We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither great nor terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capital View to your Saves list
Capital View
301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001   |  
Hotel amenities
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Neither great nor terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I really can't quite decide where to stand with Capital View.
Clearly you can't rival the price for the damn near perfect locations, or it's proximity to Union station or the little extras that were given to us over 4th July.
But the hostel seems to be lackingiffin atmosphere and has some odd rules. I'm all for the shoes off at the door (it's a great way to keep the place clean) but there seemed to be a lack of consistency amongst staff. We were not provided with slippers whereas others were. We were kindly asked to remove our shoes upon arriving, we witnessed others being rudely told off on arrival. We consistently removed our shoes, others wondered around with theirs on carefree. Its only a small issue but inconsistent none the less.
I, personally, couldn't fathom the "no food in rooms" rule. I understand not taking your dinner etc to your room on plates, but I felt like I was under surveillance if I so much as had a bottle of water or apple in my room! I understand that this is, again, for cleanliness but it makes for an uncomfortable atmosphere.
Talking of atmosphere. There isn't really one. The hostel doesn't provide a communal breakfast and rarely arranges evening activities so everyone seems to float. I'm not one for partying or making life long friends but the place just seems to be missing something.

Our room was a private and very basic (bunk bed and wardrobe) and we shared a bathroom with 3other rooms. Or so I thought. It seemed that other people had decided our bathroom was nicer and joined the queue, meaning we often had to wait 30-40mins for a space. If we had stayed longer than 3 nights I would have complained.

The location is the biggest selling point for me. You are at the mall in just 20mins, 5mins from union station and 10 mins from the Capitol. It's a slight misleading description that you can see the Capitol from the "roof terrace"...perhaps if you lean over and squint between the trees and buildings. The terrace was a bit of a let down for me. I had heard that it had been recently renovated but it looked very sorry and worse for wear. It's certainly no garden of Eden. But perhaps a lick of paint and regular bbq events may increase its appeal?

Capital view wasn't a bad place. It's in a great location and offers a brilliant price. It just needs to tie up some loose ends with a good coat of paint and a bit more fore thought.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
1
12
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here on recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed. The hostel is ideally located close to key attractions such as the capital building, White House and union square. Staff were very friendly; showed us to our room, gave us directions and printed of documents we needed for free. The bathrooms are clean, however the hostel could do with a few more toilets as I often had wait in line. Bedrooms are very clean and spacious with plenty of output sockets for both lower and upper bunk beds. This hostel is not a party hostel, it is very quiet after 11pm and it would probably be frowned upon by fellow guests if you came back drunk screaming and shouting. All in all this hostel was a good find for us as we were in Washington solely to visit key attractions.

Room Tip: Get a mixed sex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights (wanted to stay longer but was booked up) and on the whole was a good experience. The rooms are clean (not allowed to wear shoes so its extra clean), bathrooms nice, but its major draw card is its location- only 10minutes walk to all the major touristy things. We just walked everywhere saving money, as we never had to catch buses or the metro.

Things I didn't like:
-The employees who "greet" you at the door and show you through the hostel... We only dealt with 2 of them, and I didn't like the experience at all. The guy and girl were not approachable and I didn't like them being around. On many occasions we heard them being blatantly rude to guests who asked questions or had to double check on some of the rules (of which they were quite a few).
-The kitchen is nice but is missing too many things- they need some more utensils, plate, cups. Also they need to invest in tea towels. A small thing but really annoying not have when cooking.
-Beds- ours had broken springs, leading to uncomfortable nights sleep.
-No real "hostel vibe"- no breakfasts, dinners, activities. Everyone just goes about their own business.

So all in all a clean hostel in a good location- just don't expect great service or comfy beds.

Room Tip: Showers on the top level have terrible water pressure so try to shower on the mid level. Take of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are always staying in this hostel. Once being treated exceptionally well, we are life-long guests of this place(:
Great things about the hostel:
+ The nicest staff ever! Very friendly, helpful, understanding.. We were running late for checking in...as our bus from NY was in the traffic jam... and we called up the hostel, they waited for us and were very patient and understanding of our situation and didn't even charge us for the late check-in ((((: they always can help in picking places to eat, sights to see, transport to take.. Very nice people to deal with.
+ The place accommodates a lot of people, but it's always very cozy and peaceful
+ No-shoes policy. You feel like home! It also makes the place very clean.
+ Computer corner, free wifi. You can use one of the computers downstairs in case you don't have one/you lost one/you are out of charge or what not...you are welcome to use theirs.(:
+ Clean kitchen to store your food, to cook, to dine.
+ Nice lounge to meet other people, to rest, to watch a TV (if you want it at all)
+ BEST location in DC! In walking distance from the Union Station, close to China Town - where you can find any place of your taste to eat breakfast/lunch/dinner -, close to main attractions, museums and of course Capitol! So it's kinda "CapitOl View Hostel"
+ Amazing cozy roof terrace! Very romantic...with a view on Capitol - nice for summer nights...
+ The bathrooms are clean if YOU clean them after yourself. So please expect to leave the bathroom in a condition you would like to see when you step in.. Don't be lazy (: the staff is cleaning them of course too. But not after each guest, ok?...(;
+ Lockers. Well, it's hard to call it "lockers" but there's a space on the second floor where you can leave your belongings - it's very helpful! Especially when you check out in the morning and have the whole day to spend outside before leaving. We always have a night bus to home back home, so it's nice to have a place to leave our bags at (:

Thank you Capital View for making our each stay the best!

Room Tip: Best match price/quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Like
I think that the location is good because is close to the places you want to visit on a vacation trip. The place is pretty clean. There are bathrooms for a single person, not costumes.

Dislike
I wish there was the proposal of group activities as in other hostels.

Room Tip: Location in Washington is very importante, because is a city to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Capital view hostel is super cheap and about 5minutes walk from Chinatown and 15-20mns from the main touristy things you need to see.The room was clean and the bunk-bed was surprisingly comfortable.the upstairs bathrooms looked dodgy but you can't complain for the price.I would advise you bring a lock for the locker provided if you want to store important stuff.Overrall I was quite please with my stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I wish we spent more money and went to a hotel. This hostel wasn't unbearable but it was very average. We had a private room. The bunks were horrible and the room was average. The showers were very temperamental (hard to get hot water). There were lots of rules e.g. no shoes, no food and drinks in the room etc (this might be standard? but we never experienced this at the other hostels we stayed in). Also, there is no late check-in. Their were positives e.g. location was good, there was free wifi and the facilities e.g. kitchen etc was well equip. I can see how this is a good youth hostel but as a couple of travelling I wish we spent more and got a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.