We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel, disappointing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Standard hotel, disappointing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is in pristine shape, which it would have to be to survive in this neighborhood. Room was comfortable, but the thermostat just makes it look like you have control - you can't get the room cooler that 72 no matter how long you leave the AC on.

Biggest fail was front desk - I arrive at 3 and was told my room wasn't ready. OK - it happens. I waited in the lobby for about a half hour (there aren't many places in this hotel to gather or to work/wait) and saw 6 people check in and get rooms. There was a shift change and so I approached the new team and asked if there was progress on my room - they had no idea why I was told I had to wait. They got me a room right away.

The bell staff, the room service staff were both great.

Room Tip: M Street is probably noisier, but most all rooms overlook the side street which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Nate B.,

Thank you for your feedback. We were able to look into the check in situation and we apologize about the wait for your room. Additionaly, it sounds like there was some miscommunication during the shift change as well. I have passed on the information to our Front Office Manager. Our rooms have a energy conservation system called Evolve which helps control the room temperature and I have passed on your feedback to our Engineering team to check on it.
Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope your travels brings you back soon.

Peter Yeung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    349
    92
    25
    9
See reviews for
243
265
93
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was GORGEOUS! WE stayed over a weekend during the summer with our infant for a wedding. That said, we had the wedding rate which was greatly reduced.

The hotel staff had a diaper genie and crib there when we checked in. The beds were like clouds. They were prompt with replenishing our towels.

The wedding was absolutely stunning and the staff help pull it off seamlessly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Inauguration weekend. Despite what I'm sure was a full house, the staff never ceased to smile, often greeting me by name throughout the day. In over 100 hotel stays last year, this is the first time I've been contacted personally by a member of the staff prior to my stay asking if there was anything I needed and afterward checking in. That commitment to service showed throughout the stay. Very impressive and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I newly started staying regularly at this hotel (and my associate has stayed for many years), jumping ship from another near-by name brand. The reason is excellent service. It really makes a difference when you are away more than you'd like. Deemmy (am I spelling it right?) the doorman is the best in the business. Even the night I showed up late with a reservation at the OTHER Westin on M Street, the staff did not miss a beat and got me settled with a decent rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for two nights in January. Initially chose the hotel due to the many positive reviews concerning their pet policy, as we travel with a toy poodle. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The poodle was made very welcome, and a special dog bed was already in our room when we arrived, along with complimentary water, snacks, and a nice note (which included the dog!) from the staff.

The room was very large; it may have been originally intended for wheelchair access; very spacious and the bathroom was particularly nice. Very clean and lovely overall.

The staff, concierge, and everyone else we saw or dealt with was pleasant and professional without exception.

We will definitely be reserving rooms in the future.

The Westin is also very conveniently located if you're visiting a student at George Washington University. It's no more than a 7 minute walk across Washington Circle, despite the Georgetown address.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for a pre-Christmas weekend with 20 - yes 20 - other relatives. We had a fabulous time and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Every detail was covered and everyone - from the managers all the way to the folks working the early-morning shifts in the restaurants - went above and beyond to make our group (ages ranging 7 to 77) feel right at home. Thank you so much for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The overall experience was top notch - from the communication prior to our arrival to all staff while on-site. I would highly recommend this hotel! Even the gym was above average and offered more than the simple options for working out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ben L.,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are elated that your stay was top-notch. We are very proud of our gym and pleased that you had the time to experience it. Hope you had a great work out.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.