We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lots of rules.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capital View to your Saves list
Capital View
301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location but lots of rules.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights with my partner in a private double room. The location is 5 minutes from the useful and cheap DC circulator bus, 15 minutes from the Amtrak station and only 20 minutes to the White House.
I enjoyed my stay here but the rules are strange. No food in the rooms and must be left in the kitchen clearly labelled, however some of my food was stolen or eaten by other guests and the staff didn't seem to care. There are also signs everywhere reminding you that if you break any rules your credit card will be charged.
The roof terrace is great for relaxing or eating dinner and the common area is good for socialising.
The area is a shortwalk from Chinatown, it's fairly noisy at night though. Lots of people on street corners arguing with each - this woke me up at 3am on most nights.
Overall, it's good value for money and the beds are very comfortable. Just make sure you label your food carefully and follow the rules.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
1
12
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at Capital View Hostel in a double private with shared facilities. Let's start with the plus points, the location is fantastic only a 15 minute walk from the Amtrak station and within a 20 minute walk of the White House. All sights are walkable and there is a large Safeway just a couple of blocks away, we didn't take any public transport the entire time we were in Washington. For a centrally located hostel the price was fair. Now for the bad points, there are many. The reception staff were useless and when we questioned the bill they didn't even know what the tax rate was. If you decide to stay at Capital View prepare for the 10 commandments, no shoes, no eating in the rooms, no drinking in the rooms the list goes on and on. There are 2 daily room inspections and if you break any of the commandments you will be fined $10 or a whopping $50 if you open the door for somebody else. If you break the no food in your room commandment you will be put on the 'wall of shame' Yes although it is sad, but true there is a 'wall of shame' in the kitchen. Although the rules are there for a reason they were forced down our throat 24/7 and even though we booked a private room we were continually interrupted by pathetic room inspections. In all of the hostels we have stayed in throughout the world we have never had so many rules and regs. If you want to be treated like a teenager this is the place to stay. If it wasn't for the great location this would have easily been one of the worst hostels we have stayed in.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

1. They changed our room reservations upon arrival so our group was no longer bunking together.

2. I walked into my room to discover a gray-haired man masturbating on his bunk.

3. Some people wore only underwear in the rooms, the halls and bathrooms.

4. There was a fight outside my window at 2 a.m. with screaming and a crowd cheering them on. After 30 minutes, I called the police. (Why didn't the hostel staff? It was literally, literally directly in front of my window.)

5. When we decided to not stay for our second night for the above reasons, we were told that despite our experience, there was a strict 24 hour cancellation policy so our credit cards would be charged for the second night anyway. We've tried to communicate via email with the manager to no avail so far.

Room Tip: I will never book a hostel again after this experience. My tip is to not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A group of us traveled to Washington in late April 2013. We were expected to land in Washington at around 6pm and take a taxi/public transport to this hostel. Unfortunately our flight from Paris, France directly to Washington D.C. was delayed by 4.5 hours. As there was no public internet option on our Terminal in Roissy airport in Paris we could not notify the hostel about coming later and ask for late check-in. The flight took more than 8 hours, then we had to wait 2 hours at Immigration, hence further delay. Immediately once we got internet access we e-mailed, messaged and phoned to hostel that we shall arrive shortly - it was about 9pm, however noone responded or picked up a phone. Nevertheless an hour later we arrived to hostel and the reception was already closed. There seemed to be noone who could let us in or confirm our stay. No emergency number, no message on the door, no response to our phone calls, e-mails and messages. We had to wait about an hour in front of the building and waiting for anyone to open the door. Eventually we went to the nearby Hampton Inn hotel with significantly higher prices and purchase a night there.
As we had initially booked two nights we came back the next morning. A guy on the reception of this hostel was in no mood of discussing with ourselves what actually happened the evening before. He only repeated that we didn't let them know about 'not coming', hence they left reception in the evening and that was it. We tried to explain it was NOT our fault, we tried to call them million times and we really came to the hostel. We had no chance of claiming our money back, the guy was referring to 'no show-up policy' which is totally not applicable in our case because we really got the hostel and its front door, knocked heavily and tried to get inside.

