We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - definitely would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
601 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
202.737.6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 6th Street
Transit: National Archives Metro Stop
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located on the corner of 6th and Pennsylvania.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good - definitely would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Capital grille was a very good meal, service was good, steak very good, sides very good, apps were great (better than the actuall meal - crab cakes) we really enjoyed our time here- I was visiting my wife who had been on an extended business trip, was worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    176
    59
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My favorite steakhouse in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are in DC and you like "your" steak this is the MUST place. I've been visiting Capitol Grill for years now and I have never been disappointed. It doesn't matter if it's a business lunch or romantic dinner - the food is always very good, the staff is knowledgeable (and a little bit snobby too) and the wine list is exquisite. And, don't forget the atmosphere - it's like you are suddenly back somewhere in forties and the house representatives are dealing in the back room...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Delicious aged steaks. Wonderful salads & side dishes. Yummy desserts! Great date night atmosphere. A true gem!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Totally Expensive, Totally Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Capital Grille in Washington DC is one of these rare gems you should visit at least once during your culinary outings. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon about 4:40 p.m., with resrevations for 5:00. We sat at the bar until the dining room opened. The decor throughout the restaurant is very classy. The hostess, coat check, barmaids and waitstaff were attentive and freindly. Our waiter made excellent recommendations for salad, dinner, wine and dessert. The food was outstanding (steaks). We dropped a bundle and have no regrets

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overcrowded and extremely loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Having gone to Capital grille in other locations I was surprised to see how the bar area was crowded and loud at 7pm on a wednesday. The waitresses/hostess were trying their best, but it was impossible to serve anyone properly with that amount of people. Crowd was mainly politicians, and mid 40s couples, and there were some in jeans, but most men were wearing suits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.