We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% on Your Stay
Ranked #57 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed here about 2 weeks ago. The service was impeccable!!! I was lost, called
the hotel and the gentleman stayed on the phone with me until I made it to the hotel!
The rooms were fabulous! The neighborhood was great!! This is my hotel choice while in DC!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    297
    84
    26
    24
See reviews for
250
153
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed here recently and I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. As a former hotel Manager I expect certain things from a hotel. This place met every expectation I had. Beautifully new, the lobby is well appointed. We were greeted by a receptionist ( I think his name was Cedric, apologies if I have your name wrong sir) and he was most friendly and informative. A good start. The room was exquisite. Two large beds with mattresses that you could adjust to your own prefered level of firmness. A mini fridge, a microwave, tea/coffee facilities, free wi-fi, it was like a home from home. Cleanliness was faultless. I can only offer my sincere thanks and congratulations to the owners and staff of this new hotel. I feel positive that it will grow in popularity, and deservedly so.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel. The Ibiza Nightclub can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This Hilton hotel is brand new, and is full of pleasant surprises. The staff on arrival were very friendly and efficient but as we were early, our room was not yet available, so we dropped our bags and started our exploring of Washington DC.

The room was available on our return and after spending a few days in new York, our expectations were exceeded. The room was large, the mattress had a softness control which we immediately set to the softest setting and were then assured a good nights sleep.

The room also featured air conditioning, a fridge, a microwave, and tea and coffee making facilitates.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate of $189 a night plus taxes. We stayed for 2 nights and each day, the regular breakfast supplies were there, as well as a couple of changes to provide variety during your stay. The restaurant was also attractive and welcoming.

In the foyer, there is a mini store, where you can purchase microwave ready meals, and a multitude of snacks and other essentials - a great idea.

We ate out both nights, so I cannot comment on if there was any evening meal options available.

A metro station is also just 5 minutes easy walk away to take you into the city and all of the sights.

There was only one bad point about our stay. The express check out was smooth, but the parking charges subsequently added to our bill (valet only $30 night plus tax) were messed up. We had one car between us and our friends, so we wanted to share the cost of parking, one day each. The parking attendant messed it all up, adding 3 days parking to my bill, and one day to our friend. For some reason he was unable to grasp the fact that there was only one car, not two. Upon request, they then removed one of the three days instead of two, so have to ask them again to remove the excess charge.

Room Tip: Check your bill on departure as finding an email address for customer service is very hard, and a ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I had to travel for business during the week then my husband flew in and we stayed for a long weekend. This HGI was wonderful! Nice sized rooms, clean, helpful & friendly staff (all staff not just the front desk). One of my favorite things was the restaurant list they provided. Since this is a "new neighborhood" there are very few dinner locations and having the metro just around the corner made it incredibly easy to navigate the city. We were out at night and always felt safe. The Harris Teeter was great! I’m from the West Coast and had never shopped this grocery store before but it came in handy since there is a mini fridge in the room. I would recommend this hotel and it’s location to anyone! (Full disclosure my husband works for a HGI so we’ve stayed in many Hilton hotels and this rates among the top!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IceGurlie
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this brand new hotel when we were in the area on business. I selected it because we have both stayed at Hilton Garden Inns elsewhere (Phoenix and Savannah) and have loved the accommodations and amenities. When I saw there was a brand new HGI close to my conference with reasonable rates, I was excited to try it.

We arrived around 3 pm on a Sunday afternoon, turned over the keys for valet parking, and quickly checked into our room. We were immediately greeted by the gentleman at the front desk, who was very helpful and gave us directions to the nearby Metro stop (only one block to the red line). Our room was comfortable and clean, the two things I care about most. We love having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Both were helpful when we had leftovers from dinner that night.

Some amenities we used were the bar area in the hotel (Todd Gray's Watershed, which I reviewed separately), the high speed internet, and the fitness center. The internet worked well and it's always a pleasure to receive complimentary wi-fi, rather than getting nickle and dimed by hotels that charge for it. The fitness center was small, but it had a decent selection of new cardio machines and weights. My only complaint was that they were out of sanitary wipes to clean off the machines and no employees stopped by to replace them during my hour+ visit. I could see the pool from the gym and though I didn't use it, it looked like a nice place for a quick dip.

The valet was very prompt in bringing the car when we needed it. We were told to call down to the front desk five minutes before we needed to leave and sure enough, it pulled up to the curb as we were walking through the lobby the next morning. Every staff member we encountered, from guest services to housekeeping, was pleasant and helpful. Jonathan at valet took good care of our vehicle.

We won't hesitate to stay at this property again the next time we are in DC. Though it's not right downtown, it's easily accessible via the Metro and it saved us the headache of driving further into the city. Hopefully it retains its positive attitude and newness!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We (my wife and I and a neighbor couple) visited Washington DC for a long weekend to visit the sites of the city. I'm a Hilton Honors member however we selected this property due to the reasonable cost as well. The hotel is new so everything is nice and fresh. The breakfast's were great every morning. The location is in an area that is being revitalized and thriving. We got around mainly via the Metro system. There was a Metro station about a block away which was very convenient. Although the above made this hotel an enjoyable experience, the best was the staff. The staff were all great, from the servers/attendants in the restaurant to the bell and doormen to the front desk staff, no matter what time or hour of the day. They were all upbeat, friendly, courteous, and responsive to any need or question we had. You really got the sense that they truly enjoyed working there and enjoyed serving their clientele to the max. I would definitely recommend staying there.

My thanks to the wonderful staff there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uscapitolgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Good Day! I am very appreciative that you took a moment to tell about your great experience at our hotel. I am very lucky to have such an amazing team that provides excellent service. We look forward to seeing your family on your next trip to Washington!

Sincerely,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a very pleasant week in early September. We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, with good sized guest rooms and very well positioned within a block of the user friendly metro.

By far the hotel's greatest asset though is its staff. Without exception they were helpful, friendly and considerate.

Room Tip: As usual in city hotels, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uscapitolgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello! I am so happy to hear how impressed you were with our staff! Everyone on the team works very hard at WOWing guests and it shows. Please come back again soon!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 First Street NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System®, which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our exclusive in-house restaurant, Todd Gray Watershed, featuring fresh eastern seaboard seafood offerings such as new England Clam Chowder, po boys with oysters from Virginia, and lobster rolls from Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.