We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was a tad unsure about this hotel because of its location-north of Union Station. I lived in DC ten years ago, and at that time this would have been a dicey neighborhood. Boy was I surprised! The area the hotel is in, NoMa, is definitely evolving for the better, with new apartment buildings, restaurants and stores. I loved this hotel-it was brand spanking new-bright decor, and everything was spotless. The Red Line Metro is just around the corner and there is a huge grocery store/pharmacy right next door to the hotel. Rooms had a refrigerater and microwave, which was nice, and the beds were very comfortable. Excellent coffee provided, a personal beef of mine with many hotels. I wouldn't travel on foot more than a few blocks in any direction from the hotel at night, but during the day, it's fine anywhere. My only complaint was the TV. Choice of channels was limited and very male-oriented-four ESPN channels, golf, and very little else besides local channels. And it took almost 8 seconds for channels to change from one station to another. This is really minor, however, and I didn't think it was worth complaining about. If they had served a free breakfast, they would have gotten five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very proud of our new and exciting neighborhood, and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the surroundings. Thanks Again!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    280
    74
    23
    23
See reviews for
234
147
42
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this property Oct 2 through Oct 4, 2012. Hilton Honors Gold. On the evening of October 3rd I arrived back to my room (1002) and found blood spots on the mattress sheet followed by a bed bug. I alerted the manager on duty who quickly moved me to a new room, fulfilled my request to launder my non dry clean only garments and said the general manager who contact me. During checkout I had to request my clothes and asked for the general manager. The front desk agent took my business card and said the general manger would call me. 24 hours after finding beg bugs at this new property I have not been contacted.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We respond to all feedback and concerns very seriously and treat them all thoroughly, specifically ones that are related to bed bugs. Our hotel has a strong relationship with Ecolab, a nationally recognized pest control company, who is on call with us 7 days a week for preventive measures, treatment and inspections. Ecolab was at our hotel the very next afternoon and completed a professional inspection of the room and fortunately did not find any evidence of bed bugs. We have forwarded you a copy of that service ticket to your email address we have. We are very happy that since we opened in April 2011, we have not had any confirmed instances of bed bugs. Thank you again for your feedback, this serves as a reminder that the ongoing training programs we have here at the hotel are very important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Although it's hard to put my finger on just one thing, this hotel got so many of the little details absolutely right. I had a bright, comfortable, and large room with a well-lit bathroom, lots of spaces for sitting or working at a desk, and access to fast complimentary internet, a great business center, and a pool I actually enjoyed working next to on my laptop. I really appreciated that I could just pop down to the business center and print a few pages, without hassle or any extra charges. Not having to weigh charges for every little extra certainly factored into making this Hilton feel more like home than any other hotel I've stayed at in the memorable past.

The immediate neighborhood of the hotel is also great. The New York avenue metro is very closeby; the excellent Harris Teeter grocery store next door is open late and the Tynan coffee shop one door over also provides some of the best customer service I've seen at a coffee shop. I actually found free street parking across the street and noticed some free 2-hour and 4-hour spots on N ST less than a block away even though most of the neighborhood parking is metered.

As a longtime DC resident, I thought I knew all the hidden hotels in the city an usually prefer to stay at smaller boutique hotels. This Hilton actually managed to provide that kind of experience and more. I'll seek it out again next time I need a place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello,

WOW...that you for such an incredible review! Please come back and stay with us again very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is brand new and spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, the hotel is in a fairly convenient location : less than 5 minutes walk from Gallaudet U Metro Stop and from the Greyhound terminal. It's also only a 15 minute walk to Union Station and relatively convenient to walk to downtown, if you are a good walker. A taxi ride here in the evening from just about anywhere is quite reasonable too.

There's also a Harris Teeter Grocery and Pharmacy right next door + a microwave and bar fridge in the rooms so that can provide some cheap meal options.

That said, the immediate neighbourhood is obviously only recently being gentrified and so the streets are kinda deserted at night and there isn't much to do right nearby in terms of restaurants or shops. Another issue is the noise from the big nightclub across the street (only an issue on Friday and Saturday nights from 10pm to 2am). If you are planning to stay here on one of those nights and want to sleep before 2am then try to get a room away from the nightclub. In my case the staff were super helpful and moved me to a different room before the second week-end.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "away from the Ibiza nightclub" if you will be staying here on a Friday or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello!

I am so happy that you loved the hotel so much! I am also happy to hear that the team was so helpful. I do hope you choose our hotel when you visit DC again.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a pleasant stay, the hotel location is great, staff are super friendly and the rooms are perfect.
The only con would be that it is a small hotel with not much big facilities. I loved the DIY laundry though, as laundry can get really expensive in some hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks so much for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. Come back and see us soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn during a long weekend trip to visit the sites. We were 3 adults and one child. The hotel decor was bright, the towels and linens crisp and new, it felt as though the hotel was brand new. Enjoyed being close to the metro although it was easier and cheaper to take taxis. Not sure the surrounding neighborhood would be safe to walk through at night, but the area just around the hotel is fine. Also, you need your card key to use the elevator which made us feel secure. There is a large supermarket on the corner which was great for picking up snacks and toiletries. The pool was very small so don't go for that. The restaurant was pretty good but expensive. The hotel is easy to get to from the Beltway which was nice since everyone told us we'd get lost driving into DC. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a loud nightclub across the street so request a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good Morning,

Thanks for taking a moment to review your stay with us. I am thrilled that you will stay with us again! Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

High School Graduation gift to our son was a trip to any State that he wanted to go. He chose Washington DC. After looking at their website, we selected the Hilton Garden Inn DC/Capitol. The staff at the hotel made us feel so welcomed. The rooms were clean and comortable. It was a good location in walking distance of Union Station and siteseeing bus transportation. It also had a really nice grocery store located next door.

Room Tip: Do not chose a room facing the Nightclub located across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello!

I am so glad that you chose to stay at our hotel for your son's graduation trip! I hope that you had a chance to see all of the beautiful sights in Washington, DC. Come back and see us soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.