We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treasure not to be missed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Coffee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bourbon Coffee
2101 L St NW, Frnt 3, Washington DC, DC 20037-1526
202-525-1886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 70 Bakeries in Washington DC
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Restaurant details
Big Pine Key, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure not to be missed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Heard about this place from a friend and had to check it out. After living in Uganda for a bit and traveling to Rwanda- this place makes you homesick. I would definitiely support this over a chain. A variety of coffees and treats all served by a very friendly staff. A very chill place to sit and talk or hang out on your laptop. Buy a bag of coffee beans and enjoy a free cup of drip coffee- great black.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extra-ordinary in every sense of the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

When I say Bourbon is extraordinary, I mean it's literally Extra-Ordinary. There is nothing ordinary about a Rwandan coffee shop right off K street.

That being said, the place has a great location. It could stand to have some chairs outside but the inside is absolutely gorgeous with plenty of different seats. Also, the African theme really rocks. The decor is beautiful. Plenty of nice African doodads to buy as well. I dig it.

Staff was friendly and very explanatory when I inquired about their different coffees. I got the Cubano (ironic, right?), which is brewed with a dash of cane sugar mixed in with the coffee grinds to give it a subtle richness. I drank it black. It was mouthwateringly delicious. Probably the best cup of coffee I've had in my entire life. No joke.

It was nice to just chill and have a fruit salad and sip on my Rwanadan Cubano on the plush couch they have. Very ambient with some gorgeous paintings.

It amazes me how chain coffee store (coughstarbuckscough) locations there are in D.C. when there is such a clear difference between corporate coffee and independent café's. People should really get out more. Start with Bourbon's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathews va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great coffee and a very friendly staff. Why go to Starbucks when you can come to Bourbon!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I've loved Rwandan coffee ever since I lived in Kigali and now the wonder flavor of Rwandan coffee is available in the heart of Washington DC. This is first rate coffee and supports the hard working coffee farmers in Rwanda - it doesn't get any better than this!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A taste of Rwanda in the heart of DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Who would have ever thought that a Rwandan coffee chain would open a store in the US? Bourbon Coffee is a transatlantic extension of a well known Rwandan brand. Shop is very atmospheric, with African Art, pictures, and even some crafts. Comfy chairs, tables, and bright and airy. Coffee is good, from Rwanda, and served with a smile. They also sell beans. Located on L St., west of the White House. Two other locations are planned for the East Coast.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Bourbon Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourbon Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.