We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find after a mammoth walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Quarter Sports Tavern

Penn Quarter Sports Tavern
639 Indiana Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-2906
202-347-6666
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #658 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: near archives navy metro station
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good find after a mammoth walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

After a long hot day enjoying the Washington, D.C. sights we came here for some mid afternoon snacks.

Not looking much from the outside we still decided to give it a try.

We shared nachos and onion rings. The nachos were good but the onion rings a dissapointmemt.

Very good service from a young girl who was really nice.

We would return but would avoid the onion rings!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    53
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good sports bar for a quick, reasonable price in downtown DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a long and very busy day around Washington DC the family needed a family friendly and low key place for dinner. The Capital Grille wasn't ready for us :-) the service was good and Wednesday night is 50% off pizza night. At $5 for a good size pizza for the kids my wallet said thank-you! My wife had the crap BLT and it was very good plus I had the chilli burger and it was good as well. The place was packed for a Wednesday and the beer specials are good. It is a sports bar and not the Capital Grille but for downtown DC with kids it was just perfect or us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick bite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place as long as you don't expect it to be what it isn't. We ate outside and the service was prompt and attentive. Food was good and portions were big. The chicken wings were moist with just the right amount of heat. Burgers and French Dip were both good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent to stop for a quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food was very tasty, the service was excellent and the beer was lovely. Will definitely be going back. Great atmosphere and full of locals, always a good sign in my book. Great value too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food Cold beers Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place... Burger was great... Beer was so cold.. But what the heck no budlight? Really? Who doesn't carry budlight? Bad service I had no clue who was my server? They were all kinda busy hanging out with each other. But i guess it's a sports bar, right?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Quarter Sports Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Penn Quarter Sports Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn Quarter Sports Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.