We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Point Chaud Cafe and Crepes - CLOSED

Point Chaud Cafe and Crepes
1736 14th St NW, Fl 1, Washington DC, DC 20009-5082
202-588-8877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: My review: Fantastic and original Crepes, the brunch Crepes were delicious and the price was a lot less than what we thought it would be. Very friendly staff, the food was very European. This place is a must for breakfast!
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stopped in after dinner for sweet crepes and were a bit disappointed. The staff was very nice, but one person received the wrong order and had to have hers remade. My crepe sounded so good, but the apples were almost raw and would have been much better if cooked so they softened up a bit. Now some might not complain but the nutella crepes included SO MUCH of the thick brown stuff that even my child with a terrible sweet tooth thought it was overkill. Maybe the savory crepes are better?? Not sure I would venture in there again to find out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pompano beach florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of eating a fine chamois clutch purse.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Of course I engender a little guilt in being so harsh. But you know every time I walk on the wild side with crepes be it in Charmoix, Paris (Fr.), Algeria, or exotic Epcot, I come away yearning for more.

Point Chaud Cafe @ 1012 14th St. NW offers 54 - Count 'em - 54 selections, unfortunately prepared ( with the freshest ingredients ) by two gentlemen at only two stations.

"Smith - A party of 65" (us), arrived in staggered lines (post wedding). There are about 30 seats to accommodate the teeming masses. Do the math ... it works, but with difficulty. Beverage orders - also a plethora of choices is, delivery wise, fraught with indecision for both the 1-2 waiters and clients.

I chose "Savory" Sautéed Spinach ( caramelized onions, sun dried tomatoes & herbal feta cheese.) My crepe would make Popeye a strong sailor.

In my next, next life ... I'm opening a Crepe joint. This place is making a fortune.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I had breakfast here twice during a four day stay in D.C! Just a short walk from our hotel on 14th Street (but not a long enough walk to justify the chocolate banana crepes, but oh, well), it was a fun and delicious way to start the day. On my first day: Spinach/Black Olives/Tomatoes/Artichokes/Feta ($7.95); Second Day: Feta/spinach/mushroom ($6.45). BF got banana chocolate both days ($5.45!) Coffee was good, too! The crepes are just the right consistency and size. Ingredients are fresh. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dessert Crepes....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Large selection of crepes ranging from breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert crepes. Great service. The Dessert crepes were the favorite...nutella and banana. Would go back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge selection of awesome crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I stopped in one morning for breakfast, looking for something a little different. So happy we did. The crepes were just awesome. For my son, it was his first time having crepes and he was so happy. He gabbled his up. The crepes are a good size with nice, fresh ingredients. All of us enjoyed our meals. They also have great, illy coffee. They also have some other options including muffins for breakfast.

I imagine it's also great for lunch as their crepe menu is gigantic. Desert as well since there are so many sweet ones.

Prices are very reasonable for the amount of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Chaud Cafe and Crepes also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Chaud Cafe and Crepes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.