We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Asante Sana Guest Quarters to your Saves list
Asante Sana Guest Quarters
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010 (Columbia Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great little find ! Only negative was that we stayed on the top floor & dragging 6 large suitcases up 3 levels of narrow stairs was a huge effort.
The place is very clean and there are only a handful of rooms; the Lighthouse room had a small kitchenette but downstairs there is a cozy communal dining room, formal lounge & kitchen if needed.
Staying here is so much nicer than a hotel and the biggest positive is the location. Approx 400 meters walk to the right is a fantastic selection of restaurants, train station, Target, Starbucks & the favourite lunch place for us aussies..Potbelly.
If you prefer a more homely place to stay, this is one i highly recommend. We were slightly put off by some of the houses we passed from the train station in our cab but the area where we stayed was great & we felt safe walking around at night.
We were there for the inauguration & were very happy to escape the crowds and get back to our quiet room. A stay we will remember with good memories

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nooniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cockeysville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very interesting place! I was in town this week for a business trip and did not want to pay the rip off prices for a 5 star hotel near the convention center. Wanted a place that was on the metro with free parking and free internet access. ASGQ is a 5 minute metro ride to the convention center and it is maybe just a 5 minute walk to the metro. There are also lots of retail stores located at that metro stop, like Target, Marshall's, Best Buy, Giant Food, etc., so it is very conveniently located. The building is a large rowhouse which has been converted into hotel suites with a common area on the first floor (full kitchen, parlor area). It is really like having your own apartment in DC. I can understand why the parking situation can be a little off-putting. It is true that it is a small yard off of the back alley but the fact is that you just go right up the back stairs into the house so you don't have to walk through the alley. The only real "con" is that since this is a house in DC located on the street, you will hear traffic noise. Was not a big issue for me since I was up early for meetings. Did not meet the owner, but corresponded with her via e-mail a few times and found her to be very helpful. My room (W E DuBois suite) was very spacious with a kitchenette and full bath and even a DVD player attached to the tv. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: W E Dubois room had nice little kitchenette and full bath and is on the second floor so a little fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The idea of not being sure about a place leads me to believe it could be a lot better than it is. The need to search out answers to simple questions should be eliminated by the management of this facility. We didn't know what to make of the parking situation in the back of the ASGQ. There was hardly any room for more than two or three vehicles and there appeared to be no security back there. The one person who was visible tried to help us deal with this issue but we looked out in the morning expecting our car to have vanished.
The kitchen facilities were good and we made several dinners there with good results.
Access to the internet was also good.
The front door security was not so good as several times we found the door unlocked and anyone could wander in the place if they wished. Entry is supposed to be by assigned code only!
The location of the ASGQ is less than reassuring as far as safety on the streets is concerned. We walked down to the Washington monument etc on several occassions but on the return trip we began to get a feeling that it may not be a safe place to wander around in even during daylight hours. We could be wrong but it was not clear to us.

Room Tip: It may be good to choose a room on the upper level of ASGQ. We were in the lower level and the trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englewood_FloridaTac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

You are provided with a code to open the front door and your room. We stayed in the garden floor in a queen bed room. Small, noisy AC, little room to maneuver, the bed had a lumpy mattress and the corker was that I got a parking ticket - no overnight parking on the RHS of the street. Did not see a sign and the hotel advertises free available parking

Room Tip: stay in a better room, if available or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaronst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in the spacious DuBois Suite, with high ceilings, a comfortable king bed, a sitting area, and spacious bath. We appreciated the small refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot (filters provided). The suite (and the common area) was immaculately clean and was serviced daily. We had a special request and the owner was very accommodating. Newly renovated, the suite is bright (4 windows) and light. Four blocks from the Columbia Heights metro station, the area is well lit at night, quiet except for rush hour in the morning (which starts by 6:30 am), and is in a great location. Many restaurants and stores are within easy walking distance.

On Saturday at 2 am we were awakened by shouting as bars let out (on a holiday weekend with block parties). If we hadn't needed the windows open to cool the room this might not have been a problem. Friday night and other nights were not problem. The only drawback with our suite was weak air conditioning on a day it reached into the 80's and the suite remained too warm overnight for comfortable sleeping. The small window unit isn't powerful enough to cool the room. Otherwise, a good hotel. Columbia Heights has long needed a decent hotel option (we visit our son in the area yearly) and we are pleased Asante Sana Guest Quarters is now available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I know most hotels are not cheap in DC,but this one is a good hotel and has kitchen and washing machine which can be only seen in hostels.
This place is quiet but sometimes you will heard the sound of wooden floor when you walk in the quiet night and someone else is sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed for one weekend night because my friends live nearby and I needed a place to crash for the night. The Asante Sana Guest Quarters were perfect for that. Pluses: There's no check in/ check out so you can easily arrive and leave as you please. It's clean. It's quiet. It's a great location if you want to be close to Columbia Heights. Not really any significant minuses, decor in the room was a little atypical, but fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSoakers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#19 of 35 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Kalorama Guest House
#5 of 35 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Meridian Manor Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 35 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
U Street Corridor
Ledroit Park Renaissance Bed And Breakfast
Ledroit Park Renaissance Bed And...
#24 of 35 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Taft Bridge Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asante Sana Guest Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asante Sana Guest Quarters

Address: 1207 Kenyon Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20010
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Columbia Heights , U Street Corridor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Asante Sana Guest Quarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asante Sana Guest Quarters is a trendy, affordable and historical inn located in the newly revitalized Columbia Heights neighborhood in Northwest Washington, D.C. Experience the city like a resident. Stroll to dozens of restaurants, Metro Green Line 2 blocks away, supermarket, shopping, see the refurbished Tivoli Theater, plus many other cultural diversions within a few blocks. Enjoy your schedule, not ours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Asante Sana Guest Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing