We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SALT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
801 9th Street, NW, Penn Quarter, Washington DC, DC 20001
202-408-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 9th & H Streets
Transit: Two Blocks away from Chinatown Metro Stop (Red, Yellow, Green Lines). Four Blocks from Metro Center Stop (Orange & Blue Lines)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SALT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is second time here and I wonder what's going on in the kitchen...great traditional approach to black bean soup (very tasty) followed by a seafood paella with enough salt to season a banquet. The lovely clams, shrimp, white fish filet and rice were overwhelmed with salt, salt and more salt.

Hard to recommend this place with such sloppiness in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    142
    63
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FABulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I started with a grilled pineapple mojito , ground beef empanadas and pulled pork empanadas app. Fresh skillet Cuban toast with mango butter was complimentary. Then pulled pork dinner with ma's and slaw that was out of this world FAB U LOUS! Black beans and rice on side and plantains. A perfect dinner!!! Service was Amazing (Thanks Danielle!) and my only disappointment wAs that I was too full with no room for desert! I may go back for late night tres leche cake and cafe con leche. Mmmmmm mmmmmmm GREAT!
Terry Gribbin. St Petersburg Fl.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colltreese, Guest Relations Manager at Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Terry!

Thank you for visiting Cuba Libre! We’re so glad you love our food and cocktails!

The next time you're in town, we'd love to have you in for “Caippy Hour” which features $5 Caipirinhas and $4/5 picadas (bar bites).

We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff, especially Danielle!

Thanks again Terry,

Colleen Reese
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
creese@guestcounts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A trip to Havana!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great ambience and decor supports wonderful food. You'll feel like you went down to Cuba with the Godfather crew! Liots of driks to try and great appetizers as well as substantial entrees. Great for an intimate dinner for two or for a group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was pretty good, but seems overpriced. I would probably not go here again. The childs meal was $20. (but did include a dessert).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Instant flan, that's not Cuban!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

So any Cuban knows that you can judge any Cuban cook by tasting two things, their arroz con pollo and their flan. Their arroz con pollo had asparagus in it and their flan was definitely instant...enough said. But this place is in DC so I'll give them a little bit of a slide.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colltreese, Guest Relations Manager at Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Mlashley,

Thank you for visiting Cuba Libre. I'm so sorry our cuisine didn't meet your expectations of authentic Cuban cuisine. We strive to present Cuban food that not only nods to the traditions of the country and the Cuban communities in Miami, but which also expands upon what Cuban food could be. Our executive chef has visited Cuba five times over the past two years - and has found some really exciting, and new, changes happening in the culinary scene in Havana. All of these ideas come together to inspire our menu.

I can assure that our flan is not instant but I am really sorry to hear that it didn't meet your expectations. No one wants sub par flan!

I'd like to say thank you for your thoughtful feedback. Please contact me at creese@guestcounts.com so that I find out more about your experience and where we went wrong so that I can share it with our staff. I'd be happy to hear more about how we can make your next experience better.

Thanks again, Mlashley.


Colleen
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
creese@guestcounts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.