We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot complain.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital View

Save Saved
You added Capital View to your Saves list
Capital View
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capital View
301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001   |  
Hotel amenities
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I cannot complain.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booking.com got me a bed in a mixed-gender 4-bed room for $36 tax included. There was only one other occupant on the Friday night I stayed.
This is one block off Massachusetts Ave. It's walkable to plenty of attractions. A bus stop for the Circulator route is not far away.
I arrived after sundown. The hostel really is the only building on its side of the street. Signage is limited to the classy looking plaque at the entrance. Parking is street only and limited to four hours max. The $15 lot is at their other location. I was fortunate to arrive after parking enforcement hours. I would have to start paying at 7:30am. The muni-meter is in front of the hostel, so that wasn't too inconvenient.
House rule: no shoes on inside. The owners made Ikea one happy store, for most everything in the hostel came from there - the shoe drawers at both entrance doors included.
The entrance door for new guests has a camera staring down at you and the office window right there as a second way to eye up who is at the door. Guests are given an access code to get in the side door. That's how you get in your room, too. All rooms have modern, code-based entry systems.
The common area has a couple of couches and three computers. The musical ambience will be provided by whoever is on duty and whatever they are playing in the office. Bathrooms are on each floor. I counted one downstairs and two upstairs. They all seemed clean and in good repair.
The guest room had two sets of bunk beds. There are lockers in the room. Bring your own padlock. A wifi booster was outside my room. I didn't try using the hostel's wireless. The linens and towel were clean. Aside from the hair on the pillowcase (bottom side), I saw nothing alarming. As stated before, Ikea made out like a bandit. I have no complaints about the quality of the sleeping quarters.
I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is quiet. No room is going to be any noisier. If you are near a bathroom and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
9
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was in the process of moving overseas and spent one night in this little place. It looks a bit spooky on the outside, but the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and the bathrooms were fine. I didn't use the kitchen as there are some great restaurants around, and the wi fi worked the entire time.

It was a bit expensive for a hostel, but the staff was wonderful--especially because I had huge boxes traveling with me and they allowed me to keep them in the lobby, saving me from taking them up 3 flights of stairs.

I didn't know about the rooftop lounge, but I was only there for an overnight stay and left very early in the morning. For a quick visit to DC or a layover, this hostel is more than adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed at better hostels in DC for less. The rooms are a bit dumpy for what you pay - pretty beat up, broken glass, etc. The bathrooms are decent, and the internet connection is good though. The worst part is the woman who checked me in ripped me off. I had already paid a deposit, and a booking fee, but she made me pay the total price on top of that. After a long flight it was not worth hasseling with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Little expensive for what we got, but not a bad hostel. Kitchen was well equipped, there was a nice communal area - and people always seemed to be around there to chat. Rooms were decent (three of us stayed in a four bed dorm and the roomie we had with us was friendly). Bathrooms were small for the amount of people using them, but reasonable if you can handle mixed showers/toilets. Location was a little out of the way, 15 minute walk to the nearest subway. Also they don't have keys to the room, they have codes. We found out that they don't change these codes very often, so we had a friend staying in the room we stayed in before us and the code was the same! So not sure how tight they are on security.
The rooftop is what would make me visit this hostel again - you could take your dinner up to the rooftop and sit looking out over DC in the evening. Perhaps would look elsewhere for a better price though next time. Somewhere that lets you keep your shoes on!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the Capital View for 6 nights with a batch of 13 peers for a working trip in Nov-Dec 2011.
Good: The building is nice outside, and the floor is clean. Wifi was ok in our room. We also got to use the computers in the lobby. The bathrooms are clean, there are also decorative flowers and pictures – I always love to see those things in a bathroom. I always went out in a group, so I didn’t feel sneaky going through dark streets as said in other reviews. Even when we went back to the hostel very late at night, I didn’t see prostitutes or suspicious people around the building as complained in other reviews. The security was fine for me, we had password for the back door. We used the kitchen only once, it was neat in the refrigerator. Everybody had to pack their food with their name on a label outside. We had a lot of fun sitting and talking in the kitchen having our late snacks.
Bad: The staff we checked in with was so sluggish. It was frustrating to wait when we arrived in a big group and late in the evening. When we needed help during their working hours, more than once we did not find any staff in the little office near the main door. One of the bathrooms did not have hot water, I had to shower in cold water for the first time – you just can’t change to another bathroom easily when you have already started the shower and everybody else is occupying other bathrooms! That was obviously not a lovely memory. Hope it has been fixed.
So the bottom line is if you are looking for a place to just sleep for a reasonable price, this is not too bad a place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in a twin private room for 4 nights which cost $400 after taxes. This is an outrageous amount for a hostel of such poor quality and I wouldnt pay half that.

The only positive I can think of is that the location is ok and it's quite easy to find once you get used to the weird way the Washington streets are set out.

The room was basic but fine at first glance only to later realise the air con was set too cold and with no way to change it we were freezing half the time. This is a problem you would think could easily be sorted which brings me to my next point.

The office hours say 10am to 10pm. Now for the whole time we were there, the only time there was someone in the front office was when we checked in. There was no way to get in contact and never anyone there over night. Shambles.

We asked about doing some laundry, the guy said come ask the front desk and they will help. Our clothes were soaked due to a downpour so it was pretty desperate. After the first two days of nobody being there we went across the road and paid more money.

Finally the toilets were fine but there was not enough of them. If you get a room on the top floor, the water takes 5 minutes to warm up in the showers!

Advice- pay a little bit extra (not much) to stay in a better place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

An ok place to stay if you have no other choice. The rooms and beds were all fine. The bathrooms were ok but kind of gross and it seemed like there weren't enough bathrooms for the amount of people staying there. Also they make you take your shoes off before coming inside which is a pain. My friend and I were late checking in because our flight was delayed and so we were charged $40 for checking in 3 hours late.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View

Address: 301 I St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Capital View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.