We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in a questionable 'hood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good hotel in a questionable 'hood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn is located in a fairly convenient location if you want to be near a metro (just 2 blocks away from Metro Red Line- NY Ave) or Union Station.

Other than that, there doesn't seem to be much going on here. It appeared to be right between the shady and "slowly up and coming" part of town. This was confirmed by our friends who are locals.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, and airy. The staff is helpful, friendly, and swift. We were very satisfied with our Queen bed suite. I will probably not stay here next time, simply because the area is pretty boring (and the 2 nightclubs across the street are not our scene), but I do hope the next place I stay at is as nice and reasonably priced as this Garden Inn.

Room Tip: Room 718 faces the courtyard. It's a very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us! Rest assured that the next time you visit NoMa it will be even more developed. Our neighborhood is the most rapidly developing area in all of Washington, DC. We hope to see you soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    258
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
212
133
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed one night in June. It is a very new, very nice place, but my booking ran into a snafu and the front desk was a bit underwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello! I am so sorry to hear that you had a challenge at the front desk. I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Regards,


Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as a storm refugee during the power outage. When we made the reservations, we requested a regular room. When we checked into our room it was a handicap accessable room. This would have worked, but there was not one single chair in that room to sit in. NOTHING, JUST A BED! What is up with that, handicapped guest do not need a chair for their guest or something to put their belongings on. They certainly do. They did change our room. They next night we came back late and house keeping forgot to leave the hand towels. I was also bothered that noone from house keeping bothered to vacuum all the trash that was on the carpet in front of the elevator on the 6th floor on Sunday, it was still there when we checked out on Monday. What was really annoying was our loud refrigerator. This was in large part due to the fact that noone from house keeping bothered to check it and defrost it. I was surrounded by ice in the ice tray area and it was noisy both nights. Due to the excessive ice our drinks never got cold. Where is the manager/supervisor of house keeping. Are you going around every week or two to inspect all the rooms, so you can stay on top of this stuff. Does your staff have a system for checking everything off when they clean the room, so they do not forget the towels. It made me question if the room was cleaned. I will say, it looked clean, so I assume it was cleaned. This housekeeping staff may well be the under doing of this hotel. You have a nice hotel, who wants to see and walk through two days worth of trash piled on the floor in front of the elevator. There was a broken chair there at one point. They removed the chair and still did not bother to vaccum the floor. It should be noted that the front desk staff was great. They responded promptly to the room change and the hand towels. Despite how nice they were, housekeeping in general can kill a hotel, any hotel. Infact, if house keeping manager/supervisor was doing their job, they would have noticed or ask their staff to note that the handicap room did not have one single chair or anything to sit on, just a bed.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have to book the handicap you that you get one with some chairs or something to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello,

I am truly sorry to hear that you experienced housekeeping challenges. I have shared your comments with our team so that we can research the challenges you experienced. We are very proud of our high service rankings and I am so sorry that experiencing great service was not the case for you. I do hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to your 100% satisfaction.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a fairly new hotel near Harris Teeter, restaurants and a club across the street. Its near the union station train red line which was nice. The rooms were nice and very clean with friendly staff. I just hate that the light switch to the bathroom is on the wall hall before you get inside the bathroom, which you don't realize until you are inside the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Come back and see us soon. Happy 4th of July!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall it's a very nice hotel, new clean, good service and value for money. Not in the most happening area, but for the money it's good.

My big problem is someone on the staff stole my expensive mountain bike from the the storage room where it was put by the front desk. I was assured it would be safe. Still waiting to see the outcome of this but it certainly put a stain on what was a good trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello,

It was great to speak with you today on the phone. I am truly sorry that we did not properly secure your bike when storing it. Unfortunately mistakes happen but I am glad that we are able to reimburse you for the cost of your bike so that you can purchase a new one. I do hope that you will consider our hotel again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The customer service support from the staff at this hotel is warm and refreshing, especially with it being located in DC, you feel as though you are receiving down-home southern hospitality! I have been dealing with Lois Evans, one of the Sales Coordinators. She is wonderful with fulfilling all our requests and answering all our quesions for a group of vacationing Senior citizens that have never stayed in the DC area before. Thank you Lois, looking forward to meeting you in person!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Decided to make DC trip on short notice. Did very little research. This hotel turned out to be a very good choice. Was very close to the metro & had a Harris Teeter in the same block & a pharmacy across the street. Most all surrounding buildings were offices. Very close to bus station. First night, took a walk (with map in hand) & three people asked if we needed help with directions - one was even a car that stopped - totally friendly people!! The room was not what you'd call spacious, but it was adequate for our needs. Was very clean - bed linen smelled fresh and bathroom was spotless. Loved the electric mirror. We were right across from the elevator but never heard it. Never heard anyone in the hallway - was extremely quiet. A/C was not what you'd call noisy, but can see how a light sleeper might not like it. It was more like white noise to me - slept like a log!! No restaurants close, but we ate at the hotel restaurant and had very nice dinners there. All hotel employees very friendly and helpful. Can't say anything bad, and that's good. Can't honestly say it was a good value because we didn't have time to shop around for prices, but can say we were glad we picked this one. Clean, comfortable, safe, quiet, good staff - can't ask for more.

Room Tip: top floor was super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our helpful neighbors! Our electric (non fogless) mirrors are very popular with our guests--I wish I had one in my bathroom at home!

Come back and see us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.