We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, We Would Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #54 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Monmouth County, NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Yes, We Would Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel itself was great. It may be a little far of a walk to areas in the National Mall, but can be done. There also is a Metro very close by, however, we didn't use it. The Metro adds $1 to each paper ticket so a $1.70 fare becomes $2.70 per person if you use it. The rooms are clean, updated, and comfortable with very metro decor. Beds had nightlites for reading and adjustable softness/hardness. We were upgraded to a King suite and the added room was so nice to have. It was a corner room with 3 windows. Our girls slept on the pull-out couch and said it was comfortable. Don't know if I would recommend that for an adult though. We also liked that this hotel offers a 2-bed option with Queen beds, not double....rare find today...which we originally booked. The elevators are quick and quiet. Every person we came in contact with, from the front desk, to maintenance, to car valet, was friendly, helpful and professional...exceptional service! Cookies and ice water and iced tea were put out in the evening. Coffee is available during the day. This hotel is also right next door to a supermarket which came in very handy. Its overnight valet ($30 plus tax) is also a little cheaper than the closer hotels which could range up towards $40. We walked home one night from the Monument and for the most part felt safe, except for a road or 2 but that could have been the path we took not knowing the city (dark with no lighting). It took about 45 minutes. The Capitol is closer obviously but can't comment on what the the length of the walk would be. We walked to the International Spy Museum which took about 20-30 minutes. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that. We really enjoyed our stay there. You can tell they really appreciate you choosing to stay with them and let that shine through at all levels or service.

Room Tip: There's not a lot of stuff to look at but I would request a higher room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hello!

I am so glad that you loved our hotel and received "exceptional service!" Also, it means so much to us to hear that our appreciation shined through; we are very proud of our product and team and are excited to let our pride show.

Have a great week!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    258
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
212
133
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a brand new Hilton Garden Inn, located right behind a Metro Station (New York Avenue station, now known as NoMa Gallaudet University Station). As most HGIs, this one has a nice and helpful staff, a pretty good breakfast and a decent fitness center. The pool seemed to be quite popular too. Clean rooms with microwave oven, small fridge and coffee maker. My desk light was missing a lightbulb though. There is a night club across the street but it didn't bother me at all. Good option in DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks so much for providing great feedback regarding your stay with us. Come back and see us again very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was new, modern and clean. The location is great although it was not very close to tourist locations. The hotel is near newly built office buildings and condos. There is a grocery store, sandwich shop and CVS within a few feet of the hotel. NoMa metro stop (red line) is behind the hotel. The staff was friendly, polite and attentive, especially Cedric at the front desk. We only ate at the hotel's restaurant once for breakfast. It waa disappointing - the bacon was burned and the omlet was not the best I've ever had. The room was spacious and clean. There was a glass shower in the bathroom but no tub. The electric bathroom mirror was a nice addition. My only issue was the bed and A/C. Although the mattress was a Sleep Number, it was very hard and very uncomfortable no matter how I attempted to adjust it. The A/C could not be lowered past 65 degrees which was frustrating when the warm got too warm. Overall a good experience for the excellent rate I received through Hotel Tonight.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hello!

I am so happy to hear you liked our new, modern hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast and have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage team. However, I am thrilled that you had a great overall experience. Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our expectations were surpassed EVERY time we had a venue with them. We have had 4 different experiences with them and every single member of the various teams they have working in the hotel/restaurant check in and make sure that our every need has been taken care of. Working with Jim Rizzo, Lois Evans and other staff ensures that our business will return again and again...I have been so impressed that even when I need to stay in DC for personal reasons, I don't even consider going anywhere else. I feel welcomed, remembered and respected. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms afford you a wonderful view but if over First St on a weekend, the nose from the Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for giving the hotel such a great review. Jim & Lois are delighted to be recognized! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I visited the DC area in April for a business conference. Some of the past reviews had negative comments but I must say I have none.
The staff was phenomenal from the minute I checked in until the day I left. The room was clean and I had a beautiful Capitol view. I would recommend this location which was a short walk to the Metro and also having the Harris Teeter grocery store on the corner was great. Walked to the capitol and many of the city's attractions and monuments. Would recommend this location and will stay again on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello!

I am so happy you enjoyed everything about your stay and the surrounding area. Come back and see us soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Great room, fridge and microwaive, harris teeter next door . Never had to
Eat out. Staff very friendly and helpful. Short walk to subway (no-mo station). Pool perfect size to see child while in hot tub. They provide pool towels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for providing such a nice review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I travel about 2.5 weeks per month and am a faithful Hilton Honors member, and this one deserves mention. Picked this one because of its AAA price and general proximity tocapital bldgs. Rooms were outstanding, and hospitality of all staff was extraordinary, vrom the maid who helped me get in the room, to the maintenance guy who volunteered to increase the water pressure in my room, to the restaurant mgr who let me use a table for a business mtg through breakfast and into lunch. The only negative is how the bathroom doors are positioned and if not shut, swing open to the walkway. (Count on hitting it late at night if you don't turn a light on.) All an all, a GREAT Hilton property.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello,

WOW...I am so happy that you had so many great encounters with our team. We look forward to providing you with another great experience on your next trip to DC!

Thanks for choosing us!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.