We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating and Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Save Saved
You added Asante Sana Guest Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asante Sana Guest Quarters
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010 (Columbia Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Accommodating and Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd stay and we enjoyed it as much as the 1st time. We booked originally for the location and price and came back for that and the atmosphere. Our daughter lives near by in a very small apartment, so we hosted her here in the lovely living and dining rooms. At times, it feels like you are the only one in the home. The parking is a plus for this location but tight. We walked from the Metro our 1st visit and utilized the parking this second time. The facilities are clean and functional. We have met Sheila and her husband, the owners, but I actually liked not having the owners underfoot when I was puttering around the house.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
9
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pella, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were extremly glad to Be able to arrive at the time of our choice with their flexible check in. We loved the Christmas décoration.
We felt like we were going back home. We had the house for us That night, it was pleasant.
The bathroom was clean Even if it was very small And remote from our room. We had a pb with Its access code And couldnt use it during the night. So That was annoying but on the overall we liked our experience.
A breakfast would have also been appreciated for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were fortunate to find a location a block from our son's apartment for our Veterans Day weekend in D.C. Meeting and talking with Sheila when we arrived was a wonderful way to start things off and we thoroughly enjoyed our four nights in the Asian Room. For us, the age of the building was a big plus, as it took us back to some wonderful memories of old hotels and inns where we stayed when we traveled during our time overseas with the DoD Dependents Schools. This is a place for those who can appreciate quaint surroundings and a sense of history in seeing what Washington D.C. may have been like years ago. We look forward to staying in the Asante Sana again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a great find. Clean, comfortable, awesome location and great price! I love the proximity to the"hip" local scene. Diverse neighborhood with eclectic music and food.

The accommodations are wonderful. This is a charming B and B. The home is inviting and exactly as advertised. I stayed in the Web Dubois suite and it was cozy and inviting.

To the reviewers that stated the dampness and mustiness, I seriously question that! There is limited carpeting, so I seriously question the carpet stains. All rooms are hardwood with nice throw rugs. The stairs are carpeted and is clean. I also question the parking comment! Before my arrival, I received an email informing of the location of the free parking in the rear alley and caution of parking on Kenyon. The proprietor made everything easy and went out of her to inform me of parking, location, laundry facilities, etc.

Loved my stay in DC and highly recommend the Asante Sana!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My mother, daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay at the WEB DuBois room at the Asante Sana Guest House. The room was clean and big enough for the three of us. The owner was accommodating and helpful and we were glad to be able to find a room close to my aunt. We used the kitchen and dining room every day to make and eat breakfast and found it very easy.

If you are looking for a modern impersonal hotel, Asante Sana is not for you. If you are looking for a comfortable and affordable place, it is just right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had never stayed in a B&B before and I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for what I needed. It is close to great food, the metro and the hospital. The home is beautiful and the two kitchens are a huge plus! The best thing is the free parking in the back of the house!!! I have told my family about this place and I will absolutely be visiting here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had never been to Washington,DC and so excited to meet our son, daughter-in-law and their kids and see all the amazing sights. They were staying at a place just a block away, that's why we picked the Asante Sana.
First thing is the smell of dampness and mustiness. The Silver Lake room is not exactly what we expected. There is a bed and bathroom. The bathroom has a toilet, tiny sink in a corner and a shower head that comes out of the corner - you could literally sit on the toilet and shower at the same time.
The floor where the bed is looked like it had not been vacuumed in a very long time. The sheets were '70's gold, bleach marks, and one corner was torn. We had to ask for clean towels each morning and also asked to have the sheets changed - the next set was clean and not torn.
The cooler did not cool the room very well.
One of the reviews had warned that this place is not a bed and breakfast but more like a bed and basket. There is a small kitchen with a fridge, coffee maker and small table - but no microwave and no "basket" that we could see. It is a good thing we had decided to walk over and have breakfast with our son's family.
All in all this will not be part of the experience we expected and do not recommend this room - others in the building may have been better - but this was not good, it needs to be cleaned up and they need to let people know what to expect ahead of time.
This was a good location and only 2 blocks from the Metro station.

Room Tip: You may want to look at the other room and not choose this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asante Sana Guest Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Address: 1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Columbia Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Asante Sana Guest Quarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asante Sana Guest Quarters is a trendy, affordable and historical inn located in the newly revitalized Columbia Heights neighborhood in Northwest Washington, D.C. Experience the city like a resident. Stroll to dozens of restaurants, the refurbished Tivoli Theater, plus many other cultural diversions within a few blocks. Enjoy your schedule, not ours! We provide a "Bed & Basket" brimming with breakfast goodies, snacks and water to consume at your leisure in your room's kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Asante Sana Guest Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asante Sana Guest Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.