We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #46 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is a little bit off the beaten path - NOMA is a very much upcoming area and there isn't much as far as restaurants and the like.

HOWEVER -

STAFF - 5 stars.
BAR - 5 stars
FOOD / VALUE in bar - 5 stars
BREAKFAST - 5 stars


I travel about 200ish days a year. This property is a breath of fresh air, and as a Hilton Diamond (with a giraffe) - i don't say that very often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for ranking us 5 STARS all around! We love our Diamond members and I thank you so very much for your loyalty to Hilton! Hurry back soon!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    231
    55
    20
    19
See reviews for
200
119
37
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The customer service and staff was some of the best I've experienced. The bed was uncomfortable. Okay value for the money. Quiet neighborhoond. Starbucks nearby. Proximity (next door) to a good supermarket (Harris Teeter) that serves buffet meals a plus. Really easy to reach from the Metro line (NoMa station). The weekend rates were very reasonable. Don't know if I'd pay that amount for weekdays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thanks for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our adjustable beds, but I am glad that overall you had a great experience!

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

You aren't going to get good value in.DC, so you may as well get good service. They have a very helpful staff who greets you with a smile. The Harris Teeter next door saved us during Hurricane Sandy. If you need a hotel in the Noma district, this is the one to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even through Hurricane Sandy! Come back and see us again very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed here - very nice - 1 block from metro station. Nice room - requested back of hotel away from nightclub that is across the street at the front of the hotel. Very quiet and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was wonderful - excellent food and reasonable prices. Everyone who worked there was very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. In-laws were with us, and the hotel was able to give us rooms next door. Even my in-laws who are super-picky enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello!

I am so happy that you had such a great experience and also relieved that your super picky in-laws enjoyed their stay as well! :-)

Come back and see us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in, with spacious rooms and terrific service, from reception to room service. I personally believe this hotel is so under-rated. Certainly worth the money, and is very close to a subway station just around the corner. It is also conveniently located near a super market, which is open 24 hours. What else do you want ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello!

WOW...thanks for giving us a 5-star review. We love our beautiful hotel and our beautiful NoMA neighborhood, and I am happy that you agree!

Have a great weekend,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent the weekend (2) nights here in October. I was in DC on business. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its one block from the red line, one stop to Union Station and therefore Capitol Hill, and easy access to K Street via the red line. There is a starbucks across the street from the hotel, a full service grocery store and pharmacy next door, The buildings are new and fresh. I did not notice any issues of security as others have mentioned. There's a night club just across the street but apart from being a little busier out there I didn't see any issues, hear excessive noise as you would have done outside any UK club !

The hotel itself is bright, fresh, and clean and must be only a couple of years old. The rooms are also clean, bright and what you would expect from a garden inn. Bathroom and shower were good and usual Hilton standard. Breakfast was good and also free if you're a Hilton Gold member as I am. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The price was a little high, but a lot fairer than rates at other DC hotels. Valet parking is $30/day which is a bit steep but again less than you would pay in London. All in all, exceeded expectations. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good Day!

I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations all around! Come back and see us on your next trip to DC.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is located in an up-and-coming area. The front desk (and valets) are super friendly. I asked for a quiet hotel room and got one. The room itself is large but not set up to be user friendly. If you are sitting at the desk, you cannot get to the easy chair on the other side of the bed. If you do not close the door to the bathroom, when you come into the room, you will walk into the bathroom door. The closet is not wide enough and the hangers kept hitting the door. Other than this, the room was just fine. Valet parking is $30 a day. Right next door is a Harris Teeter (a food market and pharmacy). It is large and you can purchase hot food items (like a buffet), have subs made up, pizza, etc. Be sure to sign up for one of their store cards to save money.

I am not sure I would want to be walking around at night in the area that this hotel is but during the day there is no issue.

It is about 5-6 blocks to Union Station which is here you can catch the bus tours. Once you make it that far, you are pretty close to everything else and if you are able, you can walk to most of the attractions.

Unfortunately, we had to cut our trip short because of Hurricane Sandy.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. We stayed in room 522 which looks into a courtyard of the condos next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello!

Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that you had to cut your trip short due to Hurricane Sandy, but I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy DC if even for a short while.

I hope that you will choose our hotel on your next trip to the District of Columbia!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.