We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable...I will definitely be back here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Save Saved
You added Asante Sana Guest Quarters to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Asante Sana Guest Quarters
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010 (Columbia Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable...I will definitely be back here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had never stayed in a B&B before and I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for what I needed. It is close to great food, the metro and the hospital. The home is beautiful and the two kitchens are a huge plus! The best thing is the free parking in the back of the house!!! I have told my family about this place and I will absolutely be visiting here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
9
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had never been to Washington,DC and so excited to meet our son, daughter-in-law and their kids and see all the amazing sights. They were staying at a place just a block away, that's why we picked the Asante Sana.
First thing is the smell of dampness and mustiness. The Silver Lake room is not exactly what we expected. There is a bed and bathroom. The bathroom has a toilet, tiny sink in a corner and a shower head that comes out of the corner - you could literally sit on the toilet and shower at the same time.
The floor where the bed is looked like it had not been vacuumed in a very long time. The sheets were '70's gold, bleach marks, and one corner was torn. We had to ask for clean towels each morning and also asked to have the sheets changed - the next set was clean and not torn.
The cooler did not cool the room very well.
One of the reviews had warned that this place is not a bed and breakfast but more like a bed and basket. There is a small kitchen with a fridge, coffee maker and small table - but no microwave and no "basket" that we could see. It is a good thing we had decided to walk over and have breakfast with our son's family.
All in all this will not be part of the experience we expected and do not recommend this room - others in the building may have been better - but this was not good, it needs to be cleaned up and they need to let people know what to expect ahead of time.
This was a good location and only 2 blocks from the Metro station.

Room Tip: You may want to look at the other room and not choose this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here because it is only blocks from where our son lives. We were in the Lighthouse Room and although it is 3 floors up some very narrow steps, I broke my foot two days before and managed to climb the stairs with a crutch. It is located two blocks from the hub of Columbia Heights and just around the corner from the Wonderland Ballroom and Room 11, two places I really want to go back to. The room is large and airy and the bathroom is very nice. It was also very clean. A few minor complaints though: the neighborhood gets a little noisy when the bar lets out and being in the front of the house you hear everything on the street. Also, it was really nice to have Crystal Light packets available in the kitchen but coffee would have been worth it's weight in gold to me on Mother's Day morning (my son brought me a cup). All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you don't need a large room, sleep away from the street. Also, I don't recommend the Ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Asante Sana Guest Quarters on 3/27/13. The rooms were very clean. The entire house is decorated beautifully and has a warm, inviting feel to it. There are no keys, just an access code which we thought was easy and very convenient. There is no owner to greet you but we didn't mind that. We only saw one other person.

We stayed in the Prizery room which is on the garden level. The main downside was that you can hear EVERY person walking above you. It was quite loud. If we stay here again, I would recommend one of the suites on the second floor. Also, the double bed room on the second floor, has a bathroom on the first floor. You have to go through the kitchen to use this bathroom. The website does not explain this well and we originally booked this room but changed rooms when I found this out.

One big thing to keep in mind is the neighborhood is a bit sketchy. I wouldn't recommend walking around there at night. We took cabs everywhere and with that added to the price of the hotel room we might have paid the same amount for a more convenient location. Also there are only two parking spots in the back. If they are filled you have to park on the street which is nearly impossible from what we heard from another guest.

Also the owner overcharged us for our room and never bothered to credit our credit card, even after emailing her several times. That was a bit unprofessional but overall we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs suite! The garden level rooms are very loud!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed one night in the Prizery. No view but it's a nice room, quiet and cosy. There was someone staying in the room next door but I didn't hear a peep from them. Had a problem with the door code when I first arrived but called and it was fixed right away. The Prizery is on the garden level and has a shared kitchen, which is nice and has what you need (fridge, microwave, etc.) Location is great -- about a 5 minute walk from the Columbia Heights Metro station, and there is a big grocery store about a block-and-a-half away. I am in DC frequently on business and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great little find ! Only negative was that we stayed on the top floor & dragging 6 large suitcases up 3 levels of narrow stairs was a huge effort.
The place is very clean and there are only a handful of rooms; the Lighthouse room had a small kitchenette but downstairs there is a cozy communal dining room, formal lounge & kitchen if needed.
Staying here is so much nicer than a hotel and the biggest positive is the location. Approx 400 meters walk to the right is a fantastic selection of restaurants, train station, Target, Starbucks & the favourite lunch place for us aussies..Potbelly.
If you prefer a more homely place to stay, this is one i highly recommend. We were slightly put off by some of the houses we passed from the train station in our cab but the area where we stayed was great & we felt safe walking around at night.
We were there for the inauguration & were very happy to escape the crowds and get back to our quiet room. A stay we will remember with good memories

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very interesting place! I was in town this week for a business trip and did not want to pay the rip off prices for a 5 star hotel near the convention center. Wanted a place that was on the metro with free parking and free internet access. ASGQ is a 5 minute metro ride to the convention center and it is maybe just a 5 minute walk to the metro. There are also lots of retail stores located at that metro stop, like Target, Marshall's, Best Buy, Giant Food, etc., so it is very conveniently located. The building is a large rowhouse which has been converted into hotel suites with a common area on the first floor (full kitchen, parlor area). It is really like having your own apartment in DC. I can understand why the parking situation can be a little off-putting. It is true that it is a small yard off of the back alley but the fact is that you just go right up the back stairs into the house so you don't have to walk through the alley. The only real "con" is that since this is a house in DC located on the street, you will hear traffic noise. Was not a big issue for me since I was up early for meetings. Did not meet the owner, but corresponded with her via e-mail a few times and found her to be very helpful. My room (W E DuBois suite) was very spacious with a kitchenette and full bath and even a DVD player attached to the tv. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: W E Dubois room had nice little kitchenette and full bath and is on the second floor so a little fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asante Sana Guest Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Address: 1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Columbia Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Asante Sana Guest Quarters 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asante Sana Guest Quarters is a trendy, affordable and historical inn located in the newly revitalized Columbia Heights neighborhood in Northwest Washington, D.C. Experience the city like a resident. Stroll to dozens of restaurants, the refurbished Tivoli Theater, plus many other cultural diversions within a few blocks. Enjoy your schedule, not ours! We provide a "Bed & Basket" brimming with breakfast goodies, snacks and water to consume at your leisure in your room's kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Asante Sana Guest Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asante Sana Guest Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;