We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very new and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel is very boutique, not you usual Hilton, being quiet small it has a unique nature about it. It is located a little out of the action however in a nice part of town, a short walk from Union Station. It is quite new and the room is very comfortable and a good size.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please come back and see us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    297
    84
    26
    24
See reviews for
251
153
47
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel has a good location, and it feels like a straight forward, no-nonsense option. They have a microwave and a coffee machine in the room, and the mini fridge is empty, so it's perfect if you want to get your own food. They have a 24h pantry at the lobby with any essencials you may need. Rooms are clean and well furnished, and the heating system is great.
Just don't rely on the vending machines and on their dry cleaning service. They have a laundry room you can use, I should have done it myself. The vending machine ate my quarters and the dry cleaners didn't send back a piece of clothing, and was not at all professional about it.
Anyway, the restaurant is great, and so is their breakfast buffet. Definetly coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

Thanks so much for taking time to review our new hotel! I am so happy to hear that there are so many things you enjoyed but also sorry that you experienced challenges with our laundry services. If you were not reimbursed for your missing shirt by the dry cleaning company we will be happy to do so. Please contact me directly and I will personally handle for you. I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our daughter lives a few blocks away so this hotel is very close. This Hilton Garden Inn is just fantastic is so many ways. I'll start with the staff because this is often the weakest area in a hotel but here it was the strongest. Everyone and I mean everyone on the staff was on point all the time showing us one of the most professionally run operations we have ever seen. We asked for a quiet room but for those who like excitement, request one facing the road and club across the street and you will have plenty to watch. The rooms are very neat and clean and the beds are firm and comfortable. A/C and heat worked great and there is complimentary WiFi which works exceptionally well. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and safe which are important. Having the supermarket next door is perfect. Plenty of coffee and tea in the AM, and lemonade and tea in the afternoon in the lobby. Nice sitting area on 2nd floor.

Our only issue was lack of hot water one morning but the staff told us they were fixing it and by the evening it was fine. Hey, anyone can experience a mechanical issue so we easily give them a pass on this. We parked at our daughter's apartment which is nice because parking is always an expensive option in any big metro area.

We did not eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: Like excitement? face the road, like quite? face the back or go way up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I agree with other reviewers - for the price this was a good hotel (including the $30/day parking fee, since we mostly left the car and took the subway everywhere).

There is no place to park your car as you arrive and check in - there's 1 spot right on the street, so checking in was pretty hectic - you're checking in, worrying about your car, unpacking the car all at once. Be prepared for that - we asked for a cart and that worked out well.

There is no food (breakfast, etc) however in the morning there is coffee and hot water for tea and hot chocolate in the lobby. This hotel is right next door to Pot Belly, and 2 doors down from a coffee shop with TO DIE FOR Belgian waffles with chocolate chips (served with butter and whipped cream - YUMMY!). McDonalds is approx 1/2 block away and the Metro (MoMa / New York) is about 1 block away. Also, the hotel is right next door to a nice supermarket - perfect for fruit, snacks, etc. Very convenient!

The neighborhood is ok - I didn't feel unsafe at night, but I wasn't out very late. Around 10pm there was a huge line to get into a nightclub right across the street, and those kids were really dressed nicely, so it wasn't a scummy club, but a pretty exclusive-looking club (at least based on how everyone was dressed).

The desk staff was ok - said "hi" every time you walked by... No one can get to the rooms without a key, because the elevator won't move until you swipe your key. The workout room was nice (nicer than usual) and the pool was ok - smaller than expected and the whirlpool wasn't working, but it was a good place to hang out for a bit.

The hotel bed was hard, but I slept really really well, so it must have been ok. The room was small but had a microwave and small fridge. Our view was of windows into office buildings.

All in all a good stay and I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a detailed review of the hotel. I noticed that you mentioned there is no food in the hotel; however, we do have a full service restaurant and bar on our 2nd level that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I am happy to hear that you will stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a good place for a short stay. We stayed for two nights and my overall feeling is that the place is very good value for money. The place is not exactly a hotel so it does not have a big reception or even a restaurant. Or at least I haven't seen one. The staff at the reception are rather aloof and this could be intimidating for visitors like me who are accustomed to polite and friendly hotel staff in Asia and Africa. The wireless in the room was free and it is also possible to grab a cup of coffee by the reception. The rooms are spacious and neat. The only reservation I had is that parking is very expensive at USD 39 per night but I am told that is the case for most hotels there. Finally the hotel could take a bit more effort to clean the space at the entrance as it is littered with dog poo and it is not a good site to see when you go in and out of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We live in the area, but were going to be in DC for a special event and thought it would be a nice treat for the night. When we made our reservations for 4 people, the person I spoke with assured me that we would have a room with a view of the Capitol. When we got there the room didn't have a view like we were promised (the main reason we stayed there). The front desk tried to make adjustments, but the only rooms with a view of the Capitol had king sized beds. So to make it work we had to squeeze a roll away in between the wall and the bed...not very comfortable!! And the only view of the Capitol was of the tip top...Very Disappointing!! The hotel is very nice, and the staff are very professional!! I would definitely stay here again, but if I wanted a view of the Capitol I would leave the kids at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel during the week after Christmas. We had a GREAT experience there. We have 2 children (9 & 6). It has a indoor pool with hot tub/jaccuzi. The pool was a little smaller that what the pic was on the hotel website, but other than that my kids and I enjoyed it. The rooms was adequate for what we needed with a small fridge and microwave to use. The beds were somewhat uncomfortable for me and my husband, but not extremely so. The staff were always professional and curtious. The valet parking was pricey but that was the same everywhere we checked in DC area. The hotel is nicely located next to a grocery store (Harris Teeter) and that was great to have so close. The hotel does not offer complimentary breakfast, but Harris Teeter offered a hot breakfast, lunch , and dinner bar with full salad bar too. We were able to eat breakfast for under $20 each day. They also had a nice eating area as well. There is a Starbucks on the next block across the street and also a good deli shop next to hotel too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#75 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#75 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.