We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #51 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“New Hotel, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

You aren't going to get good value in.DC, so you may as well get good service. They have a very helpful staff who greets you with a smile. The Harris Teeter next door saved us during Hurricane Sandy. If you need a hotel in the Noma district, this is the one to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even through Hurricane Sandy! Come back and see us again very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    269
    67
    21
    22
See reviews for
223
141
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed here - very nice - 1 block from metro station. Nice room - requested back of hotel away from nightclub that is across the street at the front of the hotel. Very quiet and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was wonderful - excellent food and reasonable prices. Everyone who worked there was very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. In-laws were with us, and the hotel was able to give us rooms next door. Even my in-laws who are super-picky enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello!

I am so happy that you had such a great experience and also relieved that your super picky in-laws enjoyed their stay as well! :-)

Come back and see us again soon.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in, with spacious rooms and terrific service, from reception to room service. I personally believe this hotel is so under-rated. Certainly worth the money, and is very close to a subway station just around the corner. It is also conveniently located near a super market, which is open 24 hours. What else do you want ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello!

WOW...thanks for giving us a 5-star review. We love our beautiful hotel and our beautiful NoMA neighborhood, and I am happy that you agree!

Have a great weekend,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent the weekend (2) nights here in October. I was in DC on business. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its one block from the red line, one stop to Union Station and therefore Capitol Hill, and easy access to K Street via the red line. There is a starbucks across the street from the hotel, a full service grocery store and pharmacy next door, The buildings are new and fresh. I did not notice any issues of security as others have mentioned. There's a night club just across the street but apart from being a little busier out there I didn't see any issues, hear excessive noise as you would have done outside any UK club !

The hotel itself is bright, fresh, and clean and must be only a couple of years old. The rooms are also clean, bright and what you would expect from a garden inn. Bathroom and shower were good and usual Hilton standard. Breakfast was good and also free if you're a Hilton Gold member as I am. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The price was a little high, but a lot fairer than rates at other DC hotels. Valet parking is $30/day which is a bit steep but again less than you would pay in London. All in all, exceeded expectations. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good Day!

I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations all around! Come back and see us on your next trip to DC.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is located in an up-and-coming area. The front desk (and valets) are super friendly. I asked for a quiet hotel room and got one. The room itself is large but not set up to be user friendly. If you are sitting at the desk, you cannot get to the easy chair on the other side of the bed. If you do not close the door to the bathroom, when you come into the room, you will walk into the bathroom door. The closet is not wide enough and the hangers kept hitting the door. Other than this, the room was just fine. Valet parking is $30 a day. Right next door is a Harris Teeter (a food market and pharmacy). It is large and you can purchase hot food items (like a buffet), have subs made up, pizza, etc. Be sure to sign up for one of their store cards to save money.

I am not sure I would want to be walking around at night in the area that this hotel is but during the day there is no issue.

It is about 5-6 blocks to Union Station which is here you can catch the bus tours. Once you make it that far, you are pretty close to everything else and if you are able, you can walk to most of the attractions.

Unfortunately, we had to cut our trip short because of Hurricane Sandy.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. We stayed in room 522 which looks into a courtyard of the condos next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello!

Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. I am sorry that you had to cut your trip short due to Hurricane Sandy, but I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy DC if even for a short while.

I hope that you will choose our hotel on your next trip to the District of Columbia!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed four nights-flew into National, one change of Metro to the Red Line station about half a block from the property. Short Metro to many areas, easy walk to Union Station and the Mall. Gallaudet University is about a ten minute stroll. Lots of restaurants in the immediate area, plus a great grocery store with huge take out selection. Rooms are nicely furnished (fridge and microwave), large bathroom, very helpful and attentive staff. And one less thing, prices are substantially lower than other DC hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am so glad that your stay was a success and also that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent three nights here in October. I was in DC on business.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its one block from the red line, one stop to Union Station and therefore Capitol Hill, and easy access to K Street via the red line. There is a starbucks across the street from the hotel, a full service grocery store and pharmacy next door, etc. The buildings are new and fresh. I did not notice any issues of security as others have mentioned. The National HQ of ATF is around the corner. This is not an issue. its also on the BWI side of town making that airport a more convenient option.

The hotel itself is bright, fresh, and clean. The pantry is well stocked. There is a nice sitting area on the second floor. The rooms are also bright and what you would expect from a garden inn. The hotel is very well designed.

The staff at the hotel is top notch. Its first class in every way. They know how to smile. They know how to make you feel comfortable. And its infectious, from the housekeepers to the front desk to the bellman. They do the little things right, like the iced tea in the afternoon in the lobby and the eagerness to give directions. This is the best staff from top to bottom I have seen at a Garden Inn.

The only area for improvement is the restaurant. I had lunch there the first day. The food was slow to come out and I had to tell the waitress what I wanted about 3 times because she wasn't writing down the order. The next night I came into the bar for a sandwich about 830. The bartenders were not with it. Again, the food was slow to come out and it was not fixed correctly. No one even checked with me about whether my order was ok. I thought it was just the bar, so the final night I attempted to try the dining room again. I waited 10 minutes and no one took my order for even a glass of water, so I just left. Normally this consistent disappointment would make me give a lower rating as I tend to be a tough grader, but the staff and the location were so great I am giving a favorable bounce on the rating.

The price was a little high, but a lot fairer than rates at other DC hotels.

All in all, exceeded expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a descriptive review of your stay with us. I am so happy that overall your stay was great but I do apologize that your dining experiences were less than perfect and I am following up with our team so that we can retrain individuals in our food & beverage areas. I look forward to meeting you and ensuring that your next dining experience with us is 100% satisfactory.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.