We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking Downtown DC
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It was a sad time for our family when we traveled to DC, but the Hotel staff was friendly and made us feel welcome and at home. It was quiet, nice, and friendly. Even the other guests were enjoyable, easy-going, and helpful. Also, there was a Grocery Store right next to the Hotel called Harris Teeter and everyday for dinner we would go there and get things from there warm food bars such as: the wing bar, salad bar, chinese food bar. They also had a breakfast bar in the morning as well. Another good food place close by was Potbelly, they had delicious sandwiches, soups, sodas, and homemade cookies. We enjoyed our stay and if we every venture back to Washing, D.C. we"d stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    258
    61
    20
    22
See reviews for
212
133
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were not as excited with hotel as other reviewers. The hotel is new, clean and modern but it was really nothing special. The location is just far enough that you have to take the Metro or Taxi to see the sights at Capitol Hill and the National Mall. They advertise rooms with a view of the Capitol but they all have King beds so if you need 2 Queens you get to look at an office building (or rather, they get to look at you). Don't be fooled by a Cathedral View because that is also a view of an office building. There are a couple casual food places next door for sandwiches or gyros which were decent but no real restaurants. Our housekeeping was sub-par. The toilet, soap dish and bathroom floor was cleaned only every 3 days or so. They never left us enough bath towels or replenished the shampoo so we had to call down for these things most nights. The restaurant is operated seperately from the hotel and, even though we pre-paid for breakfast for 4 people, the restaurant manager gave us a hard time 3 out of 5 mornings about charging for the kids. Also, the pool was really small and barely heated but they used so much chlorine that you could smell it all the way to the elevator. My sone got a rash from it.

The staff was friendly and, like I said, the hotel was OK, but just OK. If we return to DC,next time, I will look for a place closer to the sights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our location. We are in a brand new neighborhood directly on the red line metro, which makes our hotel very accessible to all of the sights the city has to offer. Also, I am sorry that you experienced challenges with housekeeping. Rest assured that I have followed up with the department manager to ensure we are operating at the highest level at all times. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here on Sunday 25th March for 1 night with my partner on our 1st visit to DC.
We were greeted by a lovely member of staff on reception who took our bags and stored them for the day so we could head off sightseeing.

Came back to the hotel around 6/7pm to check in. Smooth check in made. I didn't like the fact they charge $40 "holding fee" as we are UK travellers and using a cash passport that was $40 of my spending money gone. I didn't get the money back onto my card until about 2 days later which luckily we were still in America to use, otherwise if I had to change it back to sterling in the UK I would have lost out on with the exchange rate.

ROOM - Room was vast. Not enough furniture in the room to fill the space. TV temperamental. Felt very bare and echoed. Room overlooked the road which was quite. We didn't hear any road noise only noise from the room next door. Walls seemed a bit thin as we would hear their TV and child screaming. The bed was very uncomfortable even after changing the firmness/softness. We didn't sleep very well. Room was spotlessly clean though.

LOCATION - Location was OK. About a 10/.15 min walk from Union Station. We joined a sightseeing tour bus at Union Station and used this pass to get around a see the sights of Washington. There were a few places to eat around the hotel but not many. I would book a more centrally located hotel next time.

OVERALL - It was an OK stay. Staff lovely, hotel immaculately clean and location so-so.

Would I stay there again? For a cheap price but not for what I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times. One block from New York Avenue Metro Stop. Has a pretty good restaurant, friendly bar, adjacent to a Harris Teeter that is a great supermarket for essentials. Staff is competent and friendly. Good value for DC and convenient access to Metro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your many great experiences with us. Come back soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn over the Easter weekend. We got an excellent deal through one of the discount hotel websites, and used some credit card points. We ended up paying about $160 for a three night stay. The hotel is very clean. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. No issues at all. It is a newer hotel with excellent amenities. My partner and I used the gym which was fully outfitted with a weight machine, free weights, and great cardio machines.
One morning we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, it was about $14US per person - we were able to fill up on fresh omelets made to order, oatmeal, lots of fruit, an assortment of breads. There were also pastries and the standard sausage and bacon. Good value for the money and we managed to fill up on food before heading out for our long day sightseeing. The front desk staff was also very lovely and accomodating.
The location is a bit north of the main sightseeing area of DC, about 30 to 40 minute walk depending on your pace. My partner and I walked everywhere. For those interested in the metro, it is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It was a very quiet area, it appears that they are building up the area with condos and businesses. We had no issues with noise during our stay.
We would definitely recommend this spot for future visitors to DC. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for providing such a detailed description of your stay and our neighborhood. We are very proud to be part of DC's newest and most rapidly growing neighborhood!

We hope to see you soon,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Would definately recommend this hotel. It is a new hotel with great facilities. Pool, spa, laundry, fridge, safe, coffee. It is very clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. While its a short walk away from everything, thats fine! There is a train very close by and the train system is so simple. Plus if you dont mind a 10 minute walk, you will be at Union Square which is the main train station anyway and where most attractions start. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at teh back as there is a nightclub across the road. While we did hear it one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Hello!

WOW--thanks for commenting on our facilities and our staff. I am so happy to hear that you highly recommend us! We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next trip to the District of Columbia!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

There are two things that make travel: A nice room and a friendly staff. The room is the solid quality you expect the Hilton to deliver. The staff was exceptional. They took every opportunity to be of service and were cheerful in the endeavor from the morning departure to welcoming home the foot weary tourists. They had a great sense of humor. My coffee cup was always full, the creamer and sugar delivered with it; the breakfast buffet met any taste. The Mall was in walking distance with a pharmacy in the next block. Thanks for the solid background to give me a most excellent vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Good Day! I am thrilled to hear you loved the hotel and our team. I feel very lucky to have such an amazing team that takes great care of our guests! Hurry back and see us again soon.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.