAL PAIN IN THE [--] in practice. Get RID of those stupid, useless shower heads. NOW. Rain shower? great, if it is the secondary shower head. As the only one available, it started all my mornings there off on a bad note. And forget about trying to shave in the shower underneath the darn thing. ARGH. Can you feel my frustration?

Back to the great: the staff, bar none, was exceptional. Every single staff member we encountered was above-and-beyond friendly and helpful. Great job!

We'll be back - and in the meantime, put normal shower heads in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Georgetown during the end of July 2012 with my mother who was in town for business. This is a great hotel, ideally located with easy walking distance to Georgetown and the city centre. I had a great experience, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially Amadou and Deenny who make a fun team. Because my medicine needs to be stored somewhere cold, I needed an extra refrigerator and someone delivered it at the room within minutes of my asking in the reception, at no extra cost.
I really liked that the the gym had towels, water and fresh apples available, and I think the breakfast was good, although I think it should have been included. Loved the patio outside the breakfast room. I think the 10$ per day rate for wifi is a bit much, but as long as the rate is the same however the number of devices, it's ok. All in all a great hotel and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Second visit in 18 months and once again the Westin Georgetown provided a very good combination of comfort, amenities and value. Very good bath and shower, great bed. The well equipped weight room was a step above the average hotel gym, with chilled towels and fresh fruit. Despite a $10/day wifi charge it is an excellent, lower-price alternative to the Park Hyatt across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I visited in August of 2008 while the hotel was under renovation. Loved the trademark Heavenly bed, loved the shower (so many hotels have issues with varying water temp & pressure), and the service was great. I would avoid DC in the swampy hot season, but we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear MJBOmaha_NE,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I does get pretty humid in DC during the summer but it does not stop people from visiting. I do prefer the cooler weather myself. Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you back soon.

Peter Yeung
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

One of the gems in the D.C. area. The Westin brand of the SPG chain is showcased well in Georgetown. reat hotel and highly recommended for business travel.The bathrooms are especially comfortable with the double shower heads it's always a treat! The distictive Westin White Vanilla aroma always makes me feel like I'm home.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great. the only location I don't like is the corner above the main entrance - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Luis T,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to comment on Trip advisor. Please reach out to us before your next visit and we will make sure you get the room type that best meets your needs. Take care and see you soon.

Peter Yeung,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Georgetown's shops and restaurants, Kennedy Center, Dupont Circle, and the White House, The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. is a refreshing choice for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.