We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a Westin should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Exactly what a Westin should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

great property, low on features but excellent rooms, location and first rate amenities in room.

the square footage isn't extreme, but the decor and finish is all brand new.

good staff, humble but excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    361
    94
    26
    9
See reviews for
252
278
94
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our room was very hot and the AC did nothing to cool it down. We had engineering check it and they said that there was nothing that they could do.

The front desk gave us 2 free drinks as compensation for one of the worst nights I've ever spent in a hotel. Gee. . . Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Deenny is always on top of the flow of the entry way to this bustling hotel with a too small driveway. However, due to his diligence and professional manner, the place is always a comfortable reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Modern and serene throughout. Exceptionally comfortable beds. Rooms are soothing tone-on-tone brown/bronze/light green décor with beautiful European furniture. Large, attractive baths with a remarkable lit-from-behind mirror (must be seen to be understood) that takes a good 10 years off your face. Note that the room’s light switches require only a very gentle tap to turn fixtures on and off. Friendly, efficient, and proactive staff throughout.

Super location on a quiet, “gold coast” corner across from the Fairmont and Park Hyatt Hotels and the Blue Duck Tavern. It’s an easy 2-3 block walk down M Street across a bridge to Georgetown but with none of the Georgetown traffic or noise. I think this area and the Westin would be perfect for corporate and grown up travelers but less so for tourists or families with children. The Capitol, Smithsonian, and White House, e.g., are not nearby.

The Caucus Room restaurant (in the Westin) is attractive and serves excellent coffee and tea, but other menu items were unremarkable to us.

Cab prices: Capitol/Union Station $12-15 with tip; Smithsonian/White House $10-12. Foggy Bottom Metro station is a few blocks away. No one in his right mind wants to drive around Washington, DC. If you bring your car, whatever the hotel charges for parking, and whatever the restrictions are, just factor it into your trip planning and be done with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I just spent a lovely holiday weekend in the Washington, DC area visting our children and grandchildren. WE stayed at the Westin Georgetown and hyad a great stay. We were upgraded to an executive suite with a nice seating area, the beds were extremely comfortable and it was quiet at night. Sloane Aurelia in Guest Services at the hotel was especially helpful. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Hap Pareti
Ft.Lauderdael, Fl.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently spent the weekend at Westin. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially Amadou and Erwing. The room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I would most definitely stay at the Westin Georgetown again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Every year, my family makes our annual traditional Christmas trip to D.C. to shop in Georgetown, see the White House Christmas Tree, have dinner at the Old Ebbitt Grill and end up at the Downtown DC Holiday Market located on the sidewalk of F Street, NW between 7th and 9th Streets, in front of the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery. We try to stay at different hotels, mostly SPG properties. The Westin in our opinion rated as one of our top 2 stays over the past years. The location was great for everything we wanted to do. We drove our vehicle into DC and the GPS was accurate getting us to the hotel. Once at the hotel the 2 front doorman (Deenny & Amadou) could not have been any nicer helping us with our bags and joking around with our kids. They made you feel as if you were coming home. Once we unloaded we used self parking which was half a block away and was $34.00 USD for overnight parking (cheapest around the area). We have a Suburban which fit in the underground lot. Even better the elevator in the parking garage was connected to the hotel and puts you right in the lobby. When we checked in, the front desk staff especially Sloan, could not have been more pleasant and accommodating and were very expedient. The rooms were very clean, updated and spacious for all of us. We did not eat at the hotel or use the room service so I can't comment on that. The walk to Georgetown was a quick 7 minutes, .5 miles out the front door and directly down M Street where there was everything you could want from food to pharmacies. Getting over to the White House to see the tree and have dinner was a 10-15 minute cab ride at a cost between $10-12.00 USD. The Westin staff could not have been more accommadating, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend staying there with the family and will return next year.

Room Tip: when booking ask for an outside room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Y, Manager at The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay. Guest Service is extremely important to us and we appreciate your feedback. I will share your notes with our Team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays from our Westin Georgetown Hotel Family. Say Hi to your Kids for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.