We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, heavenly bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, heavenly bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Can't beat the location, 5 minute walk into Georgetown, and a quick walk into Washingtons attractions. The bed, as all Westins are was absolutely delightful. Concierge staff very helpful in booking airport transfers, would definitely stay again if in DC.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    343
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
240
259
92
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've stayed at several 4 star chain downtown DC hotels over course of the last two years and this past weekend's stay at the Westin Georgetown probably tops them all, First, I was able to secure a rate of $129 per night through Westin's website--great deal. Valet is $40 per day but totally the same at all types of these hotels. Even the Marriott in Woodley Park where parking is not a premium charges $30+. I liked the smaller feel of the Westin. The bellman upon greeting us promptly handed Westin "Kids Club" bags to each of my two tired kids stumbling out of the backseat. Nice sun hats, travel sacks and maps all made for a nice arrival. There are only 8 floors to the hotel and we were placed in a nice double bedded room on the 7th floor which is for SPG guests. Other than free water, I am not sure what this got us but the room, while a bit tight, was totally fine for the price. Typical nice Westin beds, LG flatscreen, Ihome clock radio. But the bathroom was by far the nicest I've seen in DC in a non-five star property. Separate shower and bath was great and a particularly awesome deep soaking tub which had incredible water pressure and heat (same with the shower). Nice service and hot apple cider available at all times was a nice touch. The lack of any coffee access (except a restaurant) outside of what was provided in the room was a disappointment. But there are many great options including Starbucks and a cool market where they make omlettes to order right across the street. Nice new bar inside the restaurant of the hotel. Gym looked great although I did not use (chilled washcloths in a refrigerator a particularly nice touch). The location was pretty good--close to Georgetown (about a mile walk to Wisconsin and M, the property is definitely not in Georgetown) and easy access to the mall. However, this part of DC is a bit boring and the closest metro is five blocks away. In sum though, I liked the smaller size of the hotel, attention to detail like keeping kids happy and the bathrooms were top-notch Four Seasons quality, even in a standard room. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Overall we liked the hotel. Very good location.
The only setback was that we did not have our room done and when we got back at 7:00PM we had to call the housekeeping staff to have them at least change the towels.
People on the entrance were very friendly, especially Deemmis who recommended us a place to have breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family and I checked in to find cookies and milk, along with a hand written note from the hotel's "Stay Ambassador", Sloane. Sloane had helped me with some logistics before we even checked in, emailing a week prior to see if we needed any special arrangements, tips, reservations, etc. We corresponded a few times, and Sloane was very helpful.

We were here for a family vacation and the location was pretty convenient. It's a quick walk from the Foggy Bottom metro stop, short walk to Georgetown shops and restarants, and there's a Trader Joe's around the corner, as well as a Whole Foods by the Foggy Bottom metro stop, which all proved convenient.

The hotel room was spacious, even the rollaway bed was comfortable. Other than hallway noise from other hotel guests going to and from their rooms, I didn't hear any noise, so it was pretty quiet. The staff was always helpful with recommendations and making arrangements. They have a nice workout facility and even had bikes they would loan us (none for kids though, so we didn't take them up on that offer).

They have a great energy efficient plan for their rooms, but the downside is you lose control over individual light switches, so the bathroom for instance, either had all the lights on, or none. Not a huge deal though, and I liked they eco-friendly effort. Would definitely stay here again when in the D.C. area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose this hotel to stay in during parents weekend at George Washington University. It was only a few minutes walk to the campus, and we were also just a short walk into Georgetown. Although the hotel does have parking for about $35 per night, we were able to find a spot BOTH nights on the street nearby. The hotel is very pretty, clean and is located near all the other finer hotels on every corner. The front desk and concierge service were very good. We did have a problem in our room with the air conditioner. The first night we did not use it but the second night it was so loud, it kept waking us up. I did let the front desk know but they did not offer us any compensation. We did call up for a cot as my kids dont like to share a double bed and the cot came almost immediately. The bathroom was very spacious with a private toilet area so more than one person could use it at a time. We did not eat in the hotel at all so I can not comment on that. Over all it was a nice stay. We got an excellent rate per night booking it many months in advance directly with the hotel so it was refundable if needed. I would defintiely come back to this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My family and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Westin Georgetown. We were impressed with the hotel and the friendly and attentive service by the entire staff - like Amadou and Haile, who always greeted us with a smile every time! The front desk staff was very helpful with our requests. They sure made us feel welcomed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and took great care of us. Amadou and Deenny were great and really went above and beyond. My kids had a great time and we never felt out of place. Especially my son, DJ.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.

Address: 2350 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel Better when you leave than when you arrived! A short walk or subway ride to The White House, Georgetown's shops and restaurants, the Kennedy Center, and Dupont Circle. The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Is a refreshing choice for travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Georgetown, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.