We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Splendid Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/Splendid Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed four nights-flew into National, one change of Metro to the Red Line station about half a block from the property. Short Metro to many areas, easy walk to Union Station and the Mall. Gallaudet University is about a ten minute stroll. Lots of restaurants in the immediate area, plus a great grocery store with huge take out selection. Rooms are nicely furnished (fridge and microwave), large bathroom, very helpful and attentive staff. And one less thing, prices are substantially lower than other DC hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am so glad that your stay was a success and also that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    258
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
212
133
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent three nights here in October. I was in DC on business.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its one block from the red line, one stop to Union Station and therefore Capitol Hill, and easy access to K Street via the red line. There is a starbucks across the street from the hotel, a full service grocery store and pharmacy next door, etc. The buildings are new and fresh. I did not notice any issues of security as others have mentioned. The National HQ of ATF is around the corner. This is not an issue. its also on the BWI side of town making that airport a more convenient option.

The hotel itself is bright, fresh, and clean. The pantry is well stocked. There is a nice sitting area on the second floor. The rooms are also bright and what you would expect from a garden inn. The hotel is very well designed.

The staff at the hotel is top notch. Its first class in every way. They know how to smile. They know how to make you feel comfortable. And its infectious, from the housekeepers to the front desk to the bellman. They do the little things right, like the iced tea in the afternoon in the lobby and the eagerness to give directions. This is the best staff from top to bottom I have seen at a Garden Inn.

The only area for improvement is the restaurant. I had lunch there the first day. The food was slow to come out and I had to tell the waitress what I wanted about 3 times because she wasn't writing down the order. The next night I came into the bar for a sandwich about 830. The bartenders were not with it. Again, the food was slow to come out and it was not fixed correctly. No one even checked with me about whether my order was ok. I thought it was just the bar, so the final night I attempted to try the dining room again. I waited 10 minutes and no one took my order for even a glass of water, so I just left. Normally this consistent disappointment would make me give a lower rating as I tend to be a tough grader, but the staff and the location were so great I am giving a favorable bounce on the rating.

The price was a little high, but a lot fairer than rates at other DC hotels.

All in all, exceeded expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a descriptive review of your stay with us. I am so happy that overall your stay was great but I do apologize that your dining experiences were less than perfect and I am following up with our team so that we can retrain individuals in our food & beverage areas. I look forward to meeting you and ensuring that your next dining experience with us is 100% satisfactory.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and it was wonderful! The staff are terrific -- every staff member we saw said hello to us. Cedric checked us in and couldn't have been nicer. It was our 25th anniversary and we were treated very well -- from the wine and flowers to the heart made of Hershey's kisses! Thank you all so much :)

The hotel was exceptionally clean and everything looked brand new. Very convenient to get to the metro around the corner. Breakfast at Tynan's Tea down the block was great! (the hotel does have breakfast). A couple of smaller places to eat on the block as well but no real dinner restaurants besides the one in the hotel.

The neighborhood is definitely up and coming. All the buildings looked new and you can see more of them going up.

The club across the street definitely draws a crowd on weekend nights. There was some kind of college reunion weekend going on when we were in town so there were a lot of people outside the club. They didn't bother us and we did see police presence but, nothing bad was going on. We had a room in the back (nice view of the Capitol building) and never heard any noise.

Our only complaint was that the hotel bar closed at 10:00 - even on weekends. We like to have a drink when we get back to the hotel at night and there are no other bars in the neighborhood. They told us the hotel bar is packed at lunch time and happy hour but once the business people go home, they are quiet. My thinking is that the hotel bar should be somewhat geared towards hotel guests. We were not the only guests there at 10 who were disappointed that it was closing. That's the only reason I am not giving 5 stars. Other than that, we loved this hotel!

Room Tip: On weekends, ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

I am so glad that you loved our hotel so much! Also, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Please hurry back and see us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in late September. We chose it because of its proximity to Union Station. We found it to be a lovely hotel. Our room was one of the nicest we've ever had anywhere. It was quiet, clean, spacious, and elegantly decorated. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I am so glad that you loved our hotel so much! We are very proud of new modern hotel and proximity to the Red Line Metro and the Capitol Building is a great benefit to our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I spent quite a bit of time researching hotels near the Washington attractions. Our first impression was that this hotel is not what it appeared to be in the photos online. The hotel is not in the best neighborhood for anyone that is going in and out of the hotel after dark. Homeless people frequent the front of the hotel. The staff were great and accomodating. I requested a late check out and they were happy to make those arrangements. I then decided to extend my trip by a day to be able to accomplish more research and the staff were also very helpful extending my reservation. The room was comfortable and clean with a small fridge and coffee pot. The lobby provided coffee in the mornings and lemon water in the afternoons. The pool was cold, but we enjoyed the hot tub. There is a nice work-out room next to the pool.

The restaurant is contracted. They have limited hours and absolutely NO SERVICE. It was ridiculous. The actual food was very good, but the staff were so distracted doing their own things, socializing, etc, that the few patrons in the restaurant were not receiving service. I would not return to this restaurant regardless of how good the food was. Also I called down for room service from this restaurant - I asked what their specials were - the female that answered the phone stated "I don't know". She was put out that I had called. I asked her if they were closed or getting ready to close - she stated no. I should have not ordered, but the options in the neighborhood at night were limited. The service/personnel in the restaurant do not reflect the attitudes of the staff working the hotel. I found all staff members to be polite and helpful. I would have liked to have been able to give a higher rating because of the staff. Unfortunately, the location and lack of restaurant service/availability were significant drawbacks to this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize that you experienced challenges with our restaurant. I have shared your comments with our restaurant team so that we can take steps to ensure every guest is satisfied, every time. I do hope that you will give us another chance to prove our commitment to your comfort.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
700 reviews 700 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rates are not as gentle as the introductory ones. The street however has even more attractions. 1. Starbucks. 2. Very close to the train station is the National Postal Museum which is free and surprisingly fun.

I still liked it but lowered my rating as a function of the price/value mix because the price went up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello!

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our brand new neighborhood Starbucks and also the Postal Museum by Union Station. Hurry back soon to see more openings in our rapidly changing neighborhood!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

It's 3am and I've been trying to get to sleep since 10pm after an exhausting day of sight seeing. The hotel is directly across the street from the Ibiza nightclub that plays house music until 3am. They have to 'pat down' the patrons who enter and there are several cop cars parked in front all night long (if that gives you any idea of the clientele the club attracts). When the club finally closes at 3am hundreds of drunk people spill into the street and there are police sirens, fighting, swearing, horn blaring. I'm awake and having the worst nightmare. The staff downstairs are indifferent. What's the point of having a comfortable bed if you can't fall asleep? Also, I'm on the third floor. Only 4 rooms on this floor. It's near the pool and housekeeping and the entire floor reeks like chlorine and bleach. It's been a horrible stay which is a shame because the rooms are clean and comfortable. If you're looking for somewhere to get some rest GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello,

I am truly sorry that you had a negative experience regarding noise from outside the hotel. I would like to note that just because there is a nightclub next door does not mean that the area is dangerous. We take guest safety very seriously and increased police presence in the city during the nighttime hours is appreciated. Please contact me directly so that we can further discuss, but again I am sorry that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.