We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Turkish food in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ezme

Ezme
2016 P St NW, Ste 1, Washington DC, DC 20036-6934
202-223-4303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ezme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Dupont Circle Metro (Red line)
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Turkish food in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I lived in Ankara for two years, and sitting down to a meal at Ezme is like being back in Turkey for me. The place is run by wonderful and service-oriented Turkish staff who really do everything to make sure you have a delightful dining experience. Order several meze and then split a kepab dish - you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just like the Sigara Börek that I had in Göcek...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was an absolutely wonderful find. My wife, who is Turkish, and myself happened upon this place on Open Table prior to our trip to DC. The atmosphere is quiet and unassuming; surprising given the proximity to P street/ Dupont circle. The food was delightful. The mezes (Turkish for tapas) were remarkably close to what you would find in Turkey. By this I do not mean the ones you would find in your typical 'westernized' hotel in Istanbul, but rather the types that I found on Ayazma beach, or Göreme, or Bursa or ..... well you get the idea. I loved the sigara börek, the dolma ( although the preparer needs to wrap tighter...) and the Adana dürüm was perfectly spiced. I was a touch confused by the inclusion of the dill pickle on the plate and in the garlic yogurt side sauce. I'll take mine sarimsakli yogurt only please! Portions are small, as is expected for a tapas type restaurant, so be prepared to order several dishes. By several I mean 3-4 per person unless you order off the larger dish menu. Be sure to accompany your meal with a bottle of Turkish wine: a rarity in the majority of the country. Personal pick: Angora Kavaklidere Red.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good options for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We decided to try this place when we saw that they had a vegetarian tasting menu with wine pairings, which is something that in our experience has been pretty rare. The servers were all very friendly and the food and wine came out at the perfect time each course. Every course was delicious and the wine they had paired with the food was appropriate, varied and yummy.
The atmosphere was really very quiet, to the point where we felt like we needed to almost whisper. It was nice that the place wasn't very crowded at the time, but if there had been people at the tables next to us I think they would have been a little too close to make it very comfortable.
All-in-all, if we are in the area again we will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
581 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Very tasty, unusual food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really enjoyed this family run Turkish restaurant. In an area with LOTS of restaurants, this is unusual, very good food, good service and reasonable prices. Tapas approach gives diners an opportunity to try lots of different tastes. Waiters very willing to explain differences among the dishes.
Opportunity to dine outside or inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fall river
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Turkish Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First restaurant with good customer service I've found so far in DC. Went with a friend who had been before and loved it! Great place for a date or even to bring friends who come to town to visit. Something for everyone on the large menu. Decor of the place was very inviting as well. Will definitely recommend and return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ezme also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ezme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ezme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.