After a series of e-mail exchange with hostel representative and a number of messages with Facebook owner of hostel page we could not get any satisfaction or refund for the first night which we were not let in and had to spend elsewhere for additional costs. This remained as very negative experience for us with this hotel and its staff/management.

The hostel itself is very strange. No shoes policy is a little weird, there is not enough slippers for everyone so be prepared to wear different types/sizes (they are very often mixed) or bring your own. The kitchen is open so you can smell the food everywhere - this can be inconvenient sometimes. There is NO fun at all there - no music, no events, nothing in the evening hours so either you need to spend evening and night out or stay silently in your room and sleep. Bathrooms are generally OK but can be overcrowded and you need to wait a queue to wash your hands!

The only advantages of this hostel is (i) its location and (ii) low prices. If you don't care about staff, other people and fancy things to do and you generally look for a cheap bed in city center, this shall be your choice. Otherwise STAY miles away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Washington DC, and we greatly enjoyed our experience of the city, so much so that we spent a very minimal amount of time at the hostel (arriving back at 22:30 and departing at 08:00 each day). At first, the hostel did seem very strange, as we were shown to it by an extremely kind and helpful man who literally walked us from the station for no other reason than to be nice, and he was immediately told to wait outside if he wanted to speak to us and that we could only go outside and speak to him once we had fully checked in (presumably for security reasons however we felt this was excessive, as he had also provided the hostel with extra business along the way, as we met an Austrian traveler who he convinced to stay and attend the 50th anniversary of the MLK speech). Once checked in, we were informed that we were not allowed to wear our shoes on the premises (equally strange), and we were then provided with pairs of white spa slippers and told to put our shoes in one of the racks beside the door. Our room was alright, we slept well enough but the air conditioning seemed to be on some kind of hyper mode, as it was like stepping back into Scotland when entering the room. The kitchen facilities were decent, and the living area spacious enough, although we didn't spend much time there at all. Overall, we probably would stay here agan due to the good location and cleanliness of the rooms, but it was a very odd experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location was not too bad and most of the main sights were within walking distance. Nice common area and a good kitchen so we were able to cook when we wanted to. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had lockers in the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
The bathroom was right opposite our dorm and the extractor fan in there was so loud you would not even believe it... so we got woken up every time someone went to the bathroom in the night and it was generally really annoying. It was also very noisy outside with police sirens at night. The hostel also has a no shoes policy which was a bit weird as you are just meant to leave your shoes in their downstairs cupboard. I wouldn’t have minded but I didn’t feel comfortable walking around barefoot / in slippers in the kitchen when people are rushing around and cooking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

everything about this hostel was disappointing! upon arrival my friend and I were asked to take our shoes off (something I have never experienced in any hostel before) we were shown the stairs and told verbally that the communal kitchen was location down the hall, however the next morning while having our breakfast another staff member was giving a full guided tour to other guests!! when we entered our private room we noticed that it was extremely stuffy and hot, when we went down stairs to ask if the aircon was on in our room, a staff member said "yes" when we mentioned it was very hot in there...she followed us in and agreed then said we will get someone to look at it (which never happened!) we also noticed others wearing 'slippers' and another guest asked if we got any...which we did not!! (not that I was overly concerned-they look ridiculous!) the beds are extremely uncomfortable and every morning around 6 am we were woken to laughing and screaming from outside our window (this hostel backs onto a carpark). we also saw rats run across the front yard and whilst in our room heard scratching from within the walls-presumably the rats!

but what really convinced me to write this review was an incident that happened on our last night here when we noticed the staff members eating our food (which was placed in a proper bag Packaged etc) that we accidentally left in reception upon arrival. when confronted they simply said "oh well you should have labelled it" we also left a poster down there (which we were told the boss had taken home with her) you would think they would notice us leaving something as big as a poster and a giant pink bag upon arrival!!

stuff are rude and if you're planning on having a few fun nights in Washington don't think you'll get it here, they don't plan any activity nights and you are not allowed alcohol on the premises!

would never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.