We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn - Room with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Elmsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hilton Garden Inn - Room with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in March of 2013. Had a room with a view of the CSX Mainline. This is a very active line and many trains pass by. If you are not a railfan or have worked for a railroad you want an interior room as opposed to one with a view of the CSX mainline. The meals at the Buffet (Breakfast) and at the Bar and Restaurant were freshly prepared and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    258
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
212
133
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Not Saying, Afghanistan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The people were friendly and supportive. I found that staff people just passing by in the halls were quite cordial and interested in helping out their visitors. The rooms were a little tight but that is to be expected of DC. The work out room is ok, but could have benefited from more machines.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had an opportunity to spend 3 nights in this beautiful hotel lately with my friend. We were two hours early for the check in but that wasnt a problem. Our room was amazing,with two huge fluffy kingsize beds, a big flatscreen tv, coffee machine, iron and ironing board and so on. The room was tastefully decorated and also included a guide to washington dc,which turned out to be helpful since it was our first visit. The bathroom was clean and big. The hotel swimming pool and hot tub are nice, it can get a bit noisy at evenings with children but still. Staff is incredible, absolutely all of them, chatting with us in the lift and being helpful. What was really important to me is the fact that they treated us with the same respect and kindness as everyone, though we are quite young compared to their usual clients and we experienced attitude due to that in many places. I have only great things to say about this hotel and will come back if I get the opportunity for sure. Big like!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear janakovac,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review and for sharing so many details about our amenities with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, respectful and kind. We know you have many hotel options in DC, and are sincerely grateful for your business.

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon!

Warm regards,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del. russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our 2 young kids and overall it was a great trip. Every person we talked to was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The neighborhood felt safe and it was only a 2-3 minute walk to the NoMa Metro stop which was nice (and only one stop from Union Station). There's a grocery store basically next door, as well as several restaurants and coffee shops. The only thing we weren't pleased with was the pool. We specifically made sure to stay somewhere with a pool for the kids and only used it once. It was VERY salty (not the typical chlorine smell/taste you'd expect), very small, and very murky. We chose not to use it again. Otherwise, this is a great choice. We would definitely consider it if we were to visit DC again.

Room Tip: We were put on the top floor, but on the wrong side of the hotel to get a really good view of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Candice N,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughtful and detailed review of your experience with us. You touched on many of the amenities that make our hotel so popular with families on vacation during Spring Break and Cherry Blossom season. You’re right about our pool water tasting salty. Instead of traditional chlorine, we use salt in our pool to keep the water clean and clear. It is more environmentally friendly. However the water should not be murky. I apologize for that inconvenience! That happens occasionally during periods of very high usage but the water usually clears up again during the quiet overnight period. Our engineer has verified that the filter system is working normally.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and I hope we will see your family again soon!

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
General Manager
david.del. russo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Location is great. About 12 min walk from the Amtrak station. Hotel was pretty new. Great customer service. Chris the front desk clerk impressed me with his professionalism. I witnessed him handling a not so pleasant situation calmly and with grace. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

There are not many hotels in the NE section of DC. Most are in the NW area. We wanted to be as close as possible to our son's apartment in the NE. This hotel was only thirteen blocks away and was a very reasonable cost compared to many other hotels and non of those were as close as this one. I chose the free breakfast over points and this was a good choice as the breakfast was otherwise $15. You could order eggs or omelets any way you wanted and there was plenty of bacon and sausage and just about any thing else you could want for breakfast. We were lucky to have parking at our son's place, a big problem in DC especially during cherry blossom season. The room was very nice and clean. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This Hilton Garden Inn definitely exceeded my expectations! I loved the modern décor and location next to the red line metro. Breakfast was delicious & the staff was very friendly! I would recommend anyone to stay at this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.