We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Quarter Sports Tavern

Penn Quarter Sports Tavern
639 Indiana Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-2906
202-347-6666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #660 of 2,498 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: near archives navy metro station
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were looking for a place near the National Archives to grab a quick lunch and it was in the perfect spot. They have indoor and outdoor seating. It was very hot that day so we chose inside. The service was quick, friendly and they were always there to refill our drinks. I had the tavern club. My son and husband had the french dip. We were in D.C. for a week and had eaten at a lot of different places for lunch. This was our favorite. The food was excellent. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    54
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Third Time NOT a Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, having been here twice last year. Bad mistake. First, it apparently didn't help that it was the first Sunday of the pro football season. I ordered the chicken sandwich. The chicken was overcooked and tasteless. It didn't help that there was more bread than sandwich ingredients. The one good thing was the tater tots, which cost extra. My huband did enjoy the steak sandwich and my daughter liked the sliders. Our server Allie was proficient, especially through the chaos of the football games.

I was disappointed in the place that I found worth visiting twice when we were in DC last year. Hopefully, when we visit DC again, the food here will have improved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and sports”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I had salmon for $13! It was cooked perfectly with lots of veggies and rice medley. We enjoyed the draft beer and watching the 49ers game, tennis and college football all at the same time. Totally our kind of place.
We enjoyed the fabulous, friendly service as well. We would definitely love to go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good find after a mammoth walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

After a long hot day enjoying the Washington, D.C. sights we came here for some mid afternoon snacks.

Not looking much from the outside we still decided to give it a try.

We shared nachos and onion rings. The nachos were good but the onion rings a dissapointmemt.

Very good service from a young girl who was really nice.

We would return but would avoid the onion rings!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good sports bar for a quick, reasonable price in downtown DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a long and very busy day around Washington DC the family needed a family friendly and low key place for dinner. The Capital Grille wasn't ready for us :-) the service was good and Wednesday night is 50% off pizza night. At $5 for a good size pizza for the kids my wallet said thank-you! My wife had the crap BLT and it was very good plus I had the chilli burger and it was good as well. The place was packed for a Wednesday and the beer specials are good. It is a sports bar and not the Capital Grille but for downtown DC with kids it was just perfect or us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Quarter Sports Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Penn Quarter Sports Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Quarter Sports Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.