We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tender juicy meat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ezme

Ezme
2016 P St NW, Ste 1, Washington DC, DC 20036-6934
202-223-4303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ezme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #184 of 2,557 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Dupont Circle Metro (Red line)
Jacksonville. FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tender juicy meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a fast dinner; the food was great, fresh and fast! We had the lamb kabobs, bread w the red pepper spread, chicken and filet mignon. WOW! Everything was cooked to order and delicious! Wine selection is extent. Try the turkish wine, a must. Price reasonable. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, prices a little high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Until the menu is explained you do not know that this is a tapas style restaurant. The menu and prices online looked very reasonable for the area, but you actually need to order extra if you do not want to leave hungry. We went with a group and had informed everyone of the prices, but everyone went over budget on their order in the end. Not sure if I would go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In preparation for our trip to Istanbul later this year, my husband and I scoured the area for a good Turkish restaurant. There are many to choose from, but Ezme is the newest, located an easy 3 minute walk from the Dupont Circle Metro station. We arrived without reservations on a Saturday evening, and were very pleased that there was exactly one table remaining, for two, near the window. The server was patient and amiable, explaining that since the dishes were small, we should begin by ordering 3 dishes each to share. She further suggested the tasting menu, which could include wine pairings, for a very good price. We decided to go it on our own, and started with a drink. My husband ordered a beer, the Efe's porter. It was divine. I ordered the Turkish wine flight, which included a cabernet merlot, a syrah, and my FAVE: "Prestige Kalecik Karasi" from Ankara. (Now we can't wait to go to Turkey just to drink!) I wish I would have written down the names of the dishes we ordered because they were all very special. We had hummus and a shredded chicken spread with fresh bread, lamb and beef patties, salmon skewers, "cigars" of cheese and spinach, and mini dumplings in a yogurt sauce. The tables are close together but the dim lighting and wine cellar decor made it feel intimate and private. We have been talking about this meal experience since we left. As foodies, we try not to repeat restaurants, but this one we will most decidedly hit up again. We had 6 dishes, 3 5 oz pours of wine and 2 beers, plus a generous tip, for under $100. A memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Turkish tapas - yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely ambiance, attentive staff. Great grilled meats and veggies. The lamb on lavash was divine. The calamari and octopus were fine but not quite what we were hoping for. It was fun to sample the wines in flights... Turkish, Lebanese, greek.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Shields
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Be sure to reserve a table, this place is very busy
This not the cheapest by any stretch of the imagination, but the food is well cooked, and nicely presented. It was suggested that we order 3 or 4 dishes as they are not big. Wisely we only ordered 2 each which was quite enough for our English appetites. They are intended as sharing plates which is what we did. Very satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ezme also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ezme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ezme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.