We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Only a couple of a metro stops from Union Station, this small, quiet and friendly hotel was great for our family's vacation needs. Our package included breakfast which made our mornings easier and they had a pool for our sons to relax in after a day of sightseeing. The hotel is clean and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
668DavidD668, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mother Burns,

Thank you for your short but sweet review – and especially for the “5” rating! We appreciate that more than you know. I am very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and the hotel clean. And I hope we will see you in DC again soon!

Sincerely,

David Del Russo
david.del.russo1@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    302
    87
    27
    25
See reviews for
259
154
48
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I chose this hotel for myself and three other women to stay for the Nike Women's Half Marathon in DC. Right from the start the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, modern and had a fresh and welcoming aroma. The metro is just around the corner, making access to all the monuments and sight seeing very simple. The neighborhood itself has a few options for food and grocery shopping. It was quiet for the most part, however. Not much street noise, except on Friday night when the nightclub across the street was active.
The restaurant in the hotel had great food and drinks. We ate there several times throughout our stay. My only complaint is that their hours seemed a little off and it was hard for us to get anything to eat on a Sunday afternoon. A little strange for a weekend crowd.
Overall, it was a great place to stay and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After our stay this past weekend at the Hilton Garden Inn/US Capitol, I just had to take a minute to post a review...I hardly ever do this!
Our experience was exceptional. Jessica did a great job arranging our rooms and handling some of the last minute changes that happen when travelling with a large group of people.
Will was incredibly accommodating with suggestions on great places to eat and directions on which way to go.
Lastly, the ladies at the front desk Teemon, Nikita, and Malory where awesomely hospitable. Even the security guard that welcomed us back every night was great!
The rooms were incredibly neat, clean and good sized...new facility. The hotel/bar was also very classy!
Kudos to the staff...you run a top-notch hotel and I will certainly pass along my comments to anyone that might be travelling to the Washington DC area in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for a price that we thought was very reasonable! The hotel was really nice & modern. Nice pool & indoor spa! There is a mini convenience type store in the foyer. Room was really modern, clean & nice! The place next door does 'sub' sandwich style food & was fantastic! Metro station a 5 minute walk away. Starbucks & a really good supermarket are close by. Would be more than happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Newer hotel. Cheaper than most this nice. It was a little ways from the Mall but not far really. It is literally a 2 minute walk to a Red Line Metro station, so everything is just a 10-15 minutes away. There is a nice grocery store and Starbucks next door so we had everything we needed for a comfy, value stay.

We had upgraded to a view room, and sure enough, we had a great view of the Capitol dome. Also it faces into a u-shaped courtyard and is very quiet. Shielded from disco noise but open to view of the dome.

The valets, bell hops and front desk people were mostly hard workers and friendly. Upon arrival they grabbed our bags quickly and parked the car, got us a room on top floor right away even though it was a Friday and it was only noon. Over the three days, some of the other staff were average. The lobby is a little cramped. The elevators fast though. The pool and work out areas were very nice. We did not eat at the restaurant because the reviews were average and there were too many great options in DC.

The room was nice. A little small but not too bad. Two things we didn't like were that there was no tub and the light for the bathroom was on the outside of the room in the hall. The safe didn't work when we got there, but maintenance came within five minutes and reset. There were no other issues with anything the rest of the trip. The towels and linens were all fresh and soft.

Room Tip: Upgrade to view room to see the Capitol plus it puts you on the side of the building away from the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I arrived mid-day for a three day stay. Was informed my room was not ready, but that they would check me in (swiped credit card) and keep my bag. I told them I would be back late. When I returned at 11 I was informed they had not honored my reservation, the hotel was completely booked, and they would be sending me out to their College Park, MD hotel. It was only after I threatened to inform their superiors that they had sent a single woman in a leg cast 45 minutes away in the middle of the night that they miraculously found a room. Why did they put me through that in the first place? I would never stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here recently while on a business trip to DC. Overall the hotel was very nice although rather expensive.

Pros
- Location. Easy walk to the White house and the mall. Plenty of great restaurants in very close proximity. Nice part of town.
- Plenty of rooms. Despite the fact that it was cherry blossom season, we were able to get rooms for a relatively large group of people. Despite the size, it was large enough in the common areas to not feel crowded.
- Service. The front desk, restaurant/bar staff and the guys out front were all very helpful
- Gym. Very nice. Lots of the stuff you want in a gym.
- Hilton Executive Suite. Good breakfast. Not a whole lot of selection but certainly enough to get you going in the morning.

Cons
- Still trying to sort out an issue with my bill. I blame this on Hilton and not on the hotel itself.
- Small rooms. For the price I was paying, the room should have been bigger and included a mini fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the internal courtyard to keep the noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#78 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#21 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.