We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About the best bbq outside of Texas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Country Barbecue Market

Hill Country Barbecue Market
410 Seventh Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
(202) 556-2050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hill Country Barbecue Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #332 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between D and E
Transit: We are within walking distance of the red, green, yellow, blue and orange lines.
Description: Hill Country is coming to DC! Named "Best Barbecue in NY" by both New York Magazine and Time Out New York, "Top 10 Barbecue in the U.S." by the Wall Street Journal and "Best New Restaurants of the Year" by New York Magazine, Hill Country takes its "cue" from legendary Texas barbecue joint Kreuz Market and its distinctive dry-rub style. Hill Country's brisket, sausage, ribs and other meats are smoked low and slow over Texas post oak. The barbecue is served in butcher paper, counter-style by the pound, with traditional trimmings.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“About the best bbq outside of Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are Texans living in Florida. When we visited DC, we were thrilled to find real barbeque. We'd been missing it for years. We knew when we saw on the menu Kreuz sausage and Blue Bell ice cream that these folks had a clue. It was a delicious meal. My only word of warning is that you don't need to pay the extra $2 for the moist brisket because the lean still comes with a little fat and is perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    167
    77
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very tasty but yikes! expensive! for a self-serve place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had been hearing about this place for ages and since we are local, finally decided to check it out. Quite a surprise to find this large rustic eating place on 7th street right across from Oyamel!

We went on a Sunday afternoon: there was no wait and the sound was reasonable.

We each were given a meal ticket which described our various options. I chose the Brisket Chomp which turned out to be 3 slices of tasty beef brisket with 2 small corn bread muffins with cinnamon butter and 1 side (for me, Texas caviar); this was all for $12.50, which is high but not unreasonable.

My husband went the ala carte route, and that was his downfall. He chose several types of meats and 2 sides. They charge a high rate by the pound and somehow his meal added up to more than $50 with one beer! It was too much food -- and even though the "butchers/meal servers" in the back were showing him what he was ordering, he had no idea of the exact price. Beware and don't let your eyes be bigger than your stomach!

So you take the meal ticket to the back, the meat servers dish out your food, then you go to a separate section and they dish out your sides (also a little on the pricey side --$5 for a cup of beans?

Then you take the meat wrapped in paper back to your table and your server has brought some silverware.

I thought everything was quite good, although I was surprised there was really only 1 barbecue sauce choice (there is also a hot sauce but it was not barbecuey to me).

I think the secret to eating here and not losing your shirt is to take advantage of one of the specials (or stick to one of the less expensive combos). On Monday nights they have all-you-can-eat for $22. If you check the website you can see that not everything is included but it is a pretty good deal (wonder if you can go up multiple times?). There are specials other nights as well.

So, I recommend this place for the tasty food but do give the caveat that you are serving yourself and the costs can add up if you are not careful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't quite cut it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First off, this is really, really expensive barbecue. Compared to a top barbecue joint in Texas, it costs 2-3x as much. It is the best Texas style barbecue in the area, but you really pay a price for it. Nevertheless, there are several things wrong with it: 1.) They have strange dinners, such as the Brisket Chomp- 1/3 lb of brisket, two slices of white break AND two small but tasty cornbread muffins (?). The amount of meat is actually pretty small when you see it. Also, the $2 upcharge for "moist" is kinda ridiculous applied to such a small quantity. You're paying about $20 for a little meat, mostly beans (or whatever side you pick) and bread- see what I mean? 2.) The "moist" brisket is not that flavorful- it seems to get its moistness by cooking less, instead of using a more fatty brisket and cooking the same. I don't remember that being the case the last time I was there. 3.) The 8 oz. sides are too much for one person ordering by the pound. Small sides like the ones that come with the dinners are not available a la carte. 4.) The "burnt ends and beans" are long on beans and short on burnt ends, also different from the last time I had it.

My impression since the last time is that they are skimping on the food some; I don't have enough data points to know that that is a change in the way the food is prepared, or whether it was just luck of the draw. One thing is for sure, though: compared to getting good barbecue in Texas, this is EXPENSIVE, and nothing special, which is not to say that it is not special for DC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and i visited Hill Country Barbecue Market in DC on Friday, April 12, 2013. We were walking all day sightseeing and were looking forward to trying the barbecue. First off, we were surprised by the way the food is ordered. The waiter gives you a card with the menu and you go up to the meat station and side station to get your own food. Not a great start because we walked around all day sightseeing and really wanted to sit for awhile. But we decided to give it a try and after waiting 20 minutes for a table, we had to get in line for our food and there were about 8 people in front of us. You can order food by the pound or piece so we ordered half a pound of the lean brisket and 7 pork ribs. We actually got .78 pounds of brisket which was too much and not cheap either. We felt we had to overpay for food we didn't order. On the good side the lean brisket was delicious - really really good. The ribs for me were a mixed bag, They vary so much in size from small to huge end pieces - it is hard to know how much to order. they were good though. I like the regular sauce but the hot sauce oddly had little flavor other than the heat itself. We were not impressed by any of the sides which are also kind of pricey for what you get and not our preference. Overall, we would not go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cool joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

You get the authentic Austin bbq experience, or as close as you're going to get in DC. They also have a cool bar downstairs with live band karaoke. Great time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Country Barbecue Market also viewed

 

Been to Hill Country Barbecue Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Country Barbecue Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